Ratings based on 811 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Downtown Hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2017
This is my second stay at the hotel. The accommodations are very nice and the hotel is very convenient to the Mayo complex. My only complaint is the very hard beds and the over stuffed pillows. But I would definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Hotel was nice but the food was bad

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Pros: location to Gonda Medical building at mayo clinic
I got in a little later than I expected and went to the attached dinner location and was very disappointed with the food. The fish taco were two fish sticks in a soft taco. They look like something you would get in the High Schooll gym at lunch in the 1970s. T hey were dry, overcooked, and had no flavor or toppings . They cost $16.00, I advise anyone who is staying at the Kahlar Inn to pick up food before you check in
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mayo friendly

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Helpful, friendly staff - confusing floor plan. Jimmy Johns attached to the lobby
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Downtown Location

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Easy walking access to shopping and eating! Quiet! Great Accomodations!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfectly located for Mayo and many restaurants.

Posted Jul 12, 2017
This hotel os totally OK but is very dated. It needed a renovation years ago.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to Mayo Clinic

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Hotel is conveniently close to the Mayo Clinic and adequately provides for all my needs during my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toms River, NJ

clean hotel friendly staff

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: It was close to all the health care places and enclosed subway used to walk around from place to place. Also free shuttle to hospital, mall, Walmart
Cons: ?
Location: Mini mall and restaurants . Thursdays band played music near mini mall, other days free exercise classes.
My daughter and I were there for 19 days while my grandson had heart surgery. We found the hotel to be clean, bed very comfortable and entire staff very friendly. The free breakfast was nice but everyone really went after the waffles as the scramble eggs tasted terrible. They only had biscuits and gravy one day and then had oatmeal everyday. Would have liked more variety and change back to the biscuits and gravy a couple times a week.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Cons: Updating throughout.
Location: It's Rochester, you have Mayo, that's it.
We recently stayed for 5 nights for testing at Mayo. The hotel is directly across the street from the Charlton building. The subway from the hotel links up to all Mayo buildings. Our room was on the 2nd floor with an exterior door to the fitness/pool area. The good: Our room was clean, housekeeping did a great job at keeping fresh towels stocked while we were out to appointments throughout the day. It was relatively quiet, not a lot of door slamming or partying going on. The bed was comfortable for a hotel bed. The bad: the continental breakfast was your typical low standard hotel breakfast. Processed eggs, little tater tots, bacon or sausage, muffins, bagels, some fruit, yogurt. The workers were in low gear the entire time not really over energetic. To add, there is a Caribou Coffee connected to the hotel! I read lots of reviews prior to booking and many comments about the hotel being recently renovated??? Not sure where that was done, the lobby maybe. As far as the hotel itself, the carpet throughout the hallways is nasty. It just has that appearance of worn out. It is NOT the Hilton or Marriot. We would more than likely stay here again ONLY because of it's close proximity to Mayo. The hotel served it's purpose, that being a decent place to rest your head. We didn't rent a car as we flew in, no need to. There are some decent restaurants down town, Victoria's is definitely the best with great Italian food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

convenient to destination in Rochester

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: lots of space -- big rooms, great beds.
Cons: breakfast
Great comfortable hotel. Only complaint is that for a hotel that caters to clients seeking medical help breakfast can be a lot healthier.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

I don't get the negative reviews?

Posted Jun 12, 2017
I'm not going to deny the negative reviwers their experiences. I'm sure there's merit to them but in my experience, I was pleasantly surprised that I had a wonderful two night stay. I didn't try the breakfast, I was still on west coast time so my family and I slept in but there's a few places to eat that are conveniently connected to the hotel. Here's are some of the many things I liked.. It wasn't as old and earn as I expected. For an older hotel it was refreshingly well maintained. Its location is awesome if you're visting for Mayo. We were able to walk to all the restaurants in the mayo area within minutes. There's a Carabo coffe right in the lobby as well as a door that leads right into a grinder shop. This hotel is linked to the wonderful tunnel network that runs under the center of the downtown area. It has a small game room next to the pool with a pool table and a few vintage arcade games. The pool was nice and never crowded. Parking was okay, it's a smaller in ground parking garage that takes some skill to maneuver around. If I had one complaint (I wouldn't even call it a complaint, it's more of an observation) it would be that there was not as many smiles on the hotel staff that you would hope to see. The staff was by no means rude but, they were not warm and friendly either. This was not good but also not particularly bad. If I had one suggestion, it would be more of a welcoming atmosphere by the front desk. Other than that, I would highly recommend staying here.