Ratings based on 304 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from H

Front desk person was nice, but...

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Smoky room, uncomfortable bed. Kind of shady clientele.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Pretty Pathetic for a Motel 6

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Close to the interstate and not in a bad neighborhood.
Cons: Fix the rooms before letting them for the night.
Location: Wake up, eat some breakfast at Waffle House, and drive away.......................fast!!!!!!!
Booked my stay as a quick overnight stop on a long drive. I picked Motel 6 because I was looking for a simple, no frills, clean place to lay my head for the night and take a much needed shower on a long cross country road-trip. Motel 6 has never let me down. Simple, comfortable, and clean was all that I was looking for. I got something quite different. The hotel is older but it looks clean from the outside. I booked a non-smoking room via Expedia based on the distance between my starting point and destination. The room was definitely a smoking room. It smelled as if someone had just left after smoking a carton of Camels. The smell hit you like a freight train as soon as you opened the door. The sheets and bedding were full of burns from cigarette ashes. The flooring in the room was severely damaged from a previous water incident. It was a simple laminate flooring but it had curled up and many of the boards were loose and completely dislodged from the floor. You couldn't walk on the floor in socked feet because of the floor damage. Trust me, it hurt. The back of the front door was completely black as if a circus full of greasy handed mechanics had stayed there for a month. I went down to the front desk to change rooms before I was settled, but the girl at the front desk said that the hotel had no more rooms for "Expedia Bookings". Apparently there are two classes of booking that can be made at the motel. One directly, and the second class Expedia type.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbia , SC

close to shops and restaurants

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: pleasant, pleasant, pleasant, pleasant, pleasant, pleasant, pleasant, pleasant, pleasant, pleasant, pleasant, pleasant, pleasant, pleasant, pleasant,
Cons: nothing needs to be improved, nothing needs to be improved, nothing needs to be improved, nothing needs to be improved, nothing needs to be improved,
Location: convenient to shops and restaurants and a mall, convenient to shops and restaurants and a mall, convenient to shops and restaurants and a mall, conven
Pleasant, pleasant, pleasant, pleasant, pleasant, pleasant, pleasant, pleasant, pleasant, pleasant, pleasant, pleasant, pleasant, pleasant, pleasant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Adequate

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: Next to the McDonald's and interstate.
Cons: Bed comfort- pillows hard, electronic locking mechanisms for doors, the door seals allowed cold air to enter room.
Location: Right off the interstate and restaurants nearby.
I booked this hotel room to have somewhere to lay my head at night. I wasn't looking for fancy amenities but a reasonable daily rate, safe, secure environment. Overall I was pleased with my stay with the exception of a few incidents, it served its purpose. Upon getting the room I did have to go back down to the front desk because the room key did not work, I went back down three times with the clerk going back up with me on the third time. She had gotten new keys and they finally worked. On my final third night at approximately 330 am there was someone trying to enter my room which mistakenly was another patron just arriving. This was very scary to be awoken during this time. Luckily I had all the locks on the door. When I called down to the front desk to tell them what happened they explained but still this can be very scary for someone staying alone.
1 out of 5
by Terese

Posted Dec 21, 2016 on Hotels
I have stayed before, room was fine , This time I had king bed with my pets. The room was to be non-smoking ,wrong The walls were so dirty , flush was broke ,couldn't flush unless you take tank cover off. no remote in room , i was asked if i wanted other room ,at this time ,I didn't care I thought if a motel 6 it would have to be up to their standards This hotel will be coming off my travel list gentleman at desk was very nice
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 17, 2016 on Hotels
we reserved a room with a king bed, but the curtain in the room was broken, the floor was peeling up and the heater had no dial. So they moved us to a room with two queen beds, which had a hole in the wall. This hotel has not been kept up at all since the renovations were done.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

GOOD FOR THE MONEY, AND PETS STAY FREE!

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: Located near people I was there to see; clean, inexpensive; no charge for pets; beds w/ firm mattresses; near main street & 1-77, but quiet.
Cons: After our first night, the maid made up one bed, but left the other unmade. This could have been because we didn't leave motel until near noon (?)
Location: One of many motels on same street, off Celenese, a main road. Convenient to shopping, restaurants. & about 10 min. from neighborhood where we visited
I was a little worried about staying at the Motel 6: I had originally called Expedia about another hotel in the same area, and after making the booking at Motel 6 I realized I had still been reading the description of that other hotel, whereas there were some very negative reviews of Motel 6 (although they weren't very recent). I went to the Motel 6 planning to check it out and go elsewhere if necessary (most of the motels in Rock Hill, SC, are in the same general area, so finding another place would have been easy). However, the staff were very nice and helpful, and we were pleased with the room: clean, quiet even through it was near I-77, and although it was basic, it was comfortable--I love a firm mattress. A big plus was that they accepted my 2 dogs at no charge; so for 2 people and 2 dogs, we paid less than $55 a night. The only problem we had was that the key cards didn't work properly: after 1 or 2 uses, they stopped functioning and we had to go to the office & get replacements (this happened at least once daily, as we had to walk the dogs twice a day plus going in and out ourselves). The motel staff said they were ordering new key cards, so hopefully this problem won't continue. I would definitely stay there again for the same price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
This is an outdated motel. The room was clean but there was no phone, no alarm clock, no towel rack in bathroom, shower curtain rod was very bent, curtain wouldn't stay closed. Also mold starting to develop on ceiling and bath tub needs to be sealed with caulking, also a hole in back of bathroom door. Also the door handle to get in the room was quite loose and felt like it was going to break off. Front desk staff was very nice and helpful. The price was right for my budget
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

much needed clean hotel stay

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
It was invigorating! Nice stay!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bedford, VA

Economical stop-over

Posted Nov 22, 2016
If arriving late and leaving early, why pay for something nice? This place will do. Bed was comfortable. Floor not carpeted. Low water pressure in shower with inconsistent water temperature. TV remote did not work.