Ratings based on 311 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disgusting!

Posted May 29, 2017
I took my girlfriend on a weekend trip to carowinds. I booked this hotel for the weekend & thought it would be ok because we would spend minimal time there. The 1st night was disturbing due to the condition of the room. After an all day trip at carowinds, we came back to get showers and go eat. We came back, very exhausted from a long day, went to pull the bed sheets back only to find that there were 2 roaches in the bed. I immediately packed up and went to a hotel across the road. I will never stay here or another motel 6 on furture trips. I turnedin my hotel door cards and the unpleasant lady at the front desk, who was on a personal call on her phone, acted as if it was no big issue. Roaches in the bed people!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2017 by Brand Experience Team, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We strive to deliver a great guest experience, but it sounds as though we did not perform to our usual standards in this case. We have procedures in place related to our pest policy that should have prevented the inconveniences you describe. Please accept our apologies that your stay was less than satisfactory. We encourage you to contact Guest Services to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Six Mile, SC

If there's nowhere else to go.

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: It was only a 5 minute drive to work being right next to hwy 77.
Cons: Housemaids that did their jobs, new towels and linens, luggage rack, hairdryer, was no iron or ironing board.
Location: Cherry Rd & hwy 77 many other hotel choices as they are lined up one after another. Dining was slim picking. Next to Mcdonalds, waffle house is all.
On a at the last minute assignment, my brother and I were in town to do some store remodeling. After our first night of 3rd shift work, exhausted we attempted finding a hotel in our price range of under $80.00. We had to wait until after noon for our per diem money to hit and by then we just wanted a bed and sleep before our next 8 pm work shift. they did let us check in at 1 pm but didn't expect such disappointment, though it was a place to sleep for $60 a night. A smoking room we expected the smell from cigerettes, but the cleanliness was terrible, feces on the outside of the toilet bowl and it appeared that the door frame and door to the bathroom and not been wiped down for years having dark stains from the hundreds of guest hands that had touch it going in and out of the bathroom. Cigerette burns in bead spreads, missing shower tiles, black mold on bathroom ceiling. Wish I would have taken pictures. Don't stay there unless its your only option.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by Brand Experience Team, Hotel Management
Dear Richard, Thank you for your feedback. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure during your recent stay. Please know the conditions you describe are an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize for the inconveniences you describe. We encourage you to contact our Guest Relations Department to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal PQ

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Cons: General cleanliness...... appearances count!
The exterior door was filthy with dirty finger marks; the floor tiles were lifting and uneven; the wall needed patching and general repair; the sink taps leaked; the smell of the room was suspect; the top of the bedside tables were sticky & dusty; and this was the second room we were assigned to because the toilet overflowed in the first room. However we had been on the road for almost 16 hours and needed to sleep somewhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by Brand Experience Team, Hotel Management
Dear Kayak Mother, Thank you for your feedback. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure during your recent stay. Please know the conditions you describe are an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize for the inconveniences you describe. We encourage you to contact our Guest Relations Department to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Wasn't comfortable... The key didn't work door was broken and it was a big whole under the sink and no head board on one of the beds
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by Brand Experience Team, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the comfort issues you describe. We invite you to contact our Guest Relations Department to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus, Oh

Good value

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Cons: seems as though all the rooms that are rented are right next to or very near each other. All the cars are bunched together with most of the lot empty
Location: Lots to do nearby. There are plenty of restaurants and a Starbucks close.
Can't beat the price for this clean room. There are some repair issues. Floor in room is damaged. Shower curtain rod is broken. It slants down so the curtain slides to the middle. This allows water to escape to the floor outside that will eventually damage the floor.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by Brand Experience Team, Hotel Management
Dear Pat, Thank you for posting your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. Please know the maintenance conditions you experienced are an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize. We invite you to contact our Guest Relations Department to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from H

Front desk person was nice, but...

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Smoky room, uncomfortable bed. Kind of shady clientele.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Pretty Pathetic for a Motel 6

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Close to the interstate and not in a bad neighborhood.
Cons: Fix the rooms before letting them for the night.
Location: Wake up, eat some breakfast at Waffle House, and drive away.......................fast!!!!!!!
Booked my stay as a quick overnight stop on a long drive. I picked Motel 6 because I was looking for a simple, no frills, clean place to lay my head for the night and take a much needed shower on a long cross country road-trip. Motel 6 has never let me down. Simple, comfortable, and clean was all that I was looking for. I got something quite different. The hotel is older but it looks clean from the outside. I booked a non-smoking room via Expedia based on the distance between my starting point and destination. The room was definitely a smoking room. It smelled as if someone had just left after smoking a carton of Camels. The smell hit you like a freight train as soon as you opened the door. The sheets and bedding were full of burns from cigarette ashes. The flooring in the room was severely damaged from a previous water incident. It was a simple laminate flooring but it had curled up and many of the boards were loose and completely dislodged from the floor. You couldn't walk on the floor in socked feet because of the floor damage. Trust me, it hurt. The back of the front door was completely black as if a circus full of greasy handed mechanics had stayed there for a month. I went down to the front desk to change rooms before I was settled, but the girl at the front desk said that the hotel had no more rooms for "Expedia Bookings". Apparently there are two classes of booking that can be made at the motel. One directly, and the second class Expedia type.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Randolph

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 8, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Adequate

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: Next to the McDonald's and interstate.
Cons: Bed comfort- pillows hard, electronic locking mechanisms for doors, the door seals allowed cold air to enter room.
Location: Right off the interstate and restaurants nearby.
I booked this hotel room to have somewhere to lay my head at night. I wasn't looking for fancy amenities but a reasonable daily rate, safe, secure environment. Overall I was pleased with my stay with the exception of a few incidents, it served its purpose. Upon getting the room I did have to go back down to the front desk because the room key did not work, I went back down three times with the clerk going back up with me on the third time. She had gotten new keys and they finally worked. On my final third night at approximately 330 am there was someone trying to enter my room which mistakenly was another patron just arriving. This was very scary to be awoken during this time. Luckily I had all the locks on the door. When I called down to the front desk to tell them what happened they explained but still this can be very scary for someone staying alone.