Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Great Location: Barely Satisfying

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Excellent location. Comfortable rooms.
Cons: Customer service priorities. Attention to detail and security.
Location: Wonderfully located. Walking distance to many restaurants. A 10 minute drive to meet every need. Great place for contractor employees.
Attempting to cancel one room reservation of 6, the entire reservation was canceled. This may have been my own fault. The hotel agent was very kind to work to restore the reservations, however she was interrupted by 3 calls for reservations, which she handled ahead of completing this duty. The time spent was exorbitant and 6 people were lined behind me at the completion. More disappointing was seeing an agent in the back room who did not give any assistance in the process, but came out with a statement of disdain, "Do you need any help?" The rooms were very comfortable, for the most part, clean, and generally in good repair. One sheet had blood stains remaining that were very visible. The normally securely locked entrance door at Room 155 had the entire lock assembly removed. This was a little disconcerting. Overall, because I travel internationally a great deal, I would say that there was not the upbeat customer service that Americans, especially women, are used to.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by General manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review we will use this information to provide a better experience for our guest.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Run down but right next to highway which was godd for getting around quickly. .
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Christopher Broadbent, Hotel Management
We thank you for the review and are always open to any advice you can offer to improve the hotel. We hope that you choose us again in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ATLANTA

Not bad for the price.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The size of the room and the cold A/C.
Location: Shopping, and theme park.
The hotel was in decent shape. Some minor issues but nothing worth mentioning. I love the fact the the A/C was nice and cold in my room. Most budget places I've stayed at have a/c's that barely cool the room. This one was great, Beds were comfortable. Room was very good size with lots of room. I would have no problems staying here again. My family and I usually come to this area to go to Carrowinds theme park. I will probably stay here the next time I come. This has been the best hotel I've stayed at yet in this area. Not to mention they have a hot breakfast available as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Christopher Broadbent, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review! I would be interested in hearing from you about some of those minor issues you saw. We are always trying to offer a perfect experience and not anything that is below that standard. We are great full for the good review and we are happy that you will choose us again in the future!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SC

Roaches

Posted Jul 16, 2017
My room was not clean, the carpet had not been vacuumed in who knows how long. There was a large dead roach carcass behind my bed, my sheets and pillows didn't smell clean. Although my room was non-smoking, it smelled of stale smoke. There were live roaches seen around the ice machine and hallways. I was no accommodated when I asked for a different room and was forced to have to take my family to a different hotel. The manager was very kind and offered a full refund. The cleanliness of the hotel is not up to par and there is a roach problem.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
We are very sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We have been working hard to ensure our guests are 100% satisfied when they stay with us and will work hard to ensure a stay like yours never happens again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
Wi-fi signal was weak at the far end of the hotel which is where our room was located.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2017
Thank you for your comment and we will get the issues repaired
3 out of 5
by Laurie

Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
The sheets were not clean on the extra bed. Two days of the 4 days they did not clean the room, the shower filled up and did not drain, and the outside key card reader was not working on multiple occasions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2017
We are sorry for the issues you had while staying at our wonderful property. Thank you again for alerting our staff to the issues as soon as they happen so we were able to fix those right away. We are sorry for the lack of housekeeping service you had to your room that was due to the privacy sign on your door. But we have someone on property 24 hours a day in case you missed our regular housekeeping service. We do hope you will stay with us again. At the front desk and in the room our mission statement is if you are unhappy let the front desk know immediately and we will make it better right away!
1 out of 5
by Daniel

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
Smelly dirty place with bugs and cockroaches.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017
We here at the hotel appreciate your review. I would first like to apologize for the issue you had and let you know that we will resolve this right away. We would like you to give us a second chance in the future to change your mind about our location. Thank you again for staying with us and we do appreciate you review in helping us make everyone's stay a better one.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017
Thank You for your review. We hope you stay again with us in the future!
3 out of 5
by David

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
The shower drain in our room must have been plugged and drained very slow.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2017
sorry for the issue you had with the drain thank you for letting us know and it has been repaired. We hope you decide to stay with us again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 5, 2017
Staff friendly and efficient. There was mold accumulated in the bathroom
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. We have taken steps to fix any issues you might have had. We do hope you will stay with us again in the future.