Ratings based on 522 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Non smoking now but still smells like smoke.

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Staff was friendly and helpful and room had been cleaned but they just aren't able to get rid of smoke and musty smell. Old carpet and peeling wallpaper retain the smell.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Hotel with River View

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: The room and the view.
Cons: Better trained staff at reception. Better lighting in hallways and lobby. A decent continental breakfast - see my comments above..
Location: On a lovely stretch of the river. It was convenient for the activities that I visited Rockford to participate in.
The hotel is OK but has seen better days. Dark and dingy lobby area. Staff not particularly helpful. Small pool was OK. On the other hand, the room had big windows with a lovely river view, a comfortable bed, and was very clean. The "continental breakfast" was the worst I've experienced in any hotel. No juice, a few tired bagels, and a few slices of bread that could be toasted. Only grape jelly and peanut butter available. The coffee was OK.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago,IL.

Nice hotel close to the River!

Posted Sep 8, 2016
I've been to this Hotel/Conference Center for Fashion Shows. And the staff has been amazing then. This was my 1st time staying as a guess in the hotel part. Front desk attended was friendly & helpful when checking in. The King size room was hugh & I love the Comfort of the bed and pillows! But the only small thing I suggest is to housekeeping! Please dust the window blinds more. There was a lot of dust on them. But I would still give 4/4.5 - 5.0 Stars for the stay. And will come back in the near future.😍
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

Beautiful scenic view on Rock River

Posted Sep 2, 2016
The staff was awesome. Very attentive to the needs of there clients. The breakfast was awesome and very tasty. Victor and Adam was amazing. Ebone was awesome, always asking about my comfort and very attentive to my needs.
4 out of 5
by Cesar from Oak Lawn

Great hotel.

Posted Aug 9, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is quiet and the rooms are comfortable. There are some areas where water damage has occurred and was repaired but, not very well. But there were no foul odors and the hotel is very nice. Friendly staff. This was our second time staying here. Definitely not our last.
4 out of 5
by Christie from Starkville

Beautiful place to stay!

Posted Aug 6, 2016 on Hotels
Four nights this trip. Will definitely stay here again! Loved the feel of the hotel, the ambiance was super! Breakfast was good. Room was large. Price was sensible.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Going Home

Posted Aug 5, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel has alot of charm but does need to be updated.
5 out of 5
by ReGina from Chicago

A Couple of FOREVERS

Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
The love of my life and I had the experience of a lifetime. We reconnected again after 25 yrs. And we plan on spending the next 25 yrs together revisiting this special place.
3 out of 5
by Carl from Bloomington, IL

Friendly staff, musty hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
This is an older hotel and has an "old world" ambiance. While the hotel was a good value for a clean, comfortable room - the hotel had a musty smell on the first floor. The pool area was not well kept and the plaster from the ceiling was falling into the pool. Also, there were no functional lights for the indoor pool rendering it useless once the sun went down. I am not very disappointed about hotel stay as the room was clean and comfortable, however I most likely will not stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
by General Manager, Hotel Management
Carl, Thanks so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are excited that you found the room to be clean and comfortable. We are excited to inform you about upcoming renovations that will improve and enhance the property. Thanks!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, AL

Needs renovation. Wonderful staff.

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Grounds around the property not mowed.... Many high weeds everywhere. Cafeteria not open on Sunday and Monday.... No lunch, just dinner. Rooms are spacious. Bed was clean and very comfortable. No TV directory for channels. Telephone did not work for calls. Dirty floors in halls and rooms. Staff was awesome. Great location overlooking river.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Dianne, Thanks so much for your review! We have upcoming renovations that will address the issues you mentioned above. We are excited that you found the staff to be great!