Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
33% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2016
The pictures are way better than the actual hotel. We did not let our kids swim in the pool because the water had a green tint to it. The public bathrooms have giant windows in them so anyone in the walkway can see in. We did not feel safe in this hotel. Will not be staying here ever again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arvada, CO

Icky hotel, shady management, no breadkfast

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Pros: It is near Beloit College.
Cons: Cleanliness, integrity, attitude, pretty much everything.
Location: This hotel is near Beloit College.
This is a huge sprawling hotel in South Beloit. Upon arrival, we settled into our room. We noticed that the used towels from the previous guests were hanging on the back of the bathroom door. Several hairs from the previous guests were stuck and very visible on the bathroom door. The hotel is in poor condition, with chipping paint and ragged carpet. The hotel restaurant and bar were closed, and we had to venture back into Beloit for dinner. The next morning, no breakfast or coffee was available. There was a coffeepot in the room, but no coffee cups. We asked for cups at the front desk, and they promised to send some to the room, but they did not. When we walked around the hotel, we noticed a lot of derelict rooms filled with what appeared to be old mattresses and broken furniture. Upon checkout, we were billed $40 more than the quoted rate. When we protested, the desk clerk said that she could not change anything once it was in the system, and we would have to contact AARP-Expedia for an adjustment. When we contacted AARP-Expedia, they attempted to negotiate with the hotel, but the hotel refused to honor its quoted rate. We then attempted to contact the hotel management directly. We left a message, but never received a return call.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

2 star

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
my wife and I wanted to get away for a long weekend and found this hotel affordable with a great pool. It had 3 stars. The pool and hot tub was great. It can get busy and loud. When we arrived to our room, the room was muggy and the AC barely did anything. The toilet and counter was filthy. Went to the Greenhouse Bar and Restaurant, I wouldn't go back. Our room was not tended the entire stay. We ran out of Kleenex and toilet paper by the last morning. No one informed us about breakfast. I'd say I would never come back again and would give this place 2 stars.
5 out of 5
by Jennifer from South Milwaukee

Great Experience

Posted Mar 15, 2016 on Hotels
I don't think I've ever written a review on anything ever, but The Garden Hotel has compelled me to do so. This place is the bomb if you are looking for a very laid back, family-friendly and inexpensive place to stay. We all had a blast sitting in the very large pool area, while eating and drinking and watching the kids swim. The employees were awesome and friendly and attentive to all our needs. This place has an old school vibe where everything is centered around the pool and nobody is bothered by other people respectfully having fun. We plan to go back again and again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S. Beloit

Close to venue.

Posted Mar 7, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: the fact that management has a vision and is heading in the right direction.
Cons: Breakfast.... pool area cleaned....roof leak fixed... coffee availability 24/7
You can tell the Hotel has been upgraded and seems to have management that has vision. The over all experience was pleasing with just a few minor issues.....roof leaking in pool area...fence around pool needs updating or thoroughly cleaned along with cleaning of pool side and furniture. Breakfast was disappointing...minimal...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 9, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Needs a lot of work

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Pros: the view from my rear view mirror
Cons: Everything, especially customer service. You could start with the Health Dept and meeting ADA standards.
Location: Nothing-only gas stations and a restaurant
Outside lots-dark, no exterior lighting, entrance doors & sidewalks not cleared, 1 handicapped spot at the front and nowhere else, no accessible entry doors, smokers blocking entrance #9, Room-crowded, warm, beds soft, sink clogged, tub stained and dirty, no coffee, Pool-dirty, no towels, too many outside visitors, uncontrolled children, no chairs by our room, noisy parties until after 130am. We called the desk after midnight and were told "When the receptionist gets back, maybe we can ask them to turn the volume down". Not the rules as explained to me at check in. Whirlpool-limit to 6 people but full of kids, floor dirty, drain spitting water, no towels, security guard did not support the rules. People that were not guests sitting there in jackets and dirty shoes Restaurant-food was warm, not hot. Service extremely slow, missing several entrees, exit from restaurant locked us into a hallway. Breakfast was not acceptable-poor options Hallways-not labeled as closed, I became trapped near door #2
3 out of 5
by kyle

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 26, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2016
It was good for what we wanted was clean and had no problems was worried because of reviews we read but didn't have any problems
1 out of 5
by Brad

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 15, 2015 on Hotels