Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
47% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

The hotel obviously gad better days.

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Once this was a nice hotel, there is still a lovely swimming pool, sadly the multi gym needs a fair bit of maintenance and the sauna needs fixing, they were the amenities that attracted me. The room was reasonably clean and comfortable, but wear and tear is pretty obvious, it reaally is in need of a little tlc
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moscow Mills, MO

We stay for the Pool!

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: The swimming pool
Cons: Ice machines were not working very well. One on the second floor had the entire floor soaked in front of it.
The staff is nice, the room is nice enough but we stay for the pool. The pool is beautifully maintained and we enjoy it as long as we can!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2016 by Jessica-Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
I apologize, our ice machines are currently being worked on, and you should have been informed I will look further into this! Thank you so much for your review!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to where I had to be in short notice

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Hotel needs serious updating. Outside entrance door security is less than secure, a screen door would keep someone out better. Bath room was in serious need of rebuild, no microwave or mini frig in room. Won't stay there again
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2016 by Jessica-Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
We are currently updating the hotel, I do apologize about your experience. I am not sure what outside door you are referring to, as for the Bathroom those are all being updated as well. I'm not positive what room you stayed in but I am aware that rooms do have mini fridge, as well as microwaves. I will be looking into this, thank you for your review it helps us learn where to improve!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nd

Room needs cleaning

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Cons: The outside yard around the hotel could at least have the weeds pulled and landscaped better. The rooms could be updated.
The cleanliness of the room was very poor. Bathroom fixtures could be updated and cleaned better. Carpets were not very clean. I just didn't feel comfortable in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2016 by Howard Johnson Hotel, Hotel Management
I do apologize about your negative experience, we are updating slowly. Landscaping has been updated and will stay up to date. thank you for your feedback, it does help us to know where we need to make improvements!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ohio

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: Nothing at all!
Cons: Tear it down and build a new one
Location: N/A
It was very uncomfortable, staff could not get us an extra blanket, television did not work, and the staff said they could not help me! I spoke with the owner they said they would call Expedia to refund my payment! Not sure if Expedia refunded my account or not!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Aliso Viejo, CA

Clean and comfortable

Posted May 11, 2016
Pros: Rooms were well kept and updated. Hotel had good armosphere.
Cons: Paving is aging in the parking area. Sliding glass door frames and electrical sockets need a little maintenance.
Stayed for nearly two weeks. Found this hotel clean and pleasant for my business travel to Rockford.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel close to where we needed to be

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Nice, comfortable clean room. Parking lot was a bit sketchy with broken glass, trash and cigarette butts/cartons. Smelled Marijuana in the halls - that's acceptable since patrons were quiet and not rowdy at all.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Stinky stained hotel room

Posted Mar 12, 2016
The staff was friendly and accommodating, however the room was horrible. It had this musty smell As soon as you waking in like a cat sprayed the room and someone sprayed air freshener over it. I found a dead bug in the bed. The carpet was stained, I found dried paint on the comforter, and several areas of the carpet. It seemed like the carpet had this layer of nasty, that as soon as I tried to get comfortable, you couldn't. Two stars seems a little over rated.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago il

Nice location but terrible conditions

Posted Feb 5, 2016
The hot tub was out of order and I got bit by bed bugs all night in 2 different rooms
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs remodeling.

Posted Jan 16, 2016
Hotel staff was nice. Needs major remodeling and update. Shower water pressure was bad. Television was old tube not even flat screen.