Ratings based on 284 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
45% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Posted Jul 18, 2017
I Always try to stay here for The Melt Down Drags in Byron IL. It is an affordable clean Motel. The hotel staff are GREAT!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Williamsburg, ny

Bad hotel in a bad part of town

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: There's a heat lamp in the bathroom. That was kind of neat.
Cons: Everything.
Location: Not much nearby. Once I got to town many people informed me that this hotel is actually in a very bad neighborhood.
Are room smelled terrible. When we asked to see another room they were nice enough to offer us another one. It's just that they both smelled terrible. The whole hotel smells like mold. They advertise queen beds but we got a full sized bed. The floor was sticky. Room service while friendly would come too early in the day and if we left after 11 pm for our daily outings they wouldn't visit our room for any freshening up. Sure they have cable tv but the television is a tube tv from 1999. Get with the times.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from R

Close to where I was going

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Old place. Still have the old tube TVs, shower knob did not work properly and could not control the water flow There were some dead mosquitoes on the bed and near the pillows. Good thing I only slept there one nite out of the 2 payed for.
1 out of 5
by Maricella

Worst hotel I've seen

Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel was literally thrown together enough to pass the inspection. From the furniture in the rooms to the pool EVERYTHING was disgusting. The pool had vomit in it, cob webs in the windows, the pool furniture was almost broken. The bath tub in the room needed to be scrubbed, the carpet and curtains were filthy and there was cob webs in the ceiling. I'll NEVER in my life go here again. The owners should be ashamed of themselves.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Dissapointment

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: I'm afraid nothing.
Cons: The entire hotel needs a renovation.
Location: The location was good for the venue we were attending.
I'm sorry to say my stay was a disappointment. The pictures and amenities on line showed a total different picture than what we experienced. My bed was lumpy, the room smelled, the coffee and selection of items for the continental breakfast were not good. The hotel and pool area looked unkempt. I'm sorry to say I would not recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by howardjohnsonrockford, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. Our continental breakfast includes pastries, juices, coffee, cereal, yogurt, bagels and waffles.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wear gloves and a HAZMAT suit.

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Hotels
This motel was one of the most disgusting places I've ever stayed. In the room I had, I noted the following issues. * Feces from a previous guest stuck in the toilet. * Green corrosion covering an entire side of the tub area. * Mildew one all the bathroom tile. * Mildew spotted shower curtain. * Sink drain in pieces. * Feet stuck to bathroom floor after walking in off the carpet. * TV remote broken and numbers worn off. * Antique TV with poor picture and sound. * All furniture clipped, broken and nasty looking. * Room was noisy with many people outside. * Totally surly hotel manager. I would recommend avoiding this hotel unless you are looking for a location to test germ warfare equipment. There are much better choices in the area for about the same cost. This place is awful.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017
Thank you for your feedback. We work hard trying to please our guests, but anonymous reviews make that difficult to do.
3 out of 5
by Robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Pangying

Last minute Howard Johnson stayed

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel needs a huge upgrade. A lot of the amenities do not work anymore: hair dryer, lamps, tv...etc. Bed is too old and saggy!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017
Thank you for your feedback. We are working hard to upgrade the hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 12, 2017
One of the main reasons why we booked at this location was due to it having a pool but only after the we were checked it did the staff bother to tell us the pool was being services. I guess they did not see my kids pool toys in the lobby before checking in. Additionally the microwave in my room did not work so my infant had to take her milk straight out of the fridge...cold. But the worst was finding a pubic hair in what was supposed to be clean towels!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by howardjohnsonrockford, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry the pool was down during your stay. Our policy is to tell guests at check in if our pool is not open.
5 out of 5
by Christopher W

Better Than Expected

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
For what I thought it was going to be, since it was the cheapest hotel left in Rockford, it turned out much better than expected. The cleanliness was not an issue at all. The area is not the best and by no means would be described as scenic. But if all you are looking for is a good room to stay in, then you found your answer.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017
Thank you for your feedback. We work hard trying to please our guests. Thank you so much for staying with us!