Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by karen from Jennings florida

could have been better

Posted Jan 12, 2016 on Hotels
We didn't know the hotel was being worked on. It felt like we were the only guest in the entire building. The staff did come to clean the room but other then that we didn't see anyone. There was no continental breakfast but they did lower the price because of it. Except for feeling like I was in a Steven king movie it wasn't that bad. The best part was having a bakery across the street.
4 out of 5
by mary from new hampshire

location & lovely people -- not luxurious; homey!

Posted Jan 6, 2016 on Hotels
the people couldn't be nicer -- it was a lovely place to stay with a dog and grandchild -- veery homey and cozy -- not luxurious but historic and the location is fantastic --- being able to wander around the charming downtown of sycamore -- walk to movies, mexican food, a 7 11, antique and boutique stores -- bagel place ---- it was wonderful -- so much nicer than staying out on the highway....loved it!
5 out of 5
by Sharon from Midlothian, IL

Heartwarming

Posted Nov 24, 2015 on Hotels
The Hotel was charming in it's history and a pleasant surprise. It was so quiet and peaceful..exactly what I was looking for. Even though there is no breakfast on Sunday in the lobby, hot coffee and juice would have been nice.
3 out of 5
by Brian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 24, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Cecilia r from Sycamore, IL and Portage, IN

Hotel with personality

Posted Apr 20, 2015 on Hotels
Jane Fargo Hotel is an old hotel, retaining antique personality. Room was sufficient. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom was up-graded and clean. Small continental breakfast. Priced reasonably. I grew up in Sycamore. Located on the main street, State Street, with cute stores and restaurants. Driving distance to larger shopping malls. Sycamore is my home town. Stay at this hotel when visiting.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Not a 3 Star Facility.

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: The hotel had a rich history and was in the center of everything.
Cons: The entire hotel needs to be updated.
Location: The location is fantastic with plenty to do within walking distance.
The Staff was really nice and friendly. The location is in the center of the downtown Sycamore area. When I booked it Expedia fabricated and said that it was a 3 star and that it was in the same ballpark of their other 3 Star hotels like, Holiday Inn, Hilton, etc etc. But that was not the truth. The hotel has a rich history thats dates back to the early 1900's and the staff at the hotel were nice and they provided excellent customer service but the hotel needs a bit of love and attention to become a 3 star facility. The Hallways were dark (Reminds you of the movie "The Shining"), with a small elevator, dated carpet, dated wall paper and bathrooms. The rooms were very clean and a bit musky. Not like a locker-room or anything but like Grand-Pa's basement. The continential breakfast was small but edible. There's a small Christin bookstore a few doors down that was awesome.
2 out of 5
by Donna from Phoenix

Location is the only good thing

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: Just the location. It was conveniently located for what we needed.
Cons: Don't lie to guests. Fix things when they break....not hours later. Front desk needs to know how to deal with a prepaid room.
I arrived after flying a red eye flight the night before and having spent the majority of the day with my family. When I arrived, there was noone at the front desk. An older woman came out and told me that she couldn't help me because she was just the cooks assistant but she would find the front desk clerk. The front desk clerk asked for my credit card and charged me for the room. This room had been prepaid for. I went up to my room and pulled up my original receipt, went back to the front desk. The clerk apologized and then told me that she did not have the security to refund what they charged me in error and that she had to go get someone else. And wouldn't you know it...the person who had security to reverse the charge was none other than the woman who told me that she couldn't help me check in, she was just the cooks assistant. Guess wben you are really in charge but you really don't want to deal with people, you should be careful who you lie to. In the morning, the cleaning people started in rooms around 8am. They were loud as we had a very long day the day before we were trying to sleep in. The toilet wouldn't flush. We were in and out of the room 4 times before they finally came to fix the toilet. Seems to me that would be something they would fix right away. There was NEVER anyone at the front desk. There was no ice machines. You had to bring your bucket down to the front desk to have the clerk fill, but they were never there and you always had to wait
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Staff- just need a better bed

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Need a newer more comfy bed-Also need more for the breakfast
Staff was very helpful about where I can park my car and where I can go to get a good supper. Bed was not very comfy but the room was clean. Had to go get ice downstairs at the check in desk and just was your basic cereal and English muffin breakfast. Nothing major for what I paid.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Incredibly friendly staff!!

Posted Mar 17, 2014
We had a scheduling snafu due to Expedia. The staff went above and beyond to accommodate us on a hectic weekend
2 out of 5
by Not Going Back from Chicago, IL

I didn't expect much, but this was awful

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Location: Sweet bakery across the street has excellent donuts. The jewelry and stuff store two shops down is great.
After reading other reviews, I wasn't expecting much from this place. It was still a disappointment, though. The staff were quite nice, and it was clean -- I didn't find anyone else's hair, and my room was clearly cleaned the second day I was there. That's really the best things I can say, though. In particular, everything just seemed dingy and old. Not antique old, or even old that creates character. Just chipped/faded/not replaced old. The lobby sometimes, but not always, smelled of feces. The hallway sometimes, but not always, smelled of pound cake. The towels/toilet paper/tissues/coffee were the lowest passable quality, and I didn't even go near the bowl of goo that I think was supposed to be biscuits and gravy for continental breakfast. There was hot water when I showered at 10am, but not when I wanted to shower at 8am, and not when I wanted to wash my hands at 8am, 11am, or 10pm. The bed was so hard and uncomfortable that I tried sleeping on the floor (fyi, the floor wasn't any better). There were mini-blinds, but no curtains, so the room flooded with light as the sun rose, making sleep even more of a distant dream. I didn't have any weird "haunting" experiences, but it was still generally unpleasant.