Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful, refurbished hotel, close to beach

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Loved our two days at the Emerson: attentive staff, close proximity to beach and interesting towns, impressive dining room. Highly recommended!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017 by Krysten Reilly - General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for recommending us! We hope you come visit us again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Athens, GA

Posted May 21, 2017
Wonderful dinner on the porch overlooking the ocean. Quiet historic hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017 by Krysten Reilly - General Manager, Hotel Management
Glad you had a good time!
4 out of 5
by Kimberly

Friendly staff, great location

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
The Emerson Inn is a diamond in the rough. A recent change in ownership has brought nice renovations to the rooms, bathrooms, and lobby areas - with outside renovations happening later. Gorgeous views of the ocean from the waterside rooms. Friendly bartender and a variety of nice seating areas in the lobby. The menu at the Pigeon Cove Tavern was small, but included excellent food at an affordable price. Breakfast of eggs, home fries, fruit, juice, coffee, toast, cereal, yogurt the next morning was included in the cost of the room and very good. Very close to Halibut Point State Park for beautiful ocean walk. If we stay again we would avoid Room 209 which is right above the lobby and also at the landing of the grand stair case. We could hear the bartender shaking drinks - but the bar closed early so this wasn't a problem.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas Tx

Very nice staff, great views, very charming hotel

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on CheapTickets
Pros: The location and the staff
Cons: no desk or table to work from in the room
Location: We only stayed one night and didn't get to see much but you're right on the beach and so there are lots of things to do.
The staff was so nice. They don't have an elevator but a very nice man took our bags up the stairs. We were upgraded free to a bigger room with a view, that was very nice of them. We had so much fun playing trivia in the lounge. I honestly don't think I've ever stayed at a hotel with such a nice staff and I've stayed at a lot of hotels. The hotel was clean and quite. The view of the ocean was incredible. My only complaint was that the rooms are a tad small and there was no desk, but unless you're a workaholic with a lap top like I am this shouldn't matter to you. I have no doubt that had I asked for a table someone would have brought me one. It has the feel of a bed and breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Cozy, relaxing, clean, wonderful

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: Staff, cleanliness, comfortable
Lovely staff, relaxing and cozy vibe inside. This was our second time coming and it was the perfect weekend getaway. We spent the afternoon in a coffee shop, had dinner in Rockport, and came back for a drink in the lobby/lounge area. So quiet, and relaxing. The rooms are comfortable and perfect. In the morning, we had a delicious, complimentary breakfast of french toast, scrambled eggs, and muffins. Then we went out to the porch and read the paper while drinking some of the complimentary coffee that is available in the lobby. PERFECT, perfect stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Romantic getaway destination

Posted Oct 22, 2016
The inn and rooms has been renovated. Great ocean view rooms. There are no elevators so luggage needs to be carried up. Staff is very helpful in carrying them up for you, they go out of their way to help. Wonderful hot breakfast. Been here 25 years ago and loved it so much I had to come back. Will come back again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Charming with an ocean view

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Our one night stay was delightful. We arrived after the sun had set so we were pleasantly surprised the next morning to see that we were right next to the ocean. The view from the Inn was spectacular! We did not have an ocean view from our actual room, but there is a huge covered porch with wooden rocking chairs to sit and enjoy the surroundings. The staff was incredibly friendly, kind and helpful. It had rained so we did not want to sit on the damp rocking chairs. We walked inside where we were greeted by a staff member asking if we wanted some beach towels so we could sit in the rocking chairs on the porch. So thoughtful! The room was very small but it was very comfortable and added to the charm of the place so no complaints there! We had a nice hand-written note from housekeeping. Breakfast was absolutely delicious. Eggs, bacon, scones. Butterscotch pancakes made to order. Mmmmm. Breakfast attendant was extremely gracious. She even ran over to the door to help us when we were leaving with our luggage. Every staff member there went above and beyond their duties. That alone is worth a return visit. The location and view is also worth a return visit! The yard, pool and horseshoes too! This was our first visit to the New England area but it won't be our last! And now we know where we are going to stay next time. Emerson Inn!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Most Charming and Romantic Hotel we have stayed in

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
We were married in Rockport 20+ years ago and have not been back since. This was our first trip back and we went for our anniversary.The B+B we were married in was no longer there (torn down and replaced with a beautiful private home), so we tried the Emerson. From the moment we stepped into the hotel we felt great. The nice reception area with fresh coffee (regular AND decafe!!) along with fresh baked cookies was a great welcoming experience. The room was a perfect size. Small but cozy. Exceptionally clean. The hotel is not walking distance to any of the shops in Rockport but we liked the privacy and quiet better and we were able to sit on the bluffs and watch the waves with almost no one around. Very peaceful and romantic. The restaurant was insanely good and we were amazed that the complimentary breakfast was part of the room rate. Easily a $50 breakfast for the two of us which made the daily rate a bargain. We sat on the porch overlooking the water and stayed for hours in the morning sun with the waves in the distance while we enjoyed our breakfast. The staff could not have been nicer, and any small detail they immediately took care of. We spend our lives surrounded by people and activities. This was a welcome retreat. My wife and I both agree that we never had a better weekend. Definitely planning another visit much sooner than later
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 28, 2016 on Hotels