Ratings based on 1,207 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Beautiful Historic Stanley

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: The ghost tour and the history of the hotel
Cons: No improvements needed
Location: We loved the nearby national park and the opportunity to hike.
Since the Shining is my favorite horror movie, going to the Stanley has always been a dream of mine. My mom and I spent one night there, and had an incredible experience. We loved the history, the night ghost tour and the general area with hotel itself was beautiful. We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner in the restaurant, 5 star quality. We highly recommend anyone with a love of history and the supernatural to spend a night at the Stanley.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Broken Bow, Ne

Nice hotel close to town

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: We like the history of the hotel and the nice staff. We also like antique's all around the Hotel.
Location: The Stanley is really close to Estes Park and Rocky Mountain national Park.
We had a nice experience at the Stanley. The bed was comfortable, and the room was big enough to move around in. We had our first "ghost" experience in the middle of the night.
3 out of 5
by Joan

Classic historic spooky hotel

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
Well it is an old classic hotel. We did have two problems: the floorboard heaters could not keep up with the cold coming in through the old single pane windows (it was 10 deg F outside) so hotel service brought up a portable heater; secondly the tub stopping mechanism was gone and no tub stopper was around so Hotel service had to bring up one. Another small issue was the bass from the lobby music, which plays 24 hours a day, could be heard in our room (which was above the lobby). Otherwise the decor and atmosphere is awesome--and the spookiness of the possibility of seeing a ghost.
4 out of 5
by Patrick

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
The night ghost tour wasn't that great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Co springs

Nice hotel v ery friendly staff we go about twice

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Service was great very beautiful view love the history elk everywhere I would definitely recommend people see or stay once in lifetime no ghost stings or activity every time we stayed though but it's fun to think one may appear
4 out of 5
by Robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Raquel

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
Room was old and small
5 out of 5
by Rachel

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
It was a great visit. We got upgraded, everyone was super nice, and the hotel is gorgeous!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expected a little more....

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is an historical property, so you know to some extent what to expect in that regard... creaky floors, old pictures and furniture, and a real feel of history - which was cool. Given the reputation however, I expected more... the shower water barely got hotter than Luke warm and the front desk girl couldn't offer a solution or help... the mattress left our backs screaming in the morning and the restaurant staff were not overly friendly. I guess I just expected a little bit more from the property overall? Perhaps the off season visit had a role in the experience? It was fun to be able to spend a night at this historic property, but I don't foresee returning for another stay in the future.
4 out of 5
by Brandon

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels