Ratings based on 1,074 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2016
The story behind the hotel was cool, but the actual structure needs major maintenance. Needs much TLC
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Iconic hotel, not necessarily the best.

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: The building itself, the view, the bar and a channel playing Shining 24h
Cons: The room can be improved, some furniture a bit old. Bathroom fittings a bit old and had stains.
Location: Great place to stay if you are visiting Rocky Mountain National Park.
Estes Park is a great base for visiting Rocky Mountain National Park. Stanley Hotel is iconic and its connection to the movie Shining makes it a special place to visit and stay at.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Davidsonville, Maryland

Bucket List Hotel Stay

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: The Victorian design.
Cons: The parking situation was less than desirable. The parking lot was undergoing some refurbishment which caused dust, dirt and mud.
Location: The location is superb for visiting the National Park and exploring the nearby towns.
Who wouldn't want to stay at one of the most famous hotels in America? It is a thrilling experience not only for its paranormal reputation but also its design and setting. Our traveling party of three spent two nights there while visiting Rocky Mountain National Park which is virtually a few miles away. I would highly recommend a visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit, Michigan

Second stay at the Stanley

Posted Aug 1, 2016
We booked the room for 3 nights..On the 3rd day no sign of housekeeping for the room. At 3 pm, we called the desk to ask for our room to be cleaned, even though we had left at 9am that morning for an outing. We then left for dinner and came back 3 hours later, still no housekeeping. We called the desk and told them again and said to just bring us some clean towels..Finally after 20 minutes, an employee shows up with fresh towels..For $400 a night, I was expecting better service,; not to mention the ceiling fan had 3 inches of dust on it, which fell onto the bed when we tried to clean it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced for poor service

Posted Aug 1, 2016
The hotel was packed and it appeared they were short staffed. The service was unacceptable for the price of the accommodation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful antique

Posted Jul 26, 2016
We got stuck in a 4th floor attic room. No air conditioning in July is in tolerable. Did not finish our stay
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Ga

Not worth the nightly rate.

Posted Jul 25, 2016
The room was clean but even with the windows opened and ceiling fan, was too hot to until almost sunrise. Was promised an additional fan several times but never got it. Given the high nightly rate, I expected a much higher level of service. There was not a relaxing feel to the hotel and the view was only good from the front porch.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bloomington, IL

Overpriced

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: I appreciated the fact that I was allowed to check in a bit earlier than the normal check-in time.
We stayed in the new Aspire Residence for one night at very high cost (I'm not allowed to say the room rate in my feedback or my comments might not be posted). I take responsibility for not realizing that the Aspire property is a separate building from the main hotel, which I thought we'd be staying in (and for which I thought the price MIGHT be worth it for the "memory" of staying in the hotel that inspired Stephen King to write The Shining). The double King room was fairly plain, long and narrow, and dark. The door did not have a peephole (so you couldn't see who was outside of the door before opening it - safety concern). The water from the shower leaked through the glass doors, out on to the bathroom floor. The modern toilet intentionally did not have a handle, but rather you had to hover your hand over the top of the tank for several seconds before the sensor realized that you were trying to activate a flush - more inconvenient and time-consuming than "cool." Ice machines had not been added on the floors yet, and the exercise room was not open. The mattresses were very high off the floor, so, if you're shorter, get ready to climb your way up and slide your way out of bed. The check-in staff seemed bored/uninterested. On this cross-country trip, we stayed in two Holiday Inn Express hotels - these were cheaper and nicer than the Aspire property - plus we got free hot breakfasts at those! I feel completely taken advantage of. The Aspire was very overpriced/not worth it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expedia Rooms = Bad Location

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Nice hotel, lots of history, nice restaurant but the location of room was terrible. I think I am beginning to see a pattern that the rooms booked via Expedia are terribly placed. They put us on the second floor right above their outside restaurant. How's that for a good night's sleep? And this is about the third time we've used Expedia to book into a nice hotel to receive a subpar location. Disappointing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth money to stay if not avid Ghost Hunter

Posted Jul 19, 2016
I was very excited to stay overnight and be able to explore The Stanley. It's a very neat place to see in person. But most rooms are not air-conditioned (85 in our room during day in summer). And there were other seemingly-standard amenities that were missing or malfunctioning. I highly recommend visiting and paying for one or all of the tours. But since the Jack Nicholson film was not filmed here, a short visit will suffice.