Ratings based on 1,210 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mo

great hotel but odd entryway

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: the ambience, mainly.
Cons: finding the entryway - but with us using expedia booking, i feel we may have been treated differently than if we'd walked up and paid directly.
Location: estes park probably has more to do than i am aware of. i went because of the stanley, being a huge staphen king fan!
we had a difficult time finding the front of the hotel, but it was worthwhile when we finally did! the odd experience i had was with the gentleman checking us in. we arrived after check in time, but the room wasn't ready. i asked for any room, not necessarily 2 beds, and again, there was nothing ready. we came back an hour later, and it still wasn't ready. went to eat, came back and they still had difficulty finding a room ready for us. but they did. i'm still not sure what the hold up was - but it did keep us from doing the ghost tour, which was one of the main reasons i wanted to stay at the stanley. they had day tours every hour or so, but the night tours were sold out. oh well. next time!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay somewhere else

Posted May 30, 2017
I was very excited to stay in this iconic hotel. It was very expensive, but I figured for one night, I would suck it up. When we arrived, parking was very confusing. I ended up pulling up to a curb, but the check in desk is up on the next floor. Check In time is 4:00, and I arrived about 4:15. We were told that our room was not ready, so we parked - very far away because the closer spots were all taken by people who were there for a BBQ event. We didn't get our room key until 5:15, and they were still putting sheets on the bed. We had a 6:00 tour scheduled, so it was a rush to get there. The tour was good, but it ended at 7:30 and then we had to leave the hotel to eat. There is only one restaurant on site and it was booked. We couldn't even get coffee. We did have breakfast at Cascades in the morning and it was fine. Bottom line, the hotel charges a lot of money, but it is not used for upkeep or to provide anything to please customers. The management doesn't really care about making customers happy. The service , amenities and cleanliness are much better at any basic chain hotel. If you are really committed to going to the hotel, just pay for a tour. Ask for Andrew.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Gorgeous location and views

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: It is a little unclear where to go to check in.
Location: Rocky Mountain National Park of course!
We enjoyed our stay and given the historic nature of the place, the comfort and amenities were good. The bed was very comfortable--not historic!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Rosa

Iconic old Hotel with great location

Posted May 19, 2017
Iconic hotel located in Estes Park at the front door of Rickey Mountain Park. Beautiful location near everything. Rooms spacious but in need of an update. Restaurant very good and whiskey bar well stocked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location

Posted May 14, 2017
This beautifully maintained historic inn is in an ideal location in Estes Park and near fabulous hiking in Rocky Mountain National Park. The staff was very helpful and our room was absolutely gorgeous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful historical hotel with incredible view

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Great views. Beautiful old hotel from 1900s
Cons: Bathroom was very old and tub needed replacement
Location: Beautiful small town with good resteraunts
Beautiful historical hotel with million dollar view of Estes park and the Rocky Mountains.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced Big Time

Posted Apr 30, 2017
The Stanley Hotel is a neat peice of history to VISIT. You can basically see everything there is to see within an hour. If you are staying in Estes Park Id HIGHLY recommend you stay somewhere else. This hotel plays on The Shining a ton and is insanely overpriced (keep in mind the shining wasn't even filmed here it was just the inspiration for the movie) I read a similar review before I booked my room and I highly regret not listening. As far as the stay went, the room was very plain it was not worth over $300 for one night! Breakfast is NOT included and is also wayyy overpriced to eat there. When we arrived we were told all the tours were booked already. If you visit Estes I do recommmed you do a tour (book early) and visit the Stanley for about an hour. Again, neat place to visit but most definitely not worth the overnight stay. We only stayed one night and stayed in another hotel for HALF the price the rest of our trip where we had a full kitchen, jacuzzi hot tub, fireplace, etc all in our room! Unless money is no big deal to you and you don't care to be as comfortable, save hundreds and stay somewhere super nice for way cheaper and visit the hotel for fun. You are able to book a tour without being a hotel guest.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the cost

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Unpleasant staff. Small room. No included amenities. Way too expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

The Stanley Hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Location: There's an awesome little bakery across town called the Cinnamon Bakery, check it out but get there early!
The hotel management were incredibly welcoming and accommodating, and clearly take their job very seriously.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ct

Beautiful historic hotel

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Lovely old hotel with a vibrant history. I stayed on the supposedly haunted 4th floor, though I did not experience anything. The room was cozy and quaint, the bathroom adequate and clean. The staff are friendly and helpful. The Cascades restaurant was very good. Overall this was a wonderful experience that I can check off my bucket list!