Ratings based on 1,222 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Omaha, NE

Spiritual Experience

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: I have wanted to go my entire life. The Hotel is beautiful, clean, historic. The Staff was polite, helpful, and respectful. Overall an amazing time!
Cons: I accidentally went into"The Lodge" first because I wasn't sure where to check in. The Ladies in there, weren't as friendly as the main building. :(
Location: Plenty to do, you will run out of time before you do things to do.
From the moment I entered the doors, you could feel the history in this beautiful building. The Pictures can't possibly do it the justice that seeing it in person does.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old traditional hotel with poor service

Posted Jul 18, 2017
A beautiful hotel of the Victorian era. Seemed more focused on selling tours of the hotel than providing basics customer service. Individual staff seemed nice, but poorly trained. Called for front desk to have bellmen deliver luggage - never happened. Had to search down the bellman who said he had not been informed. Asked front desk to have housekeeping bring two additional pillows - never happened. Most of the staff seemed willing, pleasant, but a bit confused on how to do their jobs. A 4 star structure, but a 2 star customer service. Other disappointing issue was mildew in tub/shower and badly frayed carpet edges on stairs. Tacky. Would recommend visiting for a drink, but stay somewhere else.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Demarest, NJ

Historic hotel in Estes Park CO

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: aesthetically beautiful hotel and surrounded by breathe taking mountains in estes park colorado
Cons: put in air conditioning and a safe in each room. bottled water as the climate is hot and dry in july when i visited
Location: rocky mountain national park hiking is main attraction
Beautiful grand historic hotel surrounded by 12, 500 foot mountains.No refrigerator, no safe and only one undersized turn of the century elevator for entire hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Hot and No Air Conditioning

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Cons: My room number was not listed on the directory right outside the elevator. I had to go around the whole floor to find it as the number was out of ord
I did not know this hotel had no air-conditioning and it was in the 90's when I stayed in June. The sun was coming in the window and the staff did not even bother to close the drapes. The staff did bring a fan to add to the fan already in the room but I was very uncomfortable. Also, there was no closet. You had to hang your clothes in the bathroom below a shelf. If you had any long garments they would have sat on the floor. The maze outside the building consisted of new trees about one foot high, many dead from the heat. I asked one of the help where breakfast was being served and she told me in the next building. Of course, I was sent back to the main building by another employee because that information was incorrect; breakfast was being served in the main building. On my return to the building I ran into the same maintenance lady a who had sent me on a wild good chase and found her reading a magazine on the main floor. I will never stay there again or recommend it to a friend. It's a lot of money for very little.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

DO NOT BOOK

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: The room was dirty, the staff had language barriers, over priced, terrible location, not as advertised.
Location: Far from downtown.
Was excited to stay in a historic property but didn't expect that it would be so horribly maintained and dirty. The room was VERY high priced considering the quality. So bad that both my spouse and I refused to use the bathroom during our stay. We were ripped off to say the least. The staff at reception didn't know the difference between a queen and a twin bed which led to a very long check in process. The grounds surrounding the Stanley were under construction which made it challenging to access downtown from the hotel and created a less than picturesque location. Parking was also limited and very unorganized. If you are expecting a well cared for hotel this isn't the place. Doesn't even look as portrayed in the photos. Stop by for a tour, take a couple of photos and spend the night somewhere else. Can't tell you how disappointed/mad I am that we stayed here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greeley, Colorado

A must see historical hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2017
The Stanley Hotel is being revitalized! My wife and I stayed one night for our wedding anniversary and we were impressed. The gardens are very pretty and the views are breathtaking. We ate breakfast next to the waterfall. The food was a bit pricey but top notch. Our check in didn't start off well. Our room was not ready at 6:00 pm! I got little upset at the desk clerk so she upgraded our room to #321 and we immediately checked in. The room is pretty darn cool. I will definitely go back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Overpriced & outdated with poor service

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Hotel way past it's prime, still trying to charge a premium for everything. Really just one restaurant, instead of 4 that website mentions. Site doesn't mention dirt/gravel parking lot, mold/rust in bathrooms and general disrepair of facility. Having no AC available on the second floor in July makes it difficult to sleep well. Hotel employees either don't know answers to questions or treat you like they're above helping you out. Overall the staff act like they are offering you the Four Seasons' experience while treating you as a peasant. I've honestly stayed at nicer motels on the interstate for a quarter of the cost.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Springfield MO

Not too good.

Posted Jul 4, 2017
My wife, my son and I had been looking forward to staying at the Stanley for years. We booked months ago. When we booked we got the Aspire Residences room. We weren't aware that this was a seperate building away from the main hotel. When we got to our room the air conditioner wasn't working. They called and said it was fixed but no one ever showed up to our room to verify that it was. So we had to call again. We left this time and when we returned it was fixed. The main hotel looked nice but most of it was closed due to special events. From what we could see, it was nice. I would recommend that if you plan a trip to the Stanley Hotel not to get too excited. Estes Park is nice, and Rocky Mountain National Park is truly a sight to behold though.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

New addition, same old place.

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: Leaving
Cons: everything or lower the rates
Location: There's a shopping center below and the Town of Estes Park is just a mile. Be in shape and bring your hiking shoes because driving around Estes Park.
We tried the new "Aspire" addition to the historic Stanley Hotel. There for a reunion with two other couples. One also stayed at Aspire the other in the main old hotel. None were happy with our stay. Aspire is islolated in a no-mans-land location between a shopping center below and the main hotel above. No shuttle to help get around. We wanted to do some hiking but more so in Rocky Mountain National Park than just trying to get around the hotel. The hotel is like a museum. There are none of the usual hotel amenities. None. There is a single restaurant for breakfast lunch and dinner. The staff try to be helpful but they are inexperienced and untrained. They just don't know the answers or even how to find them. This is a three-star hotel at best charging four-star rates. So, pay top dollar and lower your expectations and enjoy your stay. None of us will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Worth doing at least once

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Beautiful hotel , spacious rooms just need those on the wall a/c units . It was a gorgeous 65 degrees but still way too stuffy in the room even with the ceiling fan and windows open. They say they want to keep the historical feel of the hotel but why not use old fashioned keys then? We enjoyed our stay but it was just too hot at night !