Ratings based on 1,188 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the cost

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Unpleasant staff. Small room. No included amenities. Way too expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

The Stanley Hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Location: There's an awesome little bakery across town called the Cinnamon Bakery, check it out but get there early!
The hotel management were incredibly welcoming and accommodating, and clearly take their job very seriously.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ct

Beautiful historic hotel

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Lovely old hotel with a vibrant history. I stayed on the supposedly haunted 4th floor, though I did not experience anything. The room was cozy and quaint, the bathroom adequate and clean. The staff are friendly and helpful. The Cascades restaurant was very good. Overall this was a wonderful experience that I can check off my bucket list!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from arvada, co

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Great hotel! The night tour by Travis was amazing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

Nice hotel fun for family

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: excitement of staying in a haunted hotel especially for the kids. Ghost tour was awesome. Room was spacious.
Cons: Provide breakfast and shower needed a shelf for shower supplies.
Location: Downtown Estes park a short drive away.
Was so excited to stay here, especially with the ghost tour and the kids were very excited. It didn't disappoint. Room was nice and big. We were able to get a room with two queen beds for our family of four worked out good. Only wish they had breakfast for the guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Beautiful Historic Stanley

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: The ghost tour and the history of the hotel
Cons: No improvements needed
Location: We loved the nearby national park and the opportunity to hike.
Since the Shining is my favorite horror movie, going to the Stanley has always been a dream of mine. My mom and I spent one night there, and had an incredible experience. We loved the history, the night ghost tour and the general area with hotel itself was beautiful. We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner in the restaurant, 5 star quality. We highly recommend anyone with a love of history and the supernatural to spend a night at the Stanley.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Broken Bow, Ne

Nice hotel close to town

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: We like the history of the hotel and the nice staff. We also like antique's all around the Hotel.
Location: The Stanley is really close to Estes Park and Rocky Mountain national Park.
We had a nice experience at the Stanley. The bed was comfortable, and the room was big enough to move around in. We had our first "ghost" experience in the middle of the night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Co springs

Nice hotel v ery friendly staff we go about twice

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Service was great very beautiful view love the history elk everywhere I would definitely recommend people see or stay once in lifetime no ghost stings or activity every time we stayed though but it's fun to think one may appear
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Made a reservation for breakfast and when arrived it wasn't written down. Staff in cafe rude, and over charged our credit card for breakfast. Will mot recommend at all.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Could have been better.

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Didn't feel glam of the past. Too much emphasis on The Shining/Stephen King Not enough on the rich history of the Stanley and the family that built it. The maze which was inspired by the movie is an eye sore. We had to bring in our own luggage. The bed was very comfortable but the tub faucet leaked, coffee pot dusty and not cleaned, no place to set toiletries in the bathroom i.e. Pedestal sink. No night light. (Room 324) .