Ratings based on 1,063 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth money to stay if not avid Ghost Hunter

Posted Jul 19, 2016
I was very excited to stay overnight and be able to explore The Stanley. It's a very neat place to see in person. But most rooms are not air-conditioned (85 in our room during day in summer). And there were other seemingly-standard amenities that were missing or malfunctioning. I highly recommend visiting and paying for one or all of the tours. But since the Jack Nicholson film was not filmed here, a short visit will suffice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Overpriced and poor service. Even though I booked through Expedia they did not have my reservation. Took about 45 minutes to check in.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IA

Historical warmth

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: The history and location. The view was fantastic.
Cons: The hotel needs to provide good, working fans in the rooms if historical classification precludes air conditioning.
Location: Rocky Mountain National Park and Estes Park provide plenty of opportunities.
The Stanley is a magnificent part of history and is beautiful. However, for over $400 per night in a non-air conditioned hotel in the summer time, it should be expected that the fans provided in the rooms work properly. All 3 members of our family indicated we were glad to have experienced the hotel but it was the worst night's sleep on our vacation.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel rooms under construction stay away!!!

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: Location and views.
Cons: Customer service, dishonestly, front desk behavior.
Location: Shopping, proximity to the park.
I booked the aspire double king bed room via Expedia. My parents were travelling all the way from India to visit the Rockies & stay at Stanley. Despite multiple touch points the hotel failed to inform me that the room I had booked has not even been constructed and that it is a 'hard hat zone'. It seems that the hotel deliberately decided to hide the information from me that the room I booked does not exist until the moment I arrived exhausted after travelling the whole day. They decided to put me up in two separate king bed rooms that too Non AC. I was travelling with my elderly parents who have medical conditions and need supervision and medication regularly. We had packed just 1 suitcase for this trip for all of us and we had not packed to stay in two separate rooms. Our entire vacation experience was ruined. We could not sleep at nights and that made our days very exhausting. My parents suffered a lot since they could not get any rest. I was extremely worried during the vacation about their health. We were feeling suffocated for the entire time there. I feel cheated by Stanley and Expedia. I booked a room that is still under construction. Expedia should have verified whether the room they are advertising and selling on their website exists or not in reality. Stanley should have informed us or Expedia about the rooms not being constructed in time and we should have been informed prior to our arrival and not after we arrived there. I feel duped as a customer. Unacceptable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very neat history. Location is very beautiful

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Found this hotel through Expedia, only by accident as Denver had 0 open rooms, so we ventured out. Really glad we did, cool experience
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix AZ

Hotel is "Historical"

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Pros: The view from the verandah of the Lodge Building.
Cons: The paint on the rear side could use some touch ups.
This hotel is Historical so I wasn't expecting it to be like a brand new Westin. With that said I knew when I made the reservation that it does not have the modern day amenities. I was in the Lodge Building. Those rooms are much smaller than the main building. The Lodge Building does have a nice library room where you can lounge if you need some more space. It also has a beautiful verandah out front with very comfortable chairs and ottomans! That was my favorite spot in the hotel. The coffee shop area was like a little Starbucks Express. The one thing the hotel didn't have is a gym but sounded like they have some local gyms you can use though I'm not sure if there was a fee. There is a great trail you can run/walk very close to the hotel that goes around Estes Lake. It was beautiful and just about 4 miles. All in all I enjoyed the stay. Does the hotel need some work... yes, but I felt they were working on improving.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

A real treasure

Posted Jun 25, 2016
History. Heritage. Haunting. The Stanley - one of our all time favourite hotels, the atmosphere, the ambience and a chance to step back in time. Great food, great people, great place. Thoroughly recommended.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Beautiful setting, spectacular view from the porch ,close to the national park, nice jogging trails nearby....very average food in Estes park as a whole.... Only problem was no air conditioning.... Got to 85 degrees in our room one night with no available window fans.....otherwise would highly recommend the Stanley hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

315 condo

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Great time! Rooms were a touch stuffy during the day, but no worries! Will be back!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisville

Awesome hotel but only the oxygen & wifi are free

Posted Jun 5, 2016
Nearly aborted my reservation after being told they wouldn't honor a $20 AAA discount on a $250 a night, room. After discussing, then eventually agreeing how losing $20 over losing $250 was the better bet for all, we got checked in & enjoyed a really neat hotel. Lots of history plus so many cool views, and things to check out. Of course you can not see everything there, without having to pay more money for a tour, but you can still see lots of interesting things. The hotel itself is beautiful. The ambience was second to none. Watch your wallet though.