Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel ever (but don't tell anyone)

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Best hotel I ever stayed in ... It's old, it's crooked, no bath/shower in room but rather shared, no TV in room (only one TV in whole hotel), the restaurant only serves an all-you-can-eat soup and salad bar, etc etc But, my god, it's unbelievably charming and cosy, nestled in the Rocky Mountains boasting a fantastic view, with reading corners all over the place, rustic library, board games, a mystery story attached to it, a quirky key collection sent in by guests all over the world (20,000 keys?!), humming birds swarming all over it, etc etc And those soups and salads were delicious, with freshly baked bread and muffins. After half an hour in the hotel my wife and I were already making plans to start a family tradition to return here ever year !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

Not so great...

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Everything else.
First the good - Great 3 course breakfast! Yummy food, excellent service. However: The room is tiny, and I think the bed was the original installed in 1917. If rustic is what you want, then this is the place. We had to share showers and bathrooms with the other guests (not a surprise, we knew that in advance), but the room itself was unpleasant. It smelled funny, they don't change the linens, and ours had a stained pillowcase. They also don't sweep the floors in the rooms. We had to wipe the dirt off of our feed when getting into the swayback bed, and there was a red smeared stain that was never cleaned up. If it was less expensive we might have been fine, but for hotel prices we felt taken.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Elaine from Raleigh

Great hospitality and location!

Posted Sep 24, 2014 on Hotels
Service at the Baldpate Inn was fantastic! Perfect location to RMNP and twin sisters trail head. The 3 course pumpkin breakfast was mouthwatering and our service was top notch! Highly recommend for a peaceful getaway.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Location: Lots of hiking.
Very rustic. No air conditioning. Smoke from the fire place came up to our room. Not good for allergies.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Connor from Wisconsin

First bed and breakfast experience

Posted Jul 4, 2014 on Hotels
The food was absolutely top notch. Be sure to take advantage of the free breakfast, you will not be disappointed! The staff was very friendly. The rooms were on the small side but the beds were very comfortable. It is an older establishment but it was very well maintained.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Quaint, rustic building with beautiful location

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Included above under experience
Cons: Can't come up with anything
Location: Included in experience
All of the staff that we experienced were very polite, helpful, and warmly friendly. The room was small but cute, with a fun view out of the window, viewing the city lights of Estes Park in the valley below. However, Estes Park is at over 7,000 feet. The inn is just a short walk away from a beautiful mountain lake that has 2 trails that circle the lake, with views of the snow capped Rockies. The breakfast was so fun. Fruit and muffin, quiche and bacon, huge cinnamon role, coffee, orange juice, and apple juice. And the inn is 10-15 minutes from the entry to Rocky Mountain National Park with Trail Ridge Road which climbs to over 11,000 feet. Many trails to hike including Alberta Falls which is amazing. One staff member Grant, if he is still around, because he is a college student was amazing. Very friendly, enjoyed talking with him, he described each part of our meal, encouraged us to move a cup of coffee that cooled off to another table and he'd be glad to bring a fresh hot cup. One of the staff brought my wife and I full length robes. A staff person at the front desk put had some brochures for us in the morning about activities in the area that we were asking about. So, a good choice. And yes we'd return, accept we live in Oregon 1,000 miles away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Beautiful rustic mountain lodge

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Had a great time. Friendly staff. Incredible breakfast. Will stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Scott

Friendly, great breakfast, near Longs, but old

Posted Sep 15, 2013 on Hotels
The staff is great and very helpful, although you need to ring the bell to find anyone. The breakfast can't be beat. They'll cook you a to-go breakfast at any time of the day/night for those who want to be on the mountains early or just want to sleep in. The location is ideal for those who want to go on any of the trails near Longs peak or just avoid the crowd in the town (a lake bypass road get you into Rocky Mountain National Park without entering the Estes Park traffic gridlock on holiday weekends). But, it is an aging historic building. It has character, but it also has very uneven floors, shared showers, out-of-date linens, and creaky beds. The benefits far outweigh the negatives though.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Walter from Wheelersburg

Beware this place is falling apart

Posted Sep 10, 2013 on Hotels
Never again would I stay in this old run down , dump! Food was okay