Ratings based on 541 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from QCA-USA

Cool, Mountain Lodge Resort Overlooking Estes Park

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: The property on the mountainside with beautiful vistas and scenic vantage points.
Cons: Plumbing and climate control?
Location: Seems isolated, up mountain road but really just few blocks from E. Park river walk. Offseason-everything closed but next door to water park & tram.
Just 1 night, early-March / off-season. Checked in late, after dark and it was VERY difficult to find the road up the mountain, even with gps - TIP: If unfamiliar with Estes Park, find it during daylight; much easier. Anyway, it was big, quiet, a little creepy, but, also a little cool because you could tell it was a place with a long history. We were in a basement room that looked recently updated. Although the entrance into the room was very narrow, past the kitchenette, it was surprisingly spacious - good floor plan / layout. Bed was comfortable but temp was a little warm. Couldn't control the old thermostat so had to use a ceiling fan. Noticed a lot of "knocking" from the ceiling and the water rushing through the plumbing was very loud - you knew when someone in another room had gone to the bathroom or was showering. Coffee on the deck the next morning offered a great view of Estes Park, Stanley Hotel, Rockies and a territorial feud between squirrels in the trees. Took a few minutes to walk the property before leaving and discovered it was a resort with many amenities, picturesque vantage points and photo ops. Imagined it might be nice place to stay during the peak season in Estes Park.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view, easy access to Rocky Mtn Natl Park

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Super staff. Made excellent recommendations for lunch and dinner. Evening fire in the lobby. Restaurant not open all week was only drawback.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Boston

Very great hotel for cheap price

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: Staff first and foremost. The decor is amazing in the lobby. The hot tub is incredible too. We loved our room as well, especially for the price we got
Cons: The only thing missing was lotion and conditioner (though the shampoo says "conditioning shampoo", it didn't exactly condition my hair).
Location: It's slightly elevated so you get an amazing view of the mountains. It's also extremely close to downtown's stores and restaurants.
We booked the hotel for an incredibly cheap price for a week and were very impressed with what we got. The staff were all incredibly friendly. The room was clean and had everything we could possibly need, especially in the kitchen, so when we bought groceries and made our food, we felt like kings. Attached is a restaurant called The View which also looked amazing but we had unfortunately already gone over our budget. But if you step outside, you get an incredible view of the snowy peaks since the lodge is slightly elevated. There is a hot tub from 8am-11pm which made our stay much more enjoyable. Their lobby is absolutely gorgeous and full of history. The pool room/library/DVD section is super cute too. Room cleaning is only done every few days, but we were completely ok with that since we find daily cleaning to be excessive, and the front desk told us repeatedly that if we ever needed anything to be done in the room, we could simply ask.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A relaxing lodge after day in the park

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Crag's lodge is a great place to stay after a tiring day at the Rocky Mountain. It's quiet, well-maintained lodge that offers a number of activities you can choose from. They have an activity room with pool table and hot tub to relax. It is also close to main streets of Estes Park and Donut Haus (good for breakfast)!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic charming hotel.

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Warm and inviting. It's as if you're at grandmas house in the mountains! Chef creates amazing dishes. It's very individualized experience. Highly recommend this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, Fl

Great time

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Even though I had a hard time to fins to hotel maybe because it was dark and it was nighttime, when I did finally get to it, Mike was at the front desk and he greeted us and was very kind and friendly. You feel right at home at this place. I loved that they had pictures of when the lodge first opened and that they had pictures from their staff saying dating back to 1927. I really did enjoy this. Jonathan over at the restaurant was very nice and he let us sample some of the beers and wine. I overall had a great experience and even though the location did it have air conditioning I went during winter and you soon find out that, you really don't need it at all. A few opened windows and you're good to go. I will definitely come back and stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great romantic get away

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: the Hotel has so much history about itself , very very charming to stay there.
Cons: its fine as is.
Location: the location is great for hiking in the rocky national park .
loved the room on the 3 rd floor . it has a sweet little kitchen that had everything that one needs for a few days away from home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver Colorado

new every-time destination

Posted Feb 15, 2017
this will be the hotel we intend to stay at first thing when planning a trip to Estes Park. Very helpful and friendly staff, adorable aesthetic, great views, HOT TUB
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

A highlight of our trip, our home away from home!!

Posted Feb 13, 2017
We were in CO to do some winter camping at Moraine Park CG but the February winds literally blew us away so we had to scramble for a Plan B: a bed and hot shower at a decent price. We found so much more!! After a rather exciting ascent up a super cool drive, we came upon The Historic Crag Lodge, our last minute Expedia deal and a little treat to ourselves. As the Lodge came into view, we were chuckling at a sign affixed to the Lodge greeting guests, it said 'Welcome Home' but as we were driving away after our SECOND non-budgeted night, we happily ate those chuckles as we fought back sniffles :) I assure you, friends, you will understand why after your first night, we could have stayed a month!! The building is charming, warm, and inviting with original hardwood floors, a large stone fireplace, old photos & antiques. We stayed in studio rooms with a queen bed, bath, and 'kitchenette' which was fully stocked!! Dishes, pots & pans, wine glasses, you name it.. a 2-burner electric stovetop, a FULL-SIZE coffee pot :) The bathroom was immaculate and there was even a warming light. They had beautiful artwork from hikes we had been on which was very cool. The bed was comfy, there were extra pillows and blankets in the closet. Our basement studio had a walk-out patio overlooking Estes Park sprawled below. The staff was INCREDIBLE, so accommodating, friendly, personable, & helpful!! They made us feel truly welcome!! It was an absolute pleasure & we will definitely be back! <3
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs

Nice hotel but the kitchenette was small

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: The bathroom was updated though small. The view was great! The staff was really friendly and helpful. It was close to town and Rocky Mountain Park.
Cons: Our room needs new furniture and carpeting.
Location: Close to Rocky Mt. Nat. Park and town with lots of shops and restaurants.
Everything in this room was quite small and cramped except for the TV which was a large 42 inch flat screen. The carpet looked dirty and dated. It sounded like furniture was being moved back and forth all night long in the room above us with loud thuds and scraping across the floor. The furniture was also dated.