Ratings based on 170 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from northern Michigan

Nice hotel and grounds

Posted Feb 18, 2018
Pros: The staff
Cons: Beach area and construction traffic as it was going by our room
Location: Located on north end of island, a car is recommended, set up your own boat tours to get a better service recommend Aquadisiac!
The hotel is very nice, staff very friendly and accommodating. Beach while nice had a lot of plastic both in the sand and in the water. Daily staff was raking the beach but just could not get it all. Not the fault of the hotel but was a turn off to wade in water or sit on the beach at least for me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 13, 2018
Beautiful property, friendly staff, safe and clean!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from michigan

Fabulous get away

Posted Feb 13, 2018
Excellent property along the Lines of a Ritz Carlton. The Villas err really well done and grounds were pristine. Lovely beach, pool and restaurant. Spa and health club were nice too
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stay Nowhere Else but Grand Isle!

Posted Feb 10, 2018
Cons: Skip the buffets On the nights they are offered and eat off the menu. Menu—day or night—was wonderful.
Beautiful property, luxurious condominium with all upscale amenities, but none of this would matter if it weren’t for the Grand Isle’s amazing staff. Any request was met with “of course, ma’am; we can make that happen”. AND a big smile! We made reservations to return before we even checked out!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Beautiful Resort

Posted Feb 4, 2018
The moment that we arrived, we were greeted by the friendly security guard. Kevica at the front desk check us in and was very friendly and provided us with detailed information. Our villa was beautiful and we felt right at home. Lots of seaweed on the beach from the weather. Staff worked to clean it up, but it seems like a never ending task, as soon as they would take, more seaweed would wash up. Staff could not locate the golf cart key, so we couldn’t rent a golf cart. We tried to book a couples massage only to receive a call to inform us that they only had 1 technician, so we had to cancel. The real kicker was when we booked a fishing trip, drove all of the way into Georgetown and our guide didnt show. We called the guide and he told us he called the resort the day before to cancel. The resort never informed us! The woman at the concierge desk was very rude and not helpful at all when booking our excursions. I felt as if I was inconveniencing her. Book the full day swimming with pigs tour, as the half day tour takes you to a knock off pig beach. Wish the concierge would have told us this. Resort was clean, although they never removed a golf ball that was under the bar stools the entire week (it wasn’t ours) Food was subpar and very pricey. If you are going to offer overpriced food, make sure the quality is there. Be sure to pick up groceries on your way in. Honestly, the pizza was the best thing on the menu. At the end of the day, you are in the Bahamas- enjoy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Asuncion

In Exuma,in the mainland, a beatiful hotel to stay

Posted Jan 27, 2018
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Everything was perfect. 10/10.
Location: Hotel is about 15 to 20 minutes from the airport. You have a golf course at the hotel, many restaurants around, 30 minutes from Georgetown.
We were in two rooms. 1212 and 6204. Both are great rooms. The first one is bigger, has two floors, a bigger jacuzzi, infront of the golf course and looking at the ocean. The second one is on the first floor, you get there by going up on the stairs and has a view of the marina. The pool and the beach are great. Foos was good. You have to make reservations for dinner. At the front desk the attention is excellent. I would like to say thanks to Obie. She was of great help to my son and I. There is a little shop next to the lobby where Gina shows all the merchandise. We bought there from juice to clothes and a beatiful map of the Bahamas. Every detail of the island is shown in it. We also brought up with us a little piggy that accompanied us all the way to home. We had a great time at Grand Isle Resort. Would definitely stay there again and would recommend to anyone interested in having a good time in Exuma to do the same. Obie help us to get in contact with Captain Mall of Triple A adventures and we saw the swimming pigs, the blue hole, iguanas and a hole that sent water up. We sailed from Baraterre. We also saw a big star fish. All staff are nice, attentive, polite and well trained. My son had so much fun here that is hard to describe. Obie recomended us places to have lunch, dinner and to visit through out the island. We are back home and sure it was our best vacation ever. Part of our heart and soul stayed there. While I write this I get goosebump.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn NY

Very unfriendly staff!

Posted Jan 27, 2018
The staff was horrible and the restaurant was overpriced and the food was marginal at best.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Be wary of miscommunication here

Posted Dec 26, 2017
Pros: Beautiful accommodation, wonderful furniture and decor. Excellently appointed kitchen. Very clean, except room also had sand fleas in sofa.
Cons: They need better food with more choices. The hamburgers and french fries were good, not much else to speak of. Dinner was awful and $170 for two.
Location: VERY remote. Not much to do. Snorkeling was disappointing, not many creatures to see. Golf was incredible.
Pros: -beautiful accommodation, mostly friendly staff, beautiful ocean location Cons: Paid $2700 to upgrade to an ocean view and could barely see the ocean; after promised a room on the ocean side, we were given a corner room, with a great view of adjacent construction! Wish I had saved my money because the only place to eat is at the restaurant and the food was VERY expensive and highly disappointing. Paid $100 for a cab to take us to grocery store; mediocre food and had poor choices and $400 bill. Be wary of cab prices: the reception will tell you $100 to town, but the cab drivers have a chart and can tell you exactly how much from this chart...our cab fares were $75 when the hotel said they would be $100. Be wary of the golf cart fees. Each villa seemingly has a golf cart for the use of the resident, however, they don't tell you they will put a $50 key fee and a $20 per day usage fee on your bill. Overall, very scheming. The last day of the stay, the reception was rude, however this was the first time ever in 10 days that someone was outright rude. Beware of sand fleas...very itchy and hard to avoid. Island in general: Exuma is very remote...not much to do, however, swimming with the pigs was a treat and a must-do. There aren't many restaurants and they require a cab ride. There isn't much to do if you aren't a golfer or beach hound. The golf course is incredible and challenging. There are snakes, however I understand they aren't poisonous. -
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Amazing stay at Grand Isle!!

Posted Dec 25, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: not much..maybe another restaurant choice as they only had 1 restaurant on the property, but we were told they are adding a second one very soon.
Location: do the full day boat trip to see all the great sites..swimming with pigs, iguanas, sand bars, celebrity homes, swim with sharks, etc, etc.
Had a great stay at Grand Isle..stayed in an ocean front room 12/16/17-12/23/17. Weather was perfect!! Staff were very nice and attentive to our needs. Did not see another resort even close to this one. Anyone who is staying elsewhere and sees Grand Isle probably is saying "I wish we were staying there!!"
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from las vegas

Nice condos but not a resort!

Posted Dec 20, 2017
Pros: Nice condos and landscaping.
Cons: Provide what is promised as a resort. Some staff were wonderful, but osome were clearly bored out of their minds.
Location: Location is quite pretty, but it is remote. Sandals is next door. You need to travel at least an hour to get to any other restaurants or shop or tour.
Paid for ocean view but originally got a ground floor condo with a view of a hedge! They moved us next day. Property had nothing. Restaurant is very limited and pretty awful. They were usually out of whatever looked decent on menu. They cancelled all “special events” no conch on conch night. No fire on beach on beach night. Too windy for other events. No power for Sunday and there was no where else to go. No attempt by hotel staff to inform us of plans. Almost an hour to main town with groceries etc. Thank goodness we had rented a car or we would have been stranded.