Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Beautiful view from the room balcony.

Posted Dec 27, 2016
We were greeted by a very friendly & funny gentleman. He spoke perfect English and gave us a short history of the town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Very convenient to port

Posted Oct 8, 2015
Our stay was unfortunately too short to fully enjoy this sweet town& surrounding area. Train station was a 10 min walk, 1 he. Trip to Rome. The staff was very friendly. Breakfast was plentiful & delicious.
5 out of 5
by Leonard from London

Posted Sep 22, 2015 on Hotels
very enjoyable stay with helpful friendly staff, and a clean room with a great sea view. Viva Hotel L'Isola!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Room with a view

Posted Sep 4, 2015
Pros: The view and the staff.
Cons: Some fresh fruit options at breakfast.
Location: Go to the beach!
We stayed at the Hotel recently and were very pleased with our room – it was spacious and had a stunning view of the sea and palm trees from our own balcony. The owner was very friendly and spoke far better English than I did Italian. He was also very helpful when I got a nasty mosquito bite – directing me to a pharmacist and checking the medication to make sure there hadn't been any confusion in translation. The breakfast room was lovely and bright, again with a sea view. There was a choice of cereal, pastries and the European's favourite cheese and ham. I would have preferred some fruit options but from my experience I know that's often not the case. Coffee was made to order from a proper barista machine.
4 out of 5
by Peter from Sydney

Great stop over.

Posted Aug 8, 2015 on Hotels
Great location for a nights stay away from Rome. Plenty of restaurant choices, close to the beach.
5 out of 5
by Sara

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 1, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Delightful

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Pros: Clean, great service, location, parking, breakfast
This hotel is adorable - great service, beautiful views from the rooms, easy parking and good breakfast. We spent the night there on the way back from Tuscany and before a noon flight out of FCO the next day. Santa Marinella was a perfect stop for this - picturesque and quiet with a small beach-town charm and a couple of great restaurants. It took us only about 40 minutes to get to FCO by car the next day. Everyone in this town seems very happy all the time, and the staff is no exception. We were treated great, from being allowed to choose our room to getting an awesome recommendation for dinner and directions to FCO. The view is beautiful because the hotel is right next to the beach and the sea is just lovely. The room was your typical European hotel room - all the basics with not too much fluff, but they were painted cute. A flower on the bed was a nice touch. Everything seemed clean and we had a good, quiet night's sleep. All in all, if you're looking to spend time in Santa Marinella, this place is the perfect option.
4 out of 5
by Leanne from Melbourne

Perfect place by the sea for stopover at Rome.

Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Hotels
Great surprise to find this hotel in such a lovely location. Value for bed and breakfast, and perfect spot to have an overnight stay before flying out of Rome airport. Lovely beaches to relax by and free parking. 45 minute drive to airport made it easy for us, rather than staying overnight at airport hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Lovely hotel with a beautiful view of the ocean. Our room was beautifully decorated and had a balcony in the back and one in the front. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A great place to stay - I'll certainly be back

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Pros: This was my first time at L'Isola, after 4 earlier visits staying in other places. Far and away the best - friendly, pleasant, beautifully situated
Cons: The fruit juices would make all the difference to breakfast if they were freshly pressed. Also, the loud radio of Italian rap was slightly incongruous
Location: GLEM restaurant and the icecream/cocktail bar at the kiosk on Piazza della Indipendenza nearby. 12 minutes to Molo21 for brilliant waters edge seafood
The hotel is in the old corner of Santa Marinella by the Odescalchi castle, over the grounds of which it has views to the sea. There was a warm welcome from Francesco - all his staff were just as friendly and interested in you, and it was a real pleasure to stay there. I was given a fantastic room with a terrace overlooking the wooded gardens and the sea, as well as a balcony facing onto the square. (The hotel proper has additional accommodation in adjoining houses on the square). The room and en suite shower were immaculate, well appointed, spacious and comfortable. At the height of two very hot days with no breeze on the beach, it was ideal for staying in, alternating between the cool inside and warmth in the sun or shade on the terrace. Breakfast modest but exactly right - including freshly baked rolls and croissants, fresh fruit etc. Good wifi and parking immediately outside. But be warned that if you are staying on Weds night, or coming/going on Thursday, there is a market, no car access to the hotel, and you have to find somewhere else to park. In the square outside there are three restaurants, a café that serves light food and a wine bar. There's a fantastic ice-cream and cocktail kiosk in the middle of the main piazza 3 minutes walk away, as well as the high quality Glem restaurant. If you forget to bring anything (corkscrew, glasses, bathing gear, anti-mosquito stuff) there's an Aladdin's cave shop on the Piazza as well as a supermarket round the corner.