Ratings based on 735 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Value

Posted Feb 14, 2018
Pros: Really good location and friendly patrons
Cons: It is always noisy and often there is no hot water.
The hotel is not the best, but for the price, it has a lot to offer.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Good location

Posted Feb 13, 2018
Pros: Beach was nice, service at the beach was very good
Cons: Manners, manners, manners
Location: Close to bus routes, shopping and restaurants
Staff at the front desk, (the older one) was unfriendly and rude. My friend misplaced his room key, the fellow at the front desk was not helpful in the least, making us feel guilty. The security guard had found the key outside the room door, but did not bother to knock on the door or return it to the front desk. We requested 2 queen beds, got one, towels were always in short supply. Pool area was unkempt, dirty and most of the chairs were broken.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from manitoba

It is close to the beach

Posted Feb 10, 2018
picturea need to be updated. There are no phones in the room. Fridge loud kept us awake. No kleenex. Had one facecloth that was taken away mid week and not replaced same as bath mat. One bed missing pillow cases and then they appeared mid week. Had a terrible sewer gas smell coming from shower drain. Elevator was hit and miss. When we arrived it wouldn’t stop at our floor so had to walk down one floor. Pool area not maintained. Waterfalls, hot tub, lights not in use and deck chairs were scarce. Area not cleaned entire visit. Definitely not worth the price we paid.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta

Worst hotel on the water.

Posted Feb 6, 2018
We checked in for 10 days on January 26, when we arrived the staff did not speak any English and did not seem to care at all. The room was dated, lube stain hand prints all over the painted accent wall behind the bed, badly stained sheets. The other room we saw was worse, so we decided to keep this room. The staff continuously treated us as an inconvenience, every time we interacted with them. The houskeeping was inconsistent, 3 of the days not receiving towels in our room. Bed sheets reused 4 of 10 days. Bedding was garbage and poorly arranged, no proper fitted sheet. There was a smell that can only be described as foul sewage that would develop from the bathroom overnight, very unpleasant. The water was shut off twice during our stay. The location used to make this hotel bearable, but even that doesn’t redeem this place anymore. The only decent part of this place is Luis who works on the beach, he’s been around for years and treats us like gold. Don’t stay at this hotel, but experience Luis’ service on the beach.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Avoid the Blue Chairs at all costs

Posted Feb 5, 2018
Pros: Location.
Cons: Essentially everything. The facility was terrible, staff rude and difficult, and management unresponsive.
Location: Most everything you’d be interested in doing is nearby, or a shiot walk away.
Worst hotel experience ever. They oversold the hotel, and insisted we take a lower class room with too few beds. While we stood in the lobby trying to correct this, other guests came down to complain similarly, and they (who happened to be Spanish speaking guests) were given a different room, leaving our problem unresolved. The first night we were put in a room without hot water, AC, TV, or working electrical outlets, and facing a loud pool party. The next day we finally got a room, but had to use a sofa as a bed for the week. We were promised comp’d nights for our inconvenience, but the manager conveniently “forgot” at checkout. Linens weren’t changed regularly, and towels and blankets routinly not delivered. When we went to the desk to ask for them, the were inevitably out every time. The AC only partially cooled the room, and there weren’t enough light fixtures to illuminate the room at night. There was hot water for showers only early in the morning, presumably before other guests used it all up. The included breakfast was a piece of toast and spoonful of fruit. No coffee. So we didn’t go back for it after the the first morning, obviously. We would have attempted to change hotels, but the entire city was sold out New Years week. Bottom line: the negative reviews are all correct. Although the location is good, there’s nothing else here worth coming for.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Posted Jan 22, 2018
Bathroom sink faucet was terrible Closet door was falling apart Gave me the wrong number of bed requested Elevator was out of service twice in a week I stayed WI-FI connection so horrible TV didn’t work
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This hotel needs lots of improvement

Posted Jan 22, 2018
This hotel needs overall cleaneses, some of the front staff are impolite with customers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Great view close to town

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Pros: The view and location and cost
Cons: they could use a chair in the room
Location: Right o the beach. safe gay friendly area.
We were on the 5th floor facing the ocean and the view was great. The room was clean and comfortable. The maids are really nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Great beach service!

Posted Jan 13, 2018
Pros: Beach, the view, the location and especially the service from Louis at the beachfront bar area.
Cons: The front desk. Very cold, dismissive, unfriendly. It's not hard to say 'welcome' , 'how is your visit' , etc... I
Location: beach access with bar, Palms Theater, close location to great restaurants.
Blue Chairs is directly on the waters edge. Location is ideal if you plan on spending a lot of time relaxing beach side. There is a bar, seats, umbrellas available to you as part of your stay. Louis, one of the wait staff is the kindest, caring person I have ever encountered. Your stay on the beach, sipping margaritas will be made all the better having Louis take care of you. Ask him for any recommendations. He is always spot on. Location is a very short walk to all the night life stuff and restaurants. A bit hilly, but plenty of taxis at the ready. This hotel is a great spot to stay, easy to get to. My only complaint is the front desk staff was very cold and unwelcoming. That could use an improvement.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location - but beware of very poor security

Posted Jan 12, 2018
Pros: Views, location, good size room with balcony
Cons: Security!
The hotel is in a great location right by the beach. If you do decide to stay (after comments below) I recommend getting an ocean view room as it is worth it, with lovely large balconies and a great view. The hotel has woeful security, which should be a priority for any traveller in the tourist areas of Mexico. My room was broken into, zip on suitcase broken and some cash. Fortunately for us, we were uneasy about the security situation after check in, so most of our valuables were stashed in our friends safe in a nearby hotel. This hotel has a lot of potential. My recommendation to management would be to treat the security issue as the number one priority including: -most importantly, restricting access to the hallways/stairwells/floors around the rooms. It seemed like any member of the public could just wander around; -fitting more sturdy doors and electronic locks (a number of them looked like they had been previously forced); -setting up video surveillance; and -ensuring there are operational safes in all rooms. With numerous alternatives nearby, I could not recommend this place until the hotel security has been significantly improved.