Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on the hill

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Kitchen, balcony, nice staff.
Cons: This hotel is on the hill right off the highway. The pool was noisy with the sound of cars and buses on the highway.
Location: Everything is a short walk from this hotel, however, coming back is a chore since it is up on the hill. You may even want to take a cab back!
Room was clean, staff were nice. The room had a small kitchen. Nice to have a fridge and freezer with ice! The view of ocean and city was great. I watched the fireworks on the bay from my balcony on Saturday night. I really liked the hotel, but if you don't like to hike, this could be a problem. The hotel is up on the hill and a real hike. Even once I was at the hotel my room was another 4 flights of stairs. There is no elevator.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Too many stairs

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Hotel overall not bad, but way too many stairs and too close to the highway. We stayed for 4 nights, was okay, staff very friendly and helpful but too many stairs to stay any longer. Good for few days.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Simple apartment hotel

Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
Casa Anita was good for what we needed which was a convenient hotel with a kitchen, modestly priced, and walkable to the downtown area. It is in Zona romantica (read: gay village) close to many excellent restaurants, bars, coffee shops. Very picturesque hotel built into the cliff - expect to get your daily workout with stairs - but the hotel is basic and could use some updates (hard beds and pillows, poor wifi, tiny pool, limited guest services). Was a good stay, clean apartment, but do not expect a luxury hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

great view, well complemented

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: view, location, how big the room was.
Cons: i would like less stairs. But that is not an option for obvious reasons!
Location: walking requires crossing of a busy road, then 5 minutes to all the things in old town and zona rosa you may want. Really good location for low noise
very nice, basic for the most part. Not luxury, but quite nice for the price. Probably due to how from the beach and restaurants. LOTS of stairs. I had a room below a family that had kids stomping or playing for hours. It was not pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Home of A Thousand Steps:

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Wonderful View. Very typical older Mexico Charm. Very Reasonable pricing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Excellent staff workers

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Great locatin above old town. 124steps to reception so must climb straight up to rooms so must be able to climb stairs daily up and down to beach, old town... great views from balconies
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Left after 1 night!

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
I prepaid for a week w/air, when I checked in they required us to pay more money for air and we had to change rooms. There's a lot of stairs, we didn't mind, but be prepared and if your tall, forget it! Two of the 3 pools weren't usable! An alarm went off for more than 15 hours, before we decided to check out after only one day. They claimed it wasn't their bldg, but we could hear it inside our room with ear plugs. The road noise is horrific, the laundry room was out of order, Internet didn't work, only 2 towels, if you wanted more you could buy them �, the safe in the room wouldn't close properly and good luck finding a taxi to town, we like walking, so worked out for us. But like I said we didn't stay over 24 hours. Really happy we found another place to stay. I can say the staff was nice!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and priced ok for what you get.

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
definitely not for the out of shape. room was very basic. everything that could open smelled very moldy when opened. view was spectacular. Staff was mostly distant. Not mean, just not friendly. Shower had great temp and water pressure, but also filled up with water immediately and then stunk. Maid cleaned very well, but then proceeded to put away and reorganized my things every day, which was kind of weird.
1 out of 5
by Laura from Denver

Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel had a good location; however it did not had air conditioning so it was very hot inside the room. We believed the mattres had bed bugs and requested a refund and manager did not agreed so we had to request another room and while i wait for this room to be ready which was a couple a days we sleept in another room in the same hotel with more family members well i got charged extra for being too many people in one room. Not a good experience at all.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Experience!!

Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed for 10 days and could not have been happier. Lots of stairs to climb but its so pretty along the stairways and hallways! They greet you and take your bags up, deliver bottled water to your room, and previous to my arrival they were incredibly helpful and cooperative in arranging for me to upgrade to a room with AC after I realized how hot it was going to be. The staff is wonderful, they exchange money for you there, and have delivery service available to your room for water, soft drinks, wine etc. The rooms are so lovely, with amazing views of the bay, traditional decor, fully stocked kitchen, wonderful shower and bathroom. The AC was excellent, the cleaning immaculate every day, nice towels, comfortable bed. I can not say enough positive about the experience there. The location is excellent, very close to centro and the beach and pier. Taxis are going by constantly or its a short walk downtown. Beautiful property that I highly recommend if you are visiting the old town area of Puerto Vallarta!