Ratings based on 323 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

For the $ it's a Deal

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: Price
Hotel was clean, staff polite, TV had 3 english stations, AC, and a safe. For $29 a deal! Easy 8 minute walk to the boardwalk.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from f

It worked for what I needed - I would stay again

Posted Apr 30, 2017
It was my first time in puerto Vallarta and I needed something close to old downtown that was affordable - they didn't have my reservation when I arrived but good thing I printed my Expedia page - they were a little funky about me having a guest in my room - they wanted him to leave an ID for a friendly visit - very off putting - but I'm easy going
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Overland Park, KS

Wonderful staff...but really, really noisy!

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: The location was great...close to the beach, and walking distance to grocery places and the Cathedral of Our Lady if Guadalupe.
Cons: There is not much anyone can do about the noise levels. If you want a quiet place, stay elsewhere.
Location: The beach is close by, as are numerous places to buy groceries. The Cathedral of Our Lady of Guadalupe is a 15 minute walk.
I was in Room 7 for a five night stay. At check-in, the agent could not find my reservation at first, but he found it after realizing that I had a long name! Even though I had prepaid for the room on Expedia, he made me get an authorization on my credit card and sign the receipt. Thankfully, he gave me a copy that I put in my wallet. The rate was much, much cheaper than the rate Expedia had charged me and upon my return home, Expedia refunded the difference. The room is small, but quaint, the bathroom is small, but the shower area is rather large. I had no issues with water temperature or pressure. The room came equipped with a large refrigerator, dishes, utensils, hot plates, and even a frying pan. There was even a microwave! I was impressed. There are stores locally where you can meals, sonthis saved me a lot of money. The room had a large ceiling fan and a window air conditioning unit that operated quietly and kept the room comfortable compared to the sauna-like conditions outside. The problem was the noise from outside. As late as 3:00 a.m. cars and pickup trucks went by with their Mexican music blaring out thei windows and into my room. In addition, in early morning, trucks with public address speakers went by blaring announcements in Spanish about restaurant meal specials and other sales. The air conditioner being on did not lesson the sound. There was also a woman down on the street opposite of the hotel, selling pirated DVD movies with two constantly barking dogs.
5 out of 5
by Christina

Great stay!

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Hotels
My husband and I stayed at Belmar for 4 days during a recent trip to Puerto Vallarta. The hotel was very centrally located, about 4 blocks to the Malecon and very close to downtown. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful, and the rooms were very clean. It's a fairly basic hotel (definitely no frills) but it was perfect for a young couple that didn't mind going up 4 flights of stairs multiple times a day :) I would absolutely stay there again.
5 out of 5
by James Rodriguez from Los Angeles

lazy days trip!!

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Hotels
my stay was excellent!!!
4 out of 5
by David

Small but central

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Small but functional suite.
5 out of 5
by Donna

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel very clean great staff everything was good.
3 out of 5
by Ralph

Close to everything.

Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
The only problem is the noise on the lower floors. The first night we stood on the top floor and there was no noise. The next night we stood on the second floor and we can hear everything going at the front desk.
5 out of 5
by carrie

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
Beds where the best in Mexico! Very clean!
4 out of 5
by Chad

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly staff.