Ratings based on 620 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florence Oregon Coast

Clean hotel, right on the beach in old town

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: location, location, location. Great pool right on the beach, best restaurants in town within just a block, great friendly staff
Cons: the pool closed at 8:45 each night, it would be great if it was left open till 11ish. Wouldnt need bar service, but just an evening swim after dinner
Location: amazing restaurants all over this area. There is no need for an all inclusive when you come to PV, seriously good dining downtown.
We booked this trip with just 3 days notice. We have been to PV in the high season a bunch of times and always stay on the beach in old town, sometimes thru Expedia and sometimes thru VRBO. This was our 1st time in low season and wondered what it would be like, but the price couldnt be best for a quick getaway for a week. If you are looking for a time of year that you can hike all over and do lots of things, this isnt it. But if you want to lay by the pool and beach, and walk 2 doors down the beach to 3 of the best restaurants in PV and have no trouble getting in at anytime of day or night...then give low season a try. Ive checked out the Tropicana a few times on other trips and always wanted to stay here, and it didnt disappoint. Great staff, VERY clean rooms, quick pool drink service. All in all we give them an A+ and will be back. During high season it would probably be a different experience, when the hotel is packed full..,but our experience was great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brownsville, TX. 78520

I would stay there again

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Overall it is a good hotel to stay. The pool is nice. The hotel is right in the beach. Stores and restaurants are near the property. Everything is in a half mile radiius.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2017
nice location clean premises hotel staff seemed distant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from el paso

Good locationg

Posted Sep 9, 2017
The hotel is in good location the outdoors are exelent but the room needs. A lift. Starting with ac and tv
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from las vegas

Got my money stolen!!!!!

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Hello everyone, I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights, everything was perfect. The hotel is very nice/clean and the staff is very friendly. But the night before check out, there was money missing from my wallet that I had left inside my hotel room. i left momey in my wallet and was gone all day since I went on a cruise to a island. I came back around 7pm and I noticed my money was gone. I went down to the lobby and told the receptionist what had happened. He told me to look around the room one more time and if I don't find it, I can make a report in the morning before I check out. I never found my money so I went to check out and asked to do a report. The security was not very helpful and did not give me any info. All he said was that he was going to do an investigation and ask the room service lady if she knows what happened to my missing money. I had to leave soon to the airport for my flight and I never got a response nor a call back from anyone in the hotel. I came back to look for him before I left and he was gone. All the staff said was that they don't know about any report but they will call me when they talk to the security because the did not know where he went. Sounds fishy to me. Bottom line is I was with left with no money thanks to who ever took it!! Horrible experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by Dear Alma , Hotel Management
Hello First an apology for the inconvenience caused, the security chief did the ivestigacion and the questions to the staff that went in to clean but nothing was found, it is also important that you know that the hotel has a safe and is not responsible for money or valuables NOT deposited in it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Quebec

Fun,fun,fun

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Just great experience all around.Great ,Great people working there,a experience in petsonnal , friendlyness,care very poilite.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from heber ca

Terrible customer service

Posted Jul 13, 2017
My A/C didnt work i reported it to front desk and they never came to fix it, the next day i slept with no a/c it was super humid and hot outside, i had family swetting i had to open sliding door but it was worst never ever staying in that hotel in my entire life, Dont recommended at all!!!!!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well kept hotel on the beach with two pools.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
We had a balcony room with a terrific view of the beach and water. Very large rooms and the maid was wonderful. Quaint hotel with nice inexpensive restaurant.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Pay more n stay in a better hotel

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Tropicana hotel was dirty, beds had sand, bathroom were dirty and old, swimming pool was dirty with a lot of bugs. Found cockroaches by stairs and ants in the bathroom. Would never stay at this hotel. Playa los arcos is a better hotel couple blocks away .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not a good choice

Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
old hotel and not very friendly.