Ratings based on 166 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Couldn't be happier choosing this hotel!

Posted Jan 18, 2018
Pros: The stunning colosseum views
Cons: Update the bathroom a little
Location: Everything in Rome at your doorstop! Everything was so nearby we only used the train was to get to the Vatican! and the gelato store opposite is great
For the price you pay this hotel is an absolute gem! The staff were pleasant, the rooms were clean, breakfast was tasty and the views were incredible, we could see the colosseum from our bedroom and the breakfast balcony! The room was smallish but for the price we paid, and the fact that we were too busy out eating pizza to sit in a hotel room! Would 100% recommend.
2 out of 5
by Tina

Never again!!!

Posted Jan 5, 2018 on Hotels
There was no tv in the room. It was freezing cold and no thermostat. The phone was broken and the shower doors don’t shut all the way which makes an incredible mess. The bed was hard as a rock.. the water from the sink did not get hot, just lukewarm. Will not go back there
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2018 by Nora C., Hotel Management
Dear Tina, Thank you for your review but I am very surprised by your comment. I would therefore like to clarify some details; - the room you chose was "Massenzio" and although it is among the smaller ones, it is equipped with all the services. - Specifically, the TV is on the wall, infront of the bed, the room is heated or cooled by the air conditioner and the phone is on the bedside table. - No customer has ever complained about the absence of hot water in the entire hotel. And at last I would like to add that I have not received any reports of malfunction or complain from you during the 2 days of your stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, clean hotel

Posted Oct 12, 2017
This hotel is in easy walking distance to the Colosseum, Roman Forum, Palatine Hill, etc. The hotel is clean and safe (door is locked with a buzzer system). The room is small, but exactly what you would expect in a European hotel. The staff was friendly and the complimentary breakfast was fine for starting off our day of sight-seeing. There's an awesome view from the rooftop bar/patio. My only complaint was that the mattress was really stiff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from aberdeen

Great hotel and fantastic location

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: The hotel is clean very friendly has good air conditioning a excellent roof garden where you can enjoy a good breakfast or just a drink at night.
Cons: Me personally I have no complaints about anything
Location: Great 5 min from the colosseum and some great restaurants 15 min walk to city centre or 15 to the main train station
We stayed here last year and were more than happy to return this year it was good to see the staff had not changed and even remembers us very friendly and helpful
4 out of 5
by Colleen Coates from Winnipeg Canada

short stay with kids

Posted Jul 4, 2017 on Hotels
everything was great. We checked in middle of the night no problem. only issue was the beds. very uncomfortable because they were hard and pillows very thin. otherwise excellent place. would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beaumont, Texas

8 minute walk to the Colosseum

Posted Jun 13, 2017
Pros: Customer Service
Cons: Larger Bathroom and shower room
Location: 8 minute walk to Coloseum, 30 minutes walk to Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, the food court and the souvenir shopping strips. Very good location
This hotel was nice, they hold our luggage prior to checking in for free. Customer service was very good, 24 Hour attendant on their desk. The room was clean, its on the smaller side though. The bathroom is small as well. If you are on the heavier/bulkier side, you might want to check other hotels. As far as I know most of the hotels in Italy are like this unless you book a hotel that is on the higher price.
3 out of 5
by Raymond

Convenient location but the room is small and old

Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
We spent one night in this hotel. It is close to the major tourist area. The room is very small and the equipments are old. The bed is not comfortable.
3 out of 5
by Oswaldo

OK for the Price

Posted May 31, 2017 on Hotels
The location of the Hotel was good, within walking distance or a short subway ride from many major sites, especially the Colosseum and Forum. Breakfast was free (although a little small) and served outdoors, on a nice roof terrace with a view, especially pleasant on nice days. The room was generally clean and a decent size (for Europe) and had a balcony. AC functioned well. TV was very small and placed too high (although one should not be Rome to watch TV anyway). But the mattress was not good at all and the bathroom had a strong smell of mold. Cleaning staff did not provide fresh towels everyday when they cleaned the room. For the price it was not a bad experience, but I persoanlly would not stay here again. OK for a short stay for solo travel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal

GOOD LOCATION appartment dirty dishes dirty

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: clean better
Location: coliseum, roman ruins
good location and service but the appartment kitchen was dirty dishes dirty, dusty
2 out of 5
by samantha

Great location, but would not return....

Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
My husband and I made a last minute itinerary change for our last two nights in Rome, so we booked knowing that the room would be average (it was last room available), but the location great. Both true, but the rooms were below-average in terms of cleanliness and comfort. Small rooms are a given in Rome, but our sheets were really rough and there were stains on the comforter (very gross) and even a few stains on the white sheets. Half the staff were nice and accommodating, but some were very frustrating to deal with (rude about check-out, actually asking us to be out earlier! and skeptical when we mentioned our sheets were stained). Location was perfect, but we would not stay here again.