Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Steven

Posted Dec 5, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2017 by Laura, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you!
4 out of 5
by Kerry

Posted Nov 4, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017 by Laura, Hotel Management
Thank you Kerry!
4 out of 5
by F C

A City Pad

Posted Oct 3, 2017 on Hotels
I am becoming a real fan of serviced accommodation. It keeps the prices down and gives you flexibility. The apartment was incredibly central and about a 30 minute walk to the main sights in Rome. I slept really well as the bedroom was very quiet - the bed was very comfortable - I think it was a memory foam mattress. Water and snacks were replenished every day as were the bathroom towels. There were nice Molton Brown products in the bathroom. The kitchen wasn't huge - no room for a toaster, kettle or microwave but there was a fridge, hot plate and Nespresso machine. Also some English speaking channels on the tv. The staff were helpful and really friendly. A supermarket and lots of cafes and clothes shops on the doorstep. I would definitely stay there again next time I am in Rome.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017 by Laura, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, we are really impressed by your good review! Your description is a demonstration of our hard work and for this all our staff would like to thank you! We hope to welcome you in future, kind regards The Managment
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Laura, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for the good score! Best regards
5 out of 5
by Richard

Excellent in all ways

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
Great value for money. Superb location. Very comfortable. Highly recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Laura, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review! We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay, we hope to see you very soon in our property! Best regards
1 out of 5
by david

Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Hotels
The room was nothing like the pictures. The living area was dirty, the sofa was covered with a layer of accuumulated stains and dirt. The area rug was so filthy that we moved it. The kitchen table was crazed and in poor condition. The maid service was tardy and every day about 2-3 PM when we were eating or resting. The maid refused to come back at another time. She left some supplies and never reappeared. In fact the last day we had to buy toilet paper. The internet was sporadic.We considered moving but had prepaid, our mistake. The management acknowledges that the apartments are in need of renovation. Very poor value, after looking at other apartments in the area that we considered moving to.The best thing that can be said was the excellent location, but that does not make up for the condition. We are experienced travellers and have never experienced such a poor condition property given the money.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Laura, Hotel Management
Dear Mr David, we are very sorry to know that your stay has been disappointing. We work hard everyday, and if something could have been done to make your stay better, we would like to have the chance to do it. You were most of the time inside your apartment, so it was diffucult for us to understand the right moment to clean up your room, as we did not want to disturb. We usually never have complains about cleaning service. Anyway we will seriously take in consideration your comment. Best regards, The Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Excellent location and good value for the price

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: Location. Staff. Price
Cons: Slightly dated decor
Location: Adjacent the Corso and close to major attractions
This is a good sized hotel located in a great area of Rome. You can walk easily to the Spanish steps, piazza de populi and even the Vatican. It has everything you need but is a little dated, albeit very clean. Noise was not a problem and staff were very helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by The Management, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs Louise, we'd like to thank you for spending some of your time writing this comment. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay, and we take in consideration your remarks, renovation will begin shortly! Hoping to welcome you soon, best regards
4 out of 5
by Tanya

Convenient Hotel

Posted Jan 12, 2017 on Hotels
We very much enjoyed our stay, the rooms are very spacious with the added bonus of a lounge room. The nespresso machine was a great added bonus for your morning coffee.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for nice comment! It is really a pleasure when we succeed in our main goal.. guests satisfaction! We hope to welcome you soon on your next trip to Rome! Best regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what I expected and what's advertise online.

Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
Room was dirty when we got there, for 3 days it didn't get cleaned up. We had no toilet supplies for 2 days, we had to buy our own. Toilet didn't flush, we had no hot water, it was lightly warm or cold. They offered two beds and it was only one and a hard sofa bed, everything was old inside the rooms. We complained and nothing Was done. Make sure you watch your charges, I had surcharges that I couldn't get an explanation about it. The only thing great was the area, it's perfect and close to everything. I would never go back to this Hotel, but Rome was Beautiful so I will go back!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for writing your comment, it gives us the chance to make some explanations. Cleaning service is provided everyday, and we usually never have complains as other reviews shows. We personally came into your room to give you toilet paper as soon as you told us. But we never received any complain by you for hot water. We also do not have your personal credit card, so any extra charge has been done from our hotel, we invite to contact Expedia for more details. Guest satisfaction is important for us and we remain always at your disposal for any information. Kind regards.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
So a one bed apartment about two steps of the main high street of Rome. It was not noisy either. Is great location. Kitchen too small for anything but breakfast and possibly lunch but we ate out at some of the many local great restaurants. Is 5 minute walk to the Spanish Steps literally. 10 to the Fontana de Trevi, so could easily see in the evening. Colosseum easy 20 minute walk. Would go there again. Area not rowdy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are happy to know that your stay was good. Hoping to welcome you again very soon! Best regards