Ratings based on 1,020 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent hotel

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Excellent location , beautiful hotel with character, staff was extremely helpful and nothing was too much of the problem , would deffinitely reccomend !
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los Angeles

Good location

Posted Jan 10, 2018
The hotel is in a good location (10min to Trevi and Spanish steps) but it’s overproced for what you’re getting. The bed is compact but the shower would leak all over the floor. There is no coffee maker in the room and breakfast is $50 a person. For $250, we have stayed at better hotels in Rome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Posted Jan 6, 2018
Overall we had a very good experience and nice stay at the hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

BEST HOTEL

Posted Dec 31, 2017
Pros: SERVICE, STAFF, FOOD, ROOMS, BATHROOMS.Everything is comfortable and luxurious and fabulous.
Cons: nothing
Location: Great location, close to Spanish Steps but not too close to that the crowds would bother you. Fantastic restaurants around the corner. Great shopping
This is a 5 star hotel in every way. It felt like old world glamour and service, as though we had arrived on the Titanic. We would recommend this hotel to all our friends and family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A lovely and well run establishment.

Posted Dec 30, 2017
Pros: Great staff, comfortable room, central location.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind.
Location: Centrally located across the street from the Borghese Park, short walk or cab ride from all major sights.
We spent a week spanning Christmas at the Hotel Splendide Royal and were expremely happy with all of the aspects of our stay. The hotel and rooms have a Roman Baroque style, so if you're into sleek contemporary, look elsewhere. But if your are into lush, richly appointed comfort, look no further. Our room on the second floor was well laid out and equipped. The housekeeping service was attentive and well done. There were no issues whatsoever with noise or malfunctions or lack of cleanliness. The staff is always appropriately friendly and very helpful. Whether suggesting restaurants or giving advice on things to do, they were "spot on." We got stuck on Christmas Eve near one of Rome's well concealed but well regarded restaurants. After several attempts to get the restaurant to contact a taxi for us, I called the hotel and asked for their help. In less than 15 minutes, the taxi arrived to take us to the hotel. A seriously high level of service The breakfast buffet is plentiful and varied. It is clearly designed to meet the early morning eating needs of guests from all regions of the globe. The hotel location is great. The Borghese Gardens and Gallery are across the street and all of the major attractions are no more than a 15-20 minute cab ride and many (the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain) are within 1 10 minute walk. Out of the hubbub but giving easy access to everything you might want to see. I highly recommend the Hotel Splendide Royal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Montreal

This hotel is really splendid

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Pros: We had a suite with a verandah - and a view of Vatican + Villa Borgia park. Room was spacious and very well furnished. Nice touch: art photo books!
Cons: Restaurant pricing
We stayed 4 days and the whole experience was excellent. Absolutely no complains whatsoever. The only negative remark is their restaurant - their prices seemed unreasonably high. But abundance of excellent restaurants around compensated fully. The rest was 120%! Hotel staff was extremely helpful: we got restaurant advice and it was 100 out of 100. OpenTable app is not very effective in Rome so front desk advice replaced that fully. I hope hotel management would read this review and passes to its staff this well deserved praise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from israel

Excellent location, breakfast is fabulous

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Everything is excellent: service, breakfast, location, cleaning. One thing should be improved: a bit of renovation is needed. The matris was not flat enough and pillows could be more soft. There is no option to make cofee/tee in the room which is very common nowadays.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Comfortable hotel

Posted Nov 30, 2017
High level of service, and all staff were friendly. Opportunities for improvement include eliminating fees for local calls and adjusting costs for room service, which seemed higher than hotel norms (eg, €7 for an espresso).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Fantastic Experience

Posted Nov 28, 2017
My wife and I just spent four days in a superior room and loved it. It was elegantly decorated and spacious. The staff was the best part of the whole experience. Extremely professional and gracious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Peterborough Ont

Week in Rome

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Pros: The staff werre super helpful and friendly.
Cons: The Hotel should equip the room with a kettle or coffee maker and supplies.
One of the nicest stays in a downtown hotel we've experienced. The room had lovely high ceilings, a very comfy king sized bed, and a spa-like bathroom.