Ratings based on 867 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from F

Unhelpful staff

Posted May 18, 2017
Arrived with rental car. They immediately criticized and belittled us. Fortunately, we had already secured a parking garage, because they obviously were not only not helpful. They had no knowledge of it, and continued to tell us how stupid we were for having a rental car. They also bullied us by saying they would call the Police. Staff did not even offer to help move bags out, and continually got in the way on purpose by keeping the elevators tied up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

Fantastic hotel in superb location

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: There wasn't one thing I didn't like. It's old and beautiful but with every modern comfort you could possibly want. The staff were charming.
Cons: Nothing needs improving. It's a perfect gem just as it is.
Location: Situated at the Pantheon it's perfectly located to reach all the attractions. Rome is a walking city and you need to walk to get the best from it.
This hotel is absolutely perfect, situated a stone's throw from the Pantheon. It's a beautiful hotel with a roof terrace looking out over the square. The vibe is so vibrant and yet once in your room surprisingly quiet. I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

We loved this Rome Hotel

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: Intimate size, personal service, beautifully decorated, Private bar and roof top terrace, excellent breakfast choices. location,location
Cons: nothing. It was beyond our expectations.
Location: Pantheon 10 sec away, Bernini's elephant 30 seconds, Piazza Narvone 10 minutes, Trevi fountain 10 minutes , forum 20 minutes.
We chose this hotel because of its central location, I have had some mobility issues and needed to be close to taxi services and a place I could people watch while my traveling companion went to see the further sights. The roof top terrace and lobby windows facing the piazza seemed ideal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Amazing location, staff and hotel.

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: Location. Interior. Breakfast. Staff. Almost everything!
Cons: Iron in the room. Better hair drier. Roof top bar open until the time it is supposed to be.
Location: Everything is walking distance. Trevi fountain, Spanish steps, castle, Vatican, colluseum, villa borghese, and of course the pantheon. Amazing.
The location is unbeatable. Walking distance to all major attractions. The staff were very polite and helpful. The hotel is absolutely beautiful. There a great restaurant next door. Would definitely stay again. Only downsides were small points: hairdryer is not powerful so would recommend bringing your own; there's no iron in the room and the ironing service is expensive so again bring your own if you need it; the roof top bar is advertised as open until 23.30 but it closed at 22.30 every night we went.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Best location in Rome

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: location, rooftop bar, warm and generous staff
Cons: Would have loved a better view from our room.
The staff went above and beyond, even surprising me with a bottle of Prosecco in my room as they learned of my birthday which took place during our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

In the heart of history

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: They take security seriously. They ask that you turn in the room key at the front desk each time you leave in order to better control access.
Cons: A bit more closet space and real orange juice at breakfast.
Location: Everything! Walk to the Pantheon, Trevi Fountain, Victor Emmanuel monument, Colosseum, Vatican, Ara Sacra (cat sanctuary), etc., etc.
The Albergo del Senato looks out across the Piazza Della Rotonda and directly onto the amazing Pantheon. It is in the heart of the Centro Istorico, within easy walking distance of many of the most iconic sights of the Eternal City. The hotel is in excellent condition, richly appointed wth marble and brass, and clean and comfortable throughout. The staff are friendly, welcoming and efficient, and they were unfailingly attentive to any of our questions of requests. Our room on the third floor looked out over the side street and the Parthenon. Well-insulated windows shut out the street noise, which can be considerable as the piazza attracts a lot of visitors: tourists by the hundreds, street hawkers peddling their wares, buskers playing music of singing opera, and the local Romans who are trying to live their lives among the chaos. The bed was large and comfortable, the bathroom was all tile and marble, the lighting in the room ample to the visitors needs. Storage and closet space are a bit limited, but that's not unusual in city centre hotels. On offer each day at breakfast we're scrambled eggs and bacon, a variety of fresh breads and pastries, and the typical continental assortment of local meats, cheeses and fruits. There is a small bar off the main lobby and another on rooftop, where it's possible to bask in brilliant sunlight six floors up and look out across the charming rooftops of the central historic district.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Centrally located hotel

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, clean rooms, and amazing view.
Location: We were able to walk to everything from this hotel. IF we were tired, there was a taxi stand right across the street.
This hotel was above our expectations. Staff was friendly, courteous and helpful. Rooms were very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from northern CA

Very nice hotel at the pantheon

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Perfect location to visit all Rome sites. Taxi stand across the square. Great food within walking distance. Hotel staff was very nice and cared about our excursions and provided good advice on which travel agency to use to purchase last minute skip the line tickets. Front desk staff were very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Excellent hotel within walking distance of major attractions with plenty of good restaurants nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston/

Albergo del Senato is a wonderful hotel.

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: The helpful staff, the perfect location right by the Pantheon, the clean rooms, the ample breakfast, the lovely stairway.
Cons: All I think that of is that the TV was smaller than usual and didn't have quite as many movie channels as we would have liked.
Location: It's a lively square all day and into the night, near the Pantheon and lots of restaurants and other lively piazzas. It's a bit far from the metro.
The staff at Albergo del Senato are all completely professional about helping their guests in every way possible, yet even while they are efficient and thorough, they also have a warm, charming sense of humor that makes dealing with them a pleasure. The rooms are perfectly clean; ours wasn't huge, but it was well laid out and everything worked right. We asked for a quiet room, so rather than putting us on the side facing the square, they gave us a room that faced the inner courtyard, with a nice little balcony.The breakfast was lovely. The two wired computers in the business area let us access the internet easily. All in all, a great hotel for the money.