Ratings based on 173 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Good location

Posted Jun 4, 2013 on Hotels
We were two tourists in our twenties. The good: great location, everything was walkable. Most people at the front desk were nice. It's on a busy street, but the windows blocked out the noise and the black out shades kept the room dark. The bad: we didn't realize there was an elevator for a while and walking up to the 4th floor after walking all day was rough. The shower wasnt great. The bed was very hard, and the breakfast was very basic. Overall for the price and location, it was a clean decent hotel. We booked knowing we were going to be out all day. If they updated the beds a bit I would have given it a better review.
2 out of 5
by bviabe from Virgin Islands (Br)

Excellent location but 1* hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2012
Pros: Its location and one member of staff
Cons: Its breakfasts and another member of staff
Location: Well located, on via Nazionale, between Termini and historic sites. near Intimate restaurants, bus stops and bank. Street entrance not easy to find.
Very secure - claimed to be accessible at any time Very small elevator hidden to one side of huge lobby shared with other small hotels in large building. The handful of staff include English speakers and one was very helpful, but another one seemed to count every item we took from a very basic continental breakfast (machine dispensed tea & coffee for 50c at other times). No toiletries provided. Small room had en suite bathroom. Satellite TV in Italian only. Suitable for students wanting somewhere to sleep near the historic sites, but we are a mature couple who want more comfort on holiday.
1 out of 5
by Penny from New Zealand

Okay hotel in rome

Posted Aug 14, 2012
Pros: Location
Cons: Staff and noisyness of the room
Location: Only a 5 min walk to train station and walking distance to main attractions metro is close but we didnt use it as everything was walkabke
The main thing that was a positve about the hotel was the location, but thats once you find it as like the other reviews mention it is quite tucked away and hard to find. Rooms very noisy and average service from staff.
1 out of 5
by Ro loves to travel

Think carefully before staying here

Posted Jun 4, 2012 on Orbitz
When we arrived we definitely like the location however we would have rather stayed on the outskirts of town then at this hotel. Our room's bathroom had a moldy/musty smell that made us sick - we could not go into it the first couple of days without covering our face to not gag. We requested to move rooms but they said they did not have one. After the second night during the middle of the night the air conditioning unit leaked water all into my bag. Again we asked if there was anyway for us to move and they said they couldn't move us, although the front desk staff never looked up from thier facebook while talking with us. Our room was facing the common area and all night and the groups that were staying there were very loud and came in pounding on doors and yelling. I am not sure if the rest of the rooms are like this but our room was #4.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

okay enough

Posted Jun 1, 2012
Loud during the night if your room is facing the main street. Other than that, it's great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by kjahewitt

Good value in a good location

Posted May 25, 2012 on Orbitz
My husband and I stayed here on an anniversary trip to Italy. The staff was very nice and let us drop our luggage off early when we arrived. The room was ok---nothing special, but clean and sufficient for our needs. The bed was two twins pushed together, which was a little uncomfortable. The continental breakfast provided every morning was good. While it is not very close to most of the major attractions, it is right next to a Metra stop, which makes it very easy to get to other areas of town. Also, the train from the airport arrives about a 1/2 mile from the hotel, which is convenient. There are plenty of good restaurants and shops in the neighborhood.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Doha, Qatar

Horrible hotel

Posted Nov 12, 2011 on Hotels
Location and service of the staff was great but the hotel facility was horrible. Hotel is in the 3rd floor of a multi-hotel complex. In the ground floor there's reception area but the lady there is horrible. It was raining so I was waiting for my husband to bring the umbrellas from the room and the lady at the reception insisted I couldnt wait by the door, I had to go up to the 3rd floor by my hotel or stay outside by the street under the rain. She was flat out rude. The hotel room was very small and noisy. The decorations were from the early 80's and to get Internet you had to go to the breakfast area. Breakfast was very limited and you had to cross the breakfast area to get to the rooms. I will NOT be staying here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Alius Hotel - great value for money

Posted Oct 17, 2011 on Hotels
Alius Hotel was terrific value for money given the price of most Rome accommodation. Located just a 2min walk from a metro station, it was easy to get around Rome. It was also just a 10minute walk to Termani station which made it easy to get to/from the airports. If you are feeling fit then its a 30min walk (up and down a few hills!) to the spanish steps/most tourist attractions. The staff were helpful and the room clean. would recommend this hotel to friends as it was terrific value for money in an expensive city!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Great little hotel in Rome

Posted Oct 14, 2011
Alius Hotel is very small and a little hard to find in its building, but it's a great place to stay. Via Nazionale is within walking distance of Termini train station and right in the heart of Rome. The staff is very friendly and helpful - our luggage took 2 days to arrive and they helped us call the airline and spoke to them when we couldn't get anyone who spoke English. There is free wi-fi in the lobby (doesn't reach to the rooms). Our room was small but very clean and comfortable. The only downside is that Via Nazionale is a very busy street and noisy all night. Overall, though, I would recommend Alius Hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Alius - conviniently located

Posted Oct 10, 2011 on Hotels
The hotel was a little confusing to find at first but once we found it we really enjoyed the location. It is only a few blocks from the Main Train Station and around a mile from the major attractions (Colosseum, Parthenon). The amenities were adequate, Breakfast was included small but enough. We were able to walk everywhere from the hotel. The staff was pleasant and someone was always available if needed.