Ratings based on 173 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, Florida

Good location, but not good conditions

Posted May 17, 2016
The room was dirty and used, when we arrived after 12 hours of travel. That first impression was terrible for us we were so tired and in top disgusting for this room welcomed
2 out of 5
by Rebecca from Calgary

terrible hotel in a good location

Posted May 8, 2016 on Hotels
We were struggling to find a decently priced hotel in a good location. We had low expectations coming in, but this hotel was just not good. The Good: - hotel is close to the Repubblica Metro that you can take to the Vatican or other sites - within walking distance (a long walk) to other sights such as Trevi or Colosseum - good stores and restaurants close by (if you want a break from Italian we recommend the nearby Mr. Chow) The Bad: - The bed and pillows are awful. Terrible. Atrocious. The bed is an old spring mattress that was so uncomfortable. The pillows were made of rocks. Seriously, a simple pillow upgrade would do wonders. - The shower. The doors kept coming off the tracks and the shower head sprayed in 100 different directions except for on your body. A simple cleaning or upgrade would make it so much better. - The toilet stinks. Has a weird flush system where the tank fills up above the toilet high on the wall and it just stinks and smells like an outhouse. - The street noise. Via Nazionale is loud and our room overlooked it. Rooms are not even slightly soundproof so we could hear everything from everywhere. - No climate control. The room got hot at night and the only way to cool it down would be to open the window to the loud street below. - Overall skuzzy and dirty. The walls had so many scratches and it looked like liquids dripping down them. A quick wash or paint would be much more inviting. Overall: Avoid & look elsewhere for a comfortable stay/sleep
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne Australia

Very nice ,close to centre in a nice part of Rome

Posted Oct 26, 2015
I had a pleasant stay there , although being on a busy street of Rome it is rather noisy even with windows mostly shut and even though it is on third or fourth floor .
2 out of 5
by AngTew

Holidaying in Europe

Posted Jun 27, 2014 on HotelClub
The hotel is really a budget hotel. It is family run and owned by an Indian couple. The breakfast variety is limited and the buns are rather cold and hard as compared to the family run hotel in Florence that we stayed in prior to arriving at the hotel. The towels were not changed on a daily basis. There was even a hole on one of the towels that we used. In addition to that when we arrived at the hotel we were informed that we had booked a room for one person. But there were two of us. So we had to pay an additional 30 Euros for the extra person. I find it a little costly as the room that we reserved was already meant for two persons. Why the high additional cost for the extra person? Besides the centralised location. I don't think there is anything else that is nice about the hotel. The fixtures are damaged and the room is rather run down. It looks more like a bed and breakfast rather than a two-star hotel. If you can afford a little more, I would suggest that people could try out other hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sue from NORTHAMPTON

Posted Dec 2, 2013
Clean and tidy hotel close to all of Rome's attractions. Staff friendly and helpful. Furnishings functional rather then comfortable. Main selling point is definitely the location.
1 out of 5
by JJ from Canada

Never even saw the room

Posted Oct 19, 2013 on Hotels
The day of check in there were plumbing issues and they sent us in a taxi to another hotel. The lady was very nice but we were fed up. At the end of our three-week holiday we wanted the location, and to be settled without having to move hotels again. They wanted us to spend one night elsewhere then transfer back to Alius, which we did not agree to because it didn't work with our tour schedule. They did accommodate us at the new location for all three nights but that hotel room didn't have a phone for wake-up service and was not even on the same street as the reception desk. Very confusing.
4 out of 5
by Lala from HK

Quite a bit far

Posted Oct 4, 2013 on Hotels
We were relocated to Collin Inn as the washroom of the hotel was out of order. The Inn is large and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JS from London

Great location

Posted Oct 3, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: The shower was lacking in pressure and the water took a very long time to run hot.
Location: Within walking distance of the Forum, Palatine Hill and Colosseum and close to the Republica metro station.
We had booked a room for three people, however on arrival found that we had a small room with one double bed. The room we had booked (and paid extra for) was not available until the following day which was disappointing but we did move to the larger room the next day and enjoyed the rest of our stay. The hotel is in an excellent location, within walking distance of many sights and is clean and tidy.
2 out of 5
by ERGUN

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 20, 2013 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Great Location

Posted Jun 4, 2013 on Hotels
I enjoyed this hotel. It's not as difficult to find as some would say. I felt safe in the neighborhood. You can walk everywhere. The metro is only 5 blocks away. It was what you need when your traveling and running around all day. Front desk was always there and they serve breakfast. For me it was exactly what i needed. Hassan was great too.