Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, Florida

Good location, but not good conditions

Posted May 17, 2016
The room was dirty and used, when we arrived after 12 hours of travel. That first impression was terrible for us we were so tired and in top disgusting for this room welcomed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne Australia

Very nice ,close to centre in a nice part of Rome

Posted Oct 26, 2015
I had a pleasant stay there , although being on a busy street of Rome it is rather noisy even with windows mostly shut and even though it is on third or fourth floor .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sue from NORTHAMPTON

Posted Dec 2, 2013
Clean and tidy hotel close to all of Rome's attractions. Staff friendly and helpful. Furnishings functional rather then comfortable. Main selling point is definitely the location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JS from London

Great location

Posted Oct 3, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: The shower was lacking in pressure and the water took a very long time to run hot.
Location: Within walking distance of the Forum, Palatine Hill and Colosseum and close to the Republica metro station.
We had booked a room for three people, however on arrival found that we had a small room with one double bed. The room we had booked (and paid extra for) was not available until the following day which was disappointing but we did move to the larger room the next day and enjoyed the rest of our stay. The hotel is in an excellent location, within walking distance of many sights and is clean and tidy.
2 out of 5
by bviabe from Virgin Islands (Br)

Excellent location but 1* hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2012
Pros: Its location and one member of staff
Cons: Its breakfasts and another member of staff
Location: Well located, on via Nazionale, between Termini and historic sites. near Intimate restaurants, bus stops and bank. Street entrance not easy to find.
Very secure - claimed to be accessible at any time Very small elevator hidden to one side of huge lobby shared with other small hotels in large building. The handful of staff include English speakers and one was very helpful, but another one seemed to count every item we took from a very basic continental breakfast (machine dispensed tea & coffee for 50c at other times). No toiletries provided. Small room had en suite bathroom. Satellite TV in Italian only. Suitable for students wanting somewhere to sleep near the historic sites, but we are a mature couple who want more comfort on holiday.
1 out of 5
by Penny from New Zealand

Okay hotel in rome

Posted Aug 14, 2012
Pros: Location
Cons: Staff and noisyness of the room
Location: Only a 5 min walk to train station and walking distance to main attractions metro is close but we didnt use it as everything was walkabke
The main thing that was a positve about the hotel was the location, but thats once you find it as like the other reviews mention it is quite tucked away and hard to find. Rooms very noisy and average service from staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

okay enough

Posted Jun 1, 2012
Loud during the night if your room is facing the main street. Other than that, it's great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Great little hotel in Rome

Posted Oct 14, 2011
Alius Hotel is very small and a little hard to find in its building, but it's a great place to stay. Via Nazionale is within walking distance of Termini train station and right in the heart of Rome. The staff is very friendly and helpful - our luggage took 2 days to arrive and they helped us call the airline and spoke to them when we couldn't get anyone who spoke English. There is free wi-fi in the lobby (doesn't reach to the rooms). Our room was small but very clean and comfortable. The only downside is that Via Nazionale is a very busy street and noisy all night. Overall, though, I would recommend Alius Hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Good Value -- Comes with a Cost

Posted Jul 25, 2011
Our first room smelled strongly of sewer, and the air conditioning leaked all over my bag. The staff acknowledge this problem and blamed the building's plumbing. In the morning we complained and were given a room that smelled fine and had no A/C. This worked fine for us...just take showers to stay cool and sleep with the window open and earplugs. Such is the nature of seeking cheap rooms in Rome!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Great place to stay!!

Posted Jun 22, 2011
By Italian standards, this hotel delivers great value. It has a very good location, a private bath, good firm clean beds and is in a safe, secure location but still near the Metro and Roma Termini. Great restaurants and shopping about along the Via Nazionale and its side streets, and its a 15-20 minute walk to the Forum and the Colosseum. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Most of the negative reviews on here seem to criticize it because it's not the Kansas City Hilton (or wherever). Italy is a different country and some conveniences that are standard in the States will cost a relative fortune to line up in Italy. If you want a good, safe, clean hotel with friendly staff, strong espresso and sweet cornettos for breakfast, this is it!!