Ratings based on 162 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very good

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: staff, breakfest
Cons: rooms are a bit old
staff is great! concierge is superb! the hotel has an eexcellent location and rooms are clean. bathroom is not so comfartable
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Most of the staff were very nice, and helpful

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: Location and the service st breakfast was very good
Cons: Concierge help me calling a number I give him for my transportation for next day, taxi show and took me the airport and I have to paid again because I don't know who from the hotel call another taxi that I didn't order and was very embarrassing when I tip and the driver went ballistic demanding payment, so my trip to the airport cost two times 55 euros
Location: Hard Rock next door, a lot of restaurants and shops around
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing return

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Its location
Cons: Better customer service. Upgraded bathrooms.
Location: Located on the Via Veneto, the hotel is a short distance from several attractions including the Spanish Steps (at the top) & the Villa Borghese.
The Ambasciatori used to be a wonderful place to stay in Rome. Its location is still great, but the rest has gone downhill. The staff is OK, but not overly accommodating; the bathrooms need an upgrade; and the prices are high for what you actually get. For example, a breakfast was supposed to be included, but our 10AM flight meant that we could not get any breakfast. They did not offer an alternative or any change to our bill. When we mentioned that we had gone there for our honeymoon 40 years ago, they just smiled. Most hotels in this category would have sent up some champagne or a small basket of fruit. Their airport shuttle was not available and their price for a private car was much more than the Take Me Italy Mercedes SUV we ordered.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a Five star

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: The checkout
Cons: The rooms
This hotel might be nice for Rome,but very far from North American standards. The rooms and hotel are too old and need renovations very badly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Good location. Walking distance to Trevi Fountain and Spanish steps. Located on nice street as well. Room size was good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Good location. it was bit noisy. lots of traffic and no updated windows.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Great location. Very big room (ours was a superior room) with two balconies and a nice view. There were plenty of lamps so excellent lighting.
Cons: A shower curtain would have been appreciated. A plastic partition only goes half the bath length so water goes everywhere when you shower.
Location: Awesome location - everything of importance is close by.
We really enjoyed our stay at the Ambasciatory Palace. The location is excellent and the room was big and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Fabulous Hotel on Via Veneto

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Fabulous Hotel on Via Veneto close to restaurants and 10 min walk to Spanish Steps and great restaurants. We had a suite with balcony overlooking the street. Very clean, beautiful lobby and bar with welcome drink. Easy access to train by cab but could walk to everything. A quieter area then staying right by the Spanish Steps. One of our favorite restaurants is Il Veneto down the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great location to central Ancient Rome

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Nice hotel, in need of updating. Rooms large but noise level from other rooms is very noticeable. Bed comfortable. Staff very helpful. We had a good stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Excellent location in Rome

Posted Aug 29, 2016
I stayed at this hotel ten years ago and then again this week! They have done a very nice job of renovating and restoring the hotel. Staff is great