Ratings based on 251 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Not a 4 star hotel as claimed

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: The hotel is located just a short walk from the Termini and not far from the Collaseum - it has a nice courtyard garden
Cons: The hotel is in need of a total refurbishment - we had to change rooms as the room given to us for the first two nights was too small for two people, was noisy and smelt musty. There was mould in the shower and it had been broken and had been repaired clumsily - the hotel decor was very old and dated. In the second room that we were given the room was larger and had a king bed, but the sheets were not big enough so that you ended up sleeping on the mattress - not wonderful - some of the staff were friendly, but overall you were ignored. The breakfast offered was generous in the amount of food offered but none of it was nice - croissants and pastries did not appear fresh and the hot selection was inedible.
Location: Close to Termini station and a short walk down via Cavour to the Collaseum
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from north london

Not four star.

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Location, cleanliness, good wifi.
Cons: It needs everything repairing or updating
Location: Close to metro and station, next to taxi rank. Near to lots of bars and restaurants, 10 minute walk from coliseum.
The hotel is obviously quite old and in desperate need of a revamp but in a good location. The air con was very noisy and only went down to 22C. The shower was tiny and leaked over the floor, the shower head was hanging off the wall, I could go on. The double bed was two singles pushed together so we had a trough down the middle of the bed. The staff were friendly and courteous, the rooms were cleaned and fresh towels daily. Overall it should be a max of three star.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with a view of Santa Maggiore

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: The location and friendly staff. Breakfast was also excellent.
Cons: Bathrooms definitely need to be upgraded. At least add a curtain, and a handle to hang the shower.
Location: Ancient Rome is within walking distance, as well as Spanish steps and Trevi fountain and many others.
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The view is exactly as advertised, and the hotel was easy to get to. It is also within walking distance from many major sight seeing places. The room was spacious and clean, as was the bathroom. The bathtub, however, was very old, without a shower and without a curtain, of which there were no photos of on the website.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Good Location

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Nice location near the train station and many beautiful structures. Short taxi ride to Colloseum and other historic structures.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ontario, canada

Not as advertised

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: The location is fantastic.
Cons: The advertisement of amenities needs to not include air conditioning or laundry facilities.
Location: Hop on hop off bus very close. Train station within walking distance.
Unfortunately what is advertised is not exactly true. There are no laundry facilities. They send you to an Asian laundromat around the corner who then refuses to give back all your clothes! You do not get to control the air conditioning. The hotel does and the temperature is never below 26 degrees. They did provide a fan. There is no bar service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United States

Beautiful location, friendly and helpful staff

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Gelato place right next door! Stunning old palace, beautiful rooms, lovely staff, great breakfast, loved the location
Cons: Wi-fi was very shoddy in our room, but we enjoyed using the courtyard for that
Location: Santa Maria Maggiore across the street, plenty of restaurants, within walking distance of most things
We arrived and were told that our room wasn't ready and that there was some sort of flooding problem, but held our bags and said that when we came back from the day of sightseeing that they would update us on its condition. It wasn't sorted yet, so they put us up in a sister hotel down the street (but still beautiful and 4 stars), no harm done. Our bags were brought back the next day and we were upgraded to a suite, which was an absolutely lovely corner room right across from Santa Maria Maggiore and had an absolutely lovely large bathroom, complete with tub and handicap accessible (although we didn't need it). The room was large, front desk very helpful and accommodating, breakfast was very very good with plenty of space. My favorite part of the hotel was the outside courtyard, with a nice breeze and shade - we were down there every day because the wi-fi was a bit shoddy in our corner room, which the front desk addressed but wasn't able to quite fix in the four days we were there. They were also very helpful in our airport transportation and booked a private shuttle for the two of us - just a sedan but definitely worth the 60 euros because the Da Vinci Express would take longer. They provided us with a map of that proved invaluable, and was able to help us as tourists every step of the way. Listening to the bells of Santa Maria Maggiore was amazing! Our first time in Rome, and not our last. Would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gloucester, UK

Great location to access all of Rome

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Hotel was cleaned well, daily. Staff friendly and helpful. Air con from portable units which meant warm air piped out of an open window which mean chosen a very warm night, quiet night or a cooler, yet noisy night? Continental buffet breakfast was ok. Great location, close to train terminal, bus station and metro line, 14min walk from Coloseum.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a 4 star hotel

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Air conditioning, cleanliness, able to use stairs as well as the elevator
Air conditioning not sufficient. The staff not helpful, but the breakfast staff were fantastic.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst 4 star hotel in Rome

Posted Jul 10, 2016
All was terrible: -bathroom -iron -room -lifts Only one plus: location I'm strongly not recommend this hotel - this is just a waste of your money. Any 3 star hotel will be better.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a 4 star hotel

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: Location - close to train station, subway, walking distance to tourist attractions...
This is not a 4 star hotel by any means, 3 stars at best. We have stayed at 5 different hotels on our 2 week trip to Italy recently and all others were 3 star hotels and all of them were better than this one. We had issues with TV (no basic Italian channels such as RAI 1, RAI 2, etc.), internet - they had to restart router daily for it to work... Shower was leaking water onto the floor every time you took a shower, bath tub had bunch of cracks that looked like they were being repaired, but made the tub look very dirty. Lots of mold around the glass for the shower (probably the reason for leaks?). Toilet had to be flushed 12 times after my 12 year old used it (13 times after my use)...Bathroom in general was the smallest out of any of the 5 hotels we stayed in and poorly organized - no shelves, counter space,etc. Not what I would expect out of a 4 star hotel...