Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Great family vacation in Rome at Arches

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: Prompt attention from the staff and owners, nice and clean, conveniently located for the Metro and Vatican, public water fountain right on the corner.
Cons: Some hooks or hangers in the bathroom for drying towels. Trash pick up is loud, but just turn on the AC at night
Location: turn right go a block and a half, turn R on Viale Angelico, 3 block south is the Ottaviano metro. Keep going 3 blocks to St Peter's
Fabio and Paulo arranged for a driver to pick us (2 adults, 2 kids 11 and 12 from the US) up at the airport and took us directly to the B&B (about 40 minute drive) . It's in a large apartment building and we were very early, so we left our bags with the building porter and wandered around the neighborhood. Do stop in at the little bar on the corner, drinks, snacks, light meals, a fabulous salad with tuna and nice staff who have some English - and a toilet. Do print a map of the area because it can be confusing and it's north of the tourist maps- and data and wifi are not reliable. We got into our room- it was the green room with a small balcony, 1 double and 2 twin beds. It isn't super fancy, but clean and very nice bathroom. Rooms have cable TV, (we could get BBC news) AC units, shutters and curtains. No dresser, but an open hanging unit. We got a tour of the place, there is a shared kitchen, in which you get one shelf in the fridge and one in a cupboard, which they supplied with milk, bread, yogurt, cereal, fruit, juice, coffee pods and pastries. There is a toaster and microwave. There is a computer in the common room and free wifi in your own room (but it can be very slow.) The few problems we encountered (a stuck window, running toilet) were attended to right away. We stayed for 9 days as a home base. Ottaviano Metro is 4 blocks away, all night bakery on Viale Angelico just N of metro, & Lemongrass Gelato. Last night big meal at Hosteria on the corner,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LK London UK

Short Break in Rome

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Great short break in Rome. Arches Relais was an ideal location. Ten minute walk from the Vatican. Restaurants very close by with underground/bus connections also nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, Colo

Nice bed and breakfast close to the Vatican

Posted Jun 10, 2016
Very quaint neighborhood. Lots of restaurants close by. Easy walk to Vatican City. Clean, comfortable room. Very homey. Staff is nice with great attention to detail and quick to help.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location near Vatican City

Posted Dec 3, 2015
Good area, lovely big room, very helpful and friendly owner, plenty of breakfast left in the kitchen everyday. Great to have a computer provided for researching the attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from England

great value b & b near Cipro metro

Posted Sep 30, 2015
Pros: the cleanliness, the service, the facilities for breakfast and self-catering if you want to, all for a good price in Rome
Cons: women like a full length mirror in the bedroom - a suggestion for the future perhaps?
Location: near public transport and walking distance of the Vatican area, we did a lot of walking and it was easy to find our way 'home'.
walking distance of the Vatican & metro, 4th floor apartment (lift), with three doubles, run by Paolo and Massimo. Nothing was too much trouble and they have a good system
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A new, yet pleasant experience

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Pros: Access to the internet and printing services were free, and was very useful when looking for places to visit, and sorting out boarding passes.
Cons: More choices for breakfast, though later we did find a local family run cafe, which was simply brilliant, and enjoyable.
Location: Location was excellent. near the vatican, lots of shops, restaurants, 'metro' stations - very good.
I have always stayed in an hotel when away, so this 'semi-independent' living was new to me; however, it was good experience. The people are young and very nice - including the porter, very helpful. It was a very relaxing stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Perfect for a weekend get away

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: Wifi was provided and the kitchen facilities were great.
Cons: Small bed was very small!
Location: Fantastic- lots of things to eat and really close to Vatican City.
The Arches was lovely- everything we needed as a base for the weekend. They provided breakfast in the kitchen so that you could take it as you needed it which is perfect if you're trying to jam a whole load into your trip. Very easy location and very near a whole host of delicious restaurants and ice cream shops.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson Arizona

Fantastic B&B in Rome!!

Posted Nov 23, 2014
What a great stay. Arches is only a few minutes walk from the Vatican and it is just a 7-10 minute walk from the metro. Paolo was awesome! Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable! We stayed in the Green Room. It was extremely clean, and the bathroom was large and modern. Our room had a pleasant balcony where we could enjoy the provided breakfast and relax with an espresso before a full day of site seeing. I would highly recommend this to my friends and family if they are looking for an oasis form the busy touristy sectors of Rome. Paolo is a wealth of knowledge and he will bend over backwards to make sure you have a great stay. Thanks for positively adding to our experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from keller, Texas

Great B&B away from tourists but close to Metro

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Location: The Vatican, Metro. Denesi Cafe, Birreta & Wine around the corner. Napoli Pizzeria and an organic grocery store all nearby.
We loved staying here. The staff was terrific and the room was great. We stayed in the blue room. We loved having breakfast on our terrace each morning. Close to the Vatican but far enough away to escape the tourists. You can catch the Metro just a couple of blocks away. Best gelato across the street. Denesi Cafe next door was the best!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK for the price

Posted Jun 8, 2014
OK for the price...Paulo looked after us well....good location...close to metro and walking distance to Vatican