Ratings based on 177 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel!

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
Warm welcome. Easy check in. Lovely staff. Excellent location. I had a very nice stay here and I will definitely return
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, near the Colosseum.

Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
Located in an older, multi-storey building, the room we had (number 2) is spartan, but still had everything we needed. Very comfortable bed, great wifi, large shower, refrigerator. Giulia was gfeat, arranging a ride from the airport, getting us settled and informing us of the nearby eateries.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex, England

Excellent service and brilliant location.

Posted Oct 23, 2016
It was the excellent reviews on Expedia that prompted me to stay here. They were not wrong! The couple that run it are amazing and very helpful. Their English is excellent and they'll happily help you with your Italian. The hotel building is nice, it does share its outside door, which is actually a big wooden door on the side of the building. The room was exactly as their pictures show, and there was a PC in there. There is free WiFi, however as others have mentioned it did drop in and out, but I wasn't too fussed. Another reviewer complained about the need to push the toilet flush multiple times, not a huge effort, and obviously the design, as I came across it in other places, and wouldn't have been able to flush if I didn't know "the technique" from the hotel. My room was a twin. As with most hotels, the double is made up of two 2'6 single beds, so in twin configuration the beds are quite small. One facility I didn't think I'd need in October, was air conditioning, but we did need it on the first night. It was nice and quiet and can be set as you please. Breakfast is included, which is a coffee and croissant, but certainly allowed us to get going quickly in the morning and saved on food costs. It is at a cafe just round the corner from the hotel, if you sit out front you can admire the Colosseum whilst you have your breakfast. That of course is the hotels greatest advantage, it is just round the corner from the Colosseum. Brilliant Location!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location and Price

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Hotels
Decent hotel. Didn't see the staff that much over my 5 day stay, but room was always cleaned every day. Never could find the breakfast cafe that is off site and the beds are rather firm. But the rooms are a good size, have AC, and have their own bathrooms! The location is what makes this hotel great... It is only a few blocks from the Coliseum and those blocks have a lot of food choices... cafes, bars, and restaurants! Not to mention the Metro. I loved the area and was overall pleased with the hotel...... would think about staying again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location and friendly staff

Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels
Located very conveniently near the coliseum and the Roman forum. Lots of good restaurants and a 24hr supermarket (carrefour) nearby. People at the front desk were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast included is available at a cafe around the block, and includes a croissant and coffee. Nothing fancy, but typical for almost every hotel we stayed at in Italy. Overall, a great experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cozy guest house!

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
Exactly what I hoped for! Simple room with all the important things: comfortable bed, reliable wifi, great water pressure, helpful and kind staff with lots of tips for getting around the city and economical options. Rooms were so quiet that it seemed we were the only guests, when really it was fully booked. Recommend without hesitation and would look forward to another stay here!
4 out of 5
by Franco from Toronto Canada

Amazing stay

Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels
We loved the location and the owners Vincent and Barbara were friendly and helpful! Treated us like family. Will definitely go back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

A cozy spot in an ideal location

Posted Jul 16, 2016
I went to Arena Guest House for a 2 night stay. A simple comfortable room in an ideal spot just steps from Colleseo. The couple, Chiara and her husband were so friendly, accommodating and eager to share their as much information on the city that they are so proud of. Rome has earned a return visit and Arena will definitely get my first look
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Stay at Arena House

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Pros: Staff are brilliant. It has a small number of rooms & it is conveniently situated with nearby buses, metro & proximity to the main railway station.
Location: There are good nearby restaurants, cafes & bars for breakfast. Prime Roman city sites within easy walking distance. Ancient churches too!
We had a wonderful welcome on our arrival and were shown to a pleasant room with a view over a garden. The room had high ceilings a comfortable bed & a good shower room. The managers are very friendly, knowledgable & helpful. The rooms are very clean with plenty of storage in drawers etc, & mirrored wardrobe. There is WiFi & a PC aswell as air conditioning & a fridge.
5 out of 5
by MICHAEL from Sunderland

Arena Guest House Highly recommended.

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
Great location, great people in Arena Guest House, Good English, always there to help. Like having your own tourist information centre. Clean room, and everything worked. We would stay here again if revisiting Rome, without a doubt.