Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Why stay here?

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Location,price,convenience and access 24 hours with your own keys.I have stayed here for the last 10 years, they give you a ticket for a nice cappuccino and croissant each morning at a nice restaurant close by,stay here for easy access to anywhere!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Epping

Rome 2016

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Cheap and Location
Location: Good
Cheap and cheerful Based on the 5th Floor with a very small lift 5-10 minutes plod from Termini Train/Bus station and 5 mins from Cavour Metro 10 mins from Colosseum Small bathroom with shower Bed firm You get a breakfast from a shop around the corner Its not the Ritz but it suited me Area is OK
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Cancelled my Reservation

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Location: n/a
So I have had 9 days booked with this hotel. My flight came in at midnight and they don't do late checkins (which is understandable). However, instead of keeping the reservation and letting me check in the next day they cancelled my entire reservation! Which doesn't make any sense, they should have asked me first before doing this? Anyways, I am glad this happened because I ended booking my stay the freedom Traveler Hostel and it was the best experience I have ever had in my life! I would have loved to get this place a decent review but perhaps they need to be better at communicating with their guests?
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bradford. UK

Ares Rooms, Rome

Posted Sep 24, 2016
I stayed at the Ares hotel for 4 nights. I had double bedroom with bathroom. There was no hot water in bathroom, just cold water. And I think that's a big minus. Room was dark with dirty walls. Breakfast is included in price, which is one croissant and a coffee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Herts, UK

Does the job

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: The location is excellent. I like to walk a lot, and found that a lot of Rome's attractions were walkable from here.
Cons: Having my own bathroom was great, but I found that warm water from the shower never lasted longer than 20 seconds, resulting lots of cold showers
Location: The location is great; about a 10 minute walk from Termini Station, and also only about a 10 minute walk from the Colosseum
I'm a single traveler, and found this hotel to be brilliant for what I needed. I arrived early, but was able to still check in, which was very useful for me as it meant I could go off without having to drag my luggage around with me. The bathroom in my room was very small, which was absolutely fine for me on my own, possibly not if I was there with my partner. Travelling alone I would definitely stay here again, if I was travelling with a friend or my partner, maybe not.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very close to the train station and other Rome sit

Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Hotels
It would be very useful for those coming for the first time to know that it is in an apartment building and that there isn't necessarily a front desk. The owner appeared to have too much on his plate and was very scatter brained, forgetting promises he made and also did not know the correct wifi login info
5 out of 5
by Aiden

Excellent

Posted Mar 18, 2016 on Hotels
Great location, good price, really helpful staff. I would definitely stay again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2016 by Staff Ares rooms, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your comment! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Ares Rooms. Hope to see you again soon! Kind regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from GREECE

VALUE FOR MONEY

Posted Mar 5, 2016
Pros: RATE, VALUE FOR MONEY, CONVENIENT LOCATION.
I BOOKED THIS HOTEL VIA EXPEDIA AS PART OF A PACKAGE, STAYED 5 NIGHTS. I WAS PLEASED. THE ROOM WAS CLEAN AND WELL KEPT. SOME PEOPLE MIGHT FIND THE BATHROOM SMALL BUT I AM 1.82, 6 FEET, NORMAL BUILD AND I WAS JUST FINE. THE STAFF WAS FRIENDLY AND I LIKED THE TOUCH OF CONTACTING ME VIA E-MAIL PRIOR TO ARRIVAL SO THEY CAN FOCUS ON MY SERVICE. THEY ALSO ALLOWED ME TO AN EARLY CHECK IN OF 12.00 INSTEAD OF THE USUAL 15.00. I BOOKED THE HOTEL WITH BREAKFAST THAT IS SERVED ACROSS THE STREET IN A CAFFE AND IT IS 1 CUP OF COFFEE AND ONE SELECTION OF CROISSANT, DANISH OR OTHER DOUGH PRODUCT. THE ONLY REASON THAT I GIVE TO THE HOTEL 4 OUT OF 5 RATING, I WOULD PREFER TO GIVE 4.5, IS THAT ONE DAY (THURSDAY) OUT OF 5 DAYS I HAD NO HOT WATER DURING MORNING HOURS.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2016 by staff Ares Rooms, Hotel Management
Dear Costas, thank you very much for your comment, it is very important for us to improve our job. We really appreciate that you enjoyed your stay at Ares Rooms, and we apologize for the inconvenient with the shower, it has been fixed by now. We hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
by Jennylys

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2016 by Staff Ares rooms, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a feedback! It is very important for us. Hope to see you again soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor management

Posted Oct 16, 2015 on Hotels
After prepaying for the room, a month in advance they did not have the reserved room for us. So fortunately they had a room with a shared bathroom so we did not have any other option then taking it.For breakfast which they include with prices is equivalent of having no breakfast as they serve only a coffee and a single doughnut. However the location of the hotel was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2016 by Staff Ares rooms, Hotel Management
We are very sorry you had a bad experience at Ares Rooms, we have changed management recently so we hope that you can come back and make up for the mistake. Thank you so much for your review, it is very important for us so that we know where we can improve.