Ratings based on 515 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel great ambience

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness and helpful staff,they gave guidance regarding sightseeing and travelling.This is what you expect from a hotel.
Cons: At breakfast the scrambled eggs could be fluffier.
Location: The location was good,within 5 minutes walk from Cornelia metro railway station from where I could get to anywhere in Rome conveniently.
The hotel was very clean and well maintained,bed extremely comfortable and bathroom size and facilities good.Coffee and tea was available in the room and we were given extra towels.They even helped printing my airline boarding ticket.The presence of a computer was very helpful. Breakfast was good and satisfying.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester UK

Good location.

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: Great Staff. Free WiFi. Free safe.
About 5 minutes walk to Cornelia met station so really easy to get around. Staff were very friendly and helpful . Our room was tiny but clean and warm. Lovely bathroom though. Breakfast included mostly cold meat cheese and croissant, tho there were eggs and little Frankfurter sausages too. Several very nice restaurants nearby. Mini bar in room reasonable prices - just beer water and soft drinks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bloomfield, NJ

One of the most beautiful Hotels I have been at

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: What's not to like about the hotel. 1 block from the Metro, very good restaurants with also a 1 block walking distance. Safe neighborhood.
Cons: Although it was winter season, it would have been nice to adjust the heat better than having to open a window to cool the room down.
Location: 1 block from Metro, 4 very good restaurants within a 1 block walking distance. Very safe neighborhood at all hours of the day and night
Its a little hard to find at first if you do not know what you are looking for. The entrance is set back from the street and there are no big signs advertising the hotel. So we rode by it the first time coming from the airport. Walking through the small courtyard you are immediately greeted by beautiful artwork. Entering the lobby the desk it to your left, the bar and breakfast restaurant is straight ahead and to your right, you immediately forget you are in a hotel and see that you are actually in an art gallery. The rooms are very spacious and for the most part comfortable. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly, The breakfast is fantastic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bloomfield, NJ

On of the best in Roma

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: Location, Decor, Food, Staff, Room, basically everything.
Cons: A little firmer mattress and somehow to adjust the heat better than opening the window to cool the room down
Location: The Metro is a 5-minute walk, and from the Metro you can get anywhere and do anything (just remember the system shuts down at 11:30 PM Sun to Thurs).
With its unassuming entrance we drove past it (in the rental car) before realizing where the entrance was. Walking into to lobby you immediately realize this is no ordinary hotel. The antiques and beautiful and are in full use (no "ropes" to keep you away). A friendly greeting from the Clerk, and everything was immediately ready for us. And since we were a returning guest (having only stayed there 1 day prior to a cruise, we were given a room upgrade for our 6-day stay. The room was very spacious. Only complaints was that the mattress could have been a little firmer, and since this is the winter season adjusting the heat as a little difficult (basically open the window to cool the room down - but I was already expecting this from previous winter travel in Europe). Breakfast (included) was fantastic. A wide variety for any taste and palate. Staff was extremely friendly and there recommendations were spot-on. Fantastic restaurants just a maximum 5-minute walk away. When I return to Roma I will again stay at the Aurelius Art Galley Hotel (and will recommend the same to everyone).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Classy boutique-style hotel

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: Amazing hot and cold breakfast!
Location: The Metro is just around the corner. It was quick and convenient for us to get to the Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, Colliseum.
Love the atmosphere of this 'art gallery' hotel. Our room was small but it had a comfortable bed, desk, fridge, clothes closet, room safe, and the most amazing bathroom. Plus, the window actually opened. The hotel has beautiful marble and mosaic tiles. Staff were very accommodating when we needed information, wine and beer glasses, etc. We would love to be back in Rome someday and to spend a few more days at the Aurelius Hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Fantastic value, near Metro stop

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Location: residential, Gustosando restaurant, metro
Check-in was easy. The woman at the front desk (cannot remember her name, sorry!) was so friendly and made us feel welcome immediately. She spoke excellent English. She provided a map and recommendations for the area and general tips to navigate Rome. One thing we did not know about was the "city tax" collected by all hotels separate from the actual room rate. At this hotel, the city tax payment is requested in cash, and it was at the time 6 EUR per person, per night. The front desk attendant showed us to our room, which was a ground level "Superior Room", separate from the main hotel building but connected through a secured courtyard. The room was spacious, including a small safe, and a large bathroom with two shower heads. Wifi was fast and reliable. The room was relatively quiet. Breakfast was continental: assorted cold meats and cheeses; eggs and vegetables; pastries; self-service coffee from a fancy machine; juices; cereals. It was a 3-minute walk to the Cornelia Metro station and to the bus stops. It was about a 10-minute ride from the Cornelia Metro stop to the Vatican Museums stop. The Colosseum stop was on a different Metro line so that ride took about 30 minutes including a transfer at Termini. There are restaurants, mini markets, and a McDonald's nearby. The area was residential and felt safe; however, this is not a typical "tourist-y" glitzy posh area. There is great value for this hotel's amenities and location and we would stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hensall, Ontario Canada

Very clean rooms, helpful and accommodating staff

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Staff, cleanliness and overall value for money
Cons: because of the marble floors etc, some rooms were not well insulated for sound.
Location: Short walk to the Metro and only four or five Metro stops from major attractions.Several unassuming but excellent family restaurants within close walk
I would highly recommend this hotel. The hotel and rooms are kept spotlessly clean. Comfortably sized bathrooms and shower has plenty of hot water. They are very eager to please, and will immediately address your concern and try their best to make it right if necessary. Staff are all very pleasant, helpful and professional. Full buffet breakfast is fresh and very nicely presented. It is obvious that all the staff take pride in what they do! They provided us with information on local restaurants, as well as how to get around to all the attractions in Rome. At the end of a day of sight seeing, it is a warm place to come "home" to. Thanks again to Gianfranco, Alessandra, Renata, Constantino and the rest of the staff at the Hotel Aurelius!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dehradun

Cosy Hotel near a metro station

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: It's Staff.
Cons: Please include milk with tea bags.
We stayed in rome for 4 nights here.This is a small hotel with a wonderful staff. It is close to Macdonald's and very close to Cornelia metro station. Commuting was not problem at all. It was one ride away from everywhere except the airport. We booked a superior room. The rooms are ok but the shower cubicle was very small. I understand this is something in europe. The rooms have a electric kettle and we loved our morning tea. There was however no milk/ creme for coffee or tea.The breakfast was decent and filling. The best part of the hotel is its staff. We were greeted every time with smiles and they were ever so helping. Keep it up!!!!