Ratings based on 178 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Lovely hotel on the outskirts of Rome

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Fantastic helpful staff! Room was very comfortable and clean. Quite a distance from the centre however transport is fantastic and we wanted this area due to family close by. Would definitely recommend!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, Florida

Avoid this place

Posted Sep 8, 2013 on Hotels
Do not judge this hotel by pictures, or the way the building looks like from outside. Room was dirty. Carpets were not vacuumed. Black mold in the ceiling in the room and bathroom. Bathroom was caked with mold. Bathtub was not cleaned in a while and had dirt built up. Front desk person told us we could park in their parking lot, but withheld information that they charged for parking. Location is not close to anything. Unless you have a car, you should not stay here if you are planning to see any of the tourist sights.
3 out of 5
by Chris/Bill from London, Canada

Posted Jun 11, 2013 on Hotels
Everything was very good except for the breakfast. It had watered down juice, very few cereal offerings and only hard boiled eggs. Plus a few pastries and toast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cath from West Sussex

Great Hotel for a couple to do sightseeing in Rome

Posted Nov 1, 2012
We booked into the Aurora Garden Hotel having looked at previous reviews. We arrived at the hotel about 8.00 pm and was greeted by very friendly staff. We booked the hotel away from the centre of Rome as we were travelling as a couple and were happy to travel as the centre of Rome is only 8km away. The room was very small but functional but the only draw back would be that they do not provide any tea or coffee facilities in the room only a minibar. We walked to the centre of Rome via the Via Nomentana which took us ages but was really enjoyable as on the way we saw a lot of the surrounding areas and how the Italians lived and stopped off in a few cafes along the way. We did however use the metro but at first it was very confused and once we did eventually master it it was very easy. We would definitely go back there as it was good value for money and although 8km away from the centre of Rome it did not bother us. It would not be a good idea to take kids though.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2012 on Hotels
This is a nice hotel, better than I expected after reading other reviews. Friendly & very helpful staff. A little far from the centre but the transport system is very easy to use. Overall a plesant stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and quaint

Posted Jul 6, 2012 on Hotels
Quite cozy, clean and comfortable. The concierge was very helpful.
5 out of 5
by Alyssa

Helpful and friendly staff, nice and quiet hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2012 on Hotels
We really enjoyed this hotel. The staff told us about many neat places to visit that we would not have normally known about. This hotel wasn't as close to downtown but it was close to the subway which was easy and efficient to get downtown.
2 out of 5
by David from Newcastle Upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, UK

Aurora Garden Hotel

Posted Jun 14, 2012
Pros: Economic, and friendly staff
Cons: Location and basic resources
Location: Out of the way, taxi from the hotel to the Colosseum came to 25 euros (started at 7), and took about an hour to walk in.
The hotel was rather out of the way of other tourist locations, and the taxi that the hotel concierge kindly booked for us was ludicrously expensive compared to taxis we got from in town back to the hotel (many of the in-town taxi drivers hadn't even heard of the hotel!). All staff were friendly and, despite a slight language barrier, were always helpful. All functions and resources of the hotel were basic and limited; the breakfast 'buffet' (included in the package) was poor quality and unimaginative, and the room service menu was nearly bare. That being said, we were only really using the hotel as a place to stay as we explored the city throughout the day, and so it is more a place that I would recommend to sightseers, and not to families expecting plenty of entertainment from the hotel. Decent and acceptable all round, no major complaints.
2 out of 5
by Divya

Average hotel

Posted Apr 19, 2012 on Hotels
The hotel was ok, we just needed a place to crash for one night. about 1 hour away by public transport to central Rome. We would probably look for a hotel near the metro station the next time, we wasted a lot of time in the traffic. Good parking facilities. Receptionist kept trying to sell us one of their tours the whole time! I would not go back there.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2012 on Hotels
The staff was WONDERFUL. Very informative and friendly. We stayed at alot of hotels during our vacation and I must say the staff here was by far the best.