Ratings based on 1,260 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Small, clean hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: The breakfast buffet was included.
Cons: * Provide real "sausages" vs. hot dogs in the buffet breakfast. * Provide maps of the city and helpful "touring" hints for English speakers
Location: It was truly only close to the Vatican Museum and a little close to St. Peter's. Everywhere else was a VERY long walk or metro ride away.
Small, clean, nothing flashy or over the top. The hotel was clean, the workers at the front desk and in the restaurant areas were helpful when asked. However, since the hotel very clearly catered to Americans, it would have been helpful for touring information or "things to do" / "how to see Rome" hints to be provided by at the front desk upon check-in. The hotel rooms never went below 18deg C and it was VERY warm in the rooms at night. The shower was VERY small and uncomfortable, even for people of very small size. However, it was clean and affordable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Good value for the money

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: Clean; Friendly staff that spoke English; Large buffet breakfast.
Cons: Room climate and larger shower.
Location: Entrance to Vatican museums just steps away; close to Metro; short walk to St. Peter's square; close to lots of good restaurants and shops.
This hotel is located right outside the Vatican. Central Rome is a long walk or Metro ride away. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet was included. Bathroom was quite small and shower was EXTREMELY small! Not sure if this is common in Europe since this was my first visit there. As previous reviewers stated, the room was very warm at times (up to 73 degrees F). When we asked if they could adjust, staff stated that the thermostat was on a "winter cycle" so they could just turn the heat off. Opening the windows helped a lot and this may be a cultural difference because as we walked around in tank tops and shorts, locals were wearing winter jackets and scarves. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel, unless you want to be closer to the other attractions, but that may cost you some more money. Be sure to ask for balcony room if available and the same price. Also, if you need to book a transfer from the hotel to the airport, you may want to book yourself. We booked a van through hotel for 5 people and a regular taxi showed up. Had to wait for another car and still no van - just a larger car with hatchback so we squeezed inside. We got to the gate as they were boarding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the Vatican museum

Posted Mar 30, 2017
The hotel is very nice and quite close to the Vatican museum. The staff were very friendly and provided an adapter so I could plug my charger into the European outlets. The breakfast buffet was added on at no cost. My only problem was that the room was too warm to sleep comfortably. It was much warmer in the room than outside but they said they couldn't turn on the AC since it was March. I spend most of the year in the Caribbean so I'm used to warm weather but the room was much too warm.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by Mana Radofa, Customer care specialist, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay at Best Western Hotel Spring House. We are happy to hear that you had a good time with us and that you could enjoy our delicious breakfast, our nice rooms and the friendliness of our Staff. We really wish to welcome you back again very soon! Kind regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location to the Vatican

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Professionalism of staff, comfier beds, soundproof doors or thicker walls.
Location: Vatican Museum is right around the corner and up the steps. Really good restaurants within walking distance.
I had a single room, and the size was very small, which was fine, but the walls and door was so incredibly thin and you could hear everything! From the elevator opening and closing to anyone opening their door. The bed was not very comfortable, but I wasn't visiting to spend time in bed, so oh well. Some of the staff was not very friendly and unprofessional. There were pros though! The breakfast had good bacon! Which is always a plus. It was a short walk to the Vatican and that was the reason of my trip. You can walk anywhere ranging between 10 minutes to an hour, so that was a plus.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by Mana Radofa, Customer care specialist, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your opinion about your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. Best regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Great stay and great price per night.would go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by Mana Radofa, Customer care specialist, Hotel Management
DearGuest, Thank you so much for your praising words and great feedback regarding your stay at Best Western Hotel Spring House. We are more than happy that you loved our hotel and enjoyed your time in Rome. Hope to welcome you back soon again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bda

Second time here and we love it.

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Good location courteous staff. I asked for a upgrade for my mom and dad room I got it no problem. We loved the front desk staff , the two philipina in the restaurant , Iuliana always greeding us and Brandon always with a smile. Hotel is close to Vatican museum , Basilica, market place , restaurants and souvenir shops. You wont regranted choosing this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by Mana Radofa, Customer care specialist, Hotel Management
Dear Cristian, Thank you so much for your nice words. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Best Western Hotel Spring House for the second time. We all wish to have the chance to welcome you back very soon! Never 2 without 3! Warm regards from all of us
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Easy walk to the Vatican

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Great friendly Staff. Clean, comfortable stay. Great location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent choice!

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Great location near Vatican , five minutes walk from two metro stations (Ottaviano, Cipro) and 20 minutes walk from the most beautiful city centre in Europe. Amazing and very proffesional staff (they gave us free breakfast and a nice christmas gift).The only disadvantage are the thin walls, especially when you have noisy neighbours. But anyway it's christmas time! Grazie and recommended!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Nice hotel close to Vatican museum.

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: The employees were pleasant and helpful. They arranged for a car/driver to pick us up and bring us to airport. Also helped book tour to Pompeii.
Cons: The wifi was spotty which was somewhat irritating. The water pressure in the shower was not real strong. Not sure if that's a European thing or not.
Location: Just a couple blocks from the entrance to Vatican Museum.
Great hotel in a location that was perfect for us. We were able to walk to all the attractions we wanted to see. Lots of small restaurants and gelato shops nearby!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 17, 2016 on Hotels