Ratings based on 1,265 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great Hotel for visiting the Vatican Area

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: Location, Cleanliness, Airport Shuttle, Staff, Room Comfort, English speaking, Breakfast and daytime bartender staff were friendly and welcoming.
Cons: More closet and shelf space in room.
Location: 1 block Vatican Museum, 15 min walk to St Peter's Square, Restaurants, eateries within 2-3 blocks; 20-25 min walk to Hop-On Hop off, Metro 2 blocks
Takes 30-45 min to get from Fumicino Airport to Hotel. We were a family 4 adults and 1 child and used the shuttle provided by the hotel for 70 Euro, which was en excellent choice and made the journey to the hotel easy and stress free, driver nice and professional. Outward appearance of hotel has an "Inner City" look to it and is somewhat on a side street, but the inside is in excellent condition, clean , welcoming and modern. The check in was fast and the receptionist professional and helpful in providing us information on the area. We stayed in the large Deluxe room which had one queen size bed (Which is a fold out couch) on the 1st level and a huge bed (Could sleep three adults) upstairs in a loft, all in one large room. Beds were comfortable, room has a small table with two chairs, refrigerator, one small closet and 2 flat screen TVs. Big bathroom with shower, tub, toilet and bade. Room was clean, comfortable and spacious enough for four adults to not feel cramped up. The only downside is not many shelves or closet space to store clothes and no windows so the room seems kind of dark. There are two large skylights that open up and the AC worked well. Hotel breakfast was overall great for Best Western hotel food. The kitchen staff and breakfast servers were excellent in keeping the area clean, food stocked, and attending to guests needs. Check out was quick and the hotel scheduled us a shuttle back to the airport on 0430 in the morning. Driver was scary, drove too fast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH, USA

A perfectly clean, comfortable hotel!

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Great location
Location: We had a tour booked for Vatican Museums and this was perfect place to stay.
If you want clean, orderly, no surprises and close to Vatican and a fabulous bakery-- try this hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Nice hotel very close to the Vatican Museum

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: location, breakfast
Cons: bath drain a bit slow
Stayed about 4 nights here for the location. Only about 5 mins to the Vatican Museum with loads of nice restaurants nearby. Bus and Metro station are both in walking distance. The buffet breakfast is a huge plus and the hotel managed it in a quite international style which is very nice for international travellers like me and my families. Also very considerate to certain special needs. The room we had was reasonably specious and had a little view of nice Italian gardens. It's quite pleasing at sunny days. The only 'problem' we had was that the bath drain was a bit slow but it was never a real problem. Highly recommended to those who wants to visit the Vatican.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Small, clean hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: The breakfast buffet was included.
Cons: * Provide real "sausages" vs. hot dogs in the buffet breakfast. * Provide maps of the city and helpful "touring" hints for English speakers
Location: It was truly only close to the Vatican Museum and a little close to St. Peter's. Everywhere else was a VERY long walk or metro ride away.
Small, clean, nothing flashy or over the top. The hotel was clean, the workers at the front desk and in the restaurant areas were helpful when asked. However, since the hotel very clearly catered to Americans, it would have been helpful for touring information or "things to do" / "how to see Rome" hints to be provided by at the front desk upon check-in. The hotel rooms never went below 18deg C and it was VERY warm in the rooms at night. The shower was VERY small and uncomfortable, even for people of very small size. However, it was clean and affordable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Good value for the money

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: Clean; Friendly staff that spoke English; Large buffet breakfast.
Cons: Room climate and larger shower.
Location: Entrance to Vatican museums just steps away; close to Metro; short walk to St. Peter's square; close to lots of good restaurants and shops.
This hotel is located right outside the Vatican. Central Rome is a long walk or Metro ride away. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet was included. Bathroom was quite small and shower was EXTREMELY small! Not sure if this is common in Europe since this was my first visit there. As previous reviewers stated, the room was very warm at times (up to 73 degrees F). When we asked if they could adjust, staff stated that the thermostat was on a "winter cycle" so they could just turn the heat off. Opening the windows helped a lot and this may be a cultural difference because as we walked around in tank tops and shorts, locals were wearing winter jackets and scarves. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel, unless you want to be closer to the other attractions, but that may cost you some more money. Be sure to ask for balcony room if available and the same price. Also, if you need to book a transfer from the hotel to the airport, you may want to book yourself. We booked a van through hotel for 5 people and a regular taxi showed up. Had to wait for another car and still no van - just a larger car with hatchback so we squeezed inside. We got to the gate as they were boarding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the Vatican museum

Posted Mar 30, 2017
The hotel is very nice and quite close to the Vatican museum. The staff were very friendly and provided an adapter so I could plug my charger into the European outlets. The breakfast buffet was added on at no cost. My only problem was that the room was too warm to sleep comfortably. It was much warmer in the room than outside but they said they couldn't turn on the AC since it was March. I spend most of the year in the Caribbean so I'm used to warm weather but the room was much too warm.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by Mana Radofa, Customer care specialist, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay at Best Western Hotel Spring House. We are happy to hear that you had a good time with us and that you could enjoy our delicious breakfast, our nice rooms and the friendliness of our Staff. We really wish to welcome you back again very soon! Kind regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location to the Vatican

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Professionalism of staff, comfier beds, soundproof doors or thicker walls.
Location: Vatican Museum is right around the corner and up the steps. Really good restaurants within walking distance.
I had a single room, and the size was very small, which was fine, but the walls and door was so incredibly thin and you could hear everything! From the elevator opening and closing to anyone opening their door. The bed was not very comfortable, but I wasn't visiting to spend time in bed, so oh well. Some of the staff was not very friendly and unprofessional. There were pros though! The breakfast had good bacon! Which is always a plus. It was a short walk to the Vatican and that was the reason of my trip. You can walk anywhere ranging between 10 minutes to an hour, so that was a plus.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by Mana Radofa, Customer care specialist, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your opinion about your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. Best regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Great stay and great price per night.would go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by Mana Radofa, Customer care specialist, Hotel Management
DearGuest, Thank you so much for your praising words and great feedback regarding your stay at Best Western Hotel Spring House. We are more than happy that you loved our hotel and enjoyed your time in Rome. Hope to welcome you back soon again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bda

Second time here and we love it.

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Good location courteous staff. I asked for a upgrade for my mom and dad room I got it no problem. We loved the front desk staff , the two philipina in the restaurant , Iuliana always greeding us and Brandon always with a smile. Hotel is close to Vatican museum , Basilica, market place , restaurants and souvenir shops. You wont regranted choosing this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by Mana Radofa, Customer care specialist, Hotel Management
Dear Cristian, Thank you so much for your nice words. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Best Western Hotel Spring House for the second time. We all wish to have the chance to welcome you back very soon! Never 2 without 3! Warm regards from all of us
2 out of 5
by magdalena

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
I booked a room for 5 and there were only one king bed and a sofa bed with out sheets