Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AB, Canada

Ok stay

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Food
Cons: Male receptionist attitude, was not welcoming.
Location: Not much. Far from ancient Rome.
The overall stay was good. The male receptionist was mean and unkind, but all the other staff was helpful. Please bring an adapter with you though. Their electrical plug is different from the one we use in North America and it may be difficult to get one to buy at the nearest shopping area close to the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, not far from Rome attractions

Posted Apr 15, 2016
Pros: Comfortable rooms and modern decor
Cons: Iron should be provided
Good hotel and nice staff. Not far from main Rome attractions if you want to drive or hire a taxi. Taxi to Colosseum costed us only 20 Euros. The hotel is about 2-3 km from the Metro station, but it took us about 35 minutes to reach there by free shuttle in the morning traffic. The only annoying thing for me was that they do not provide irons!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

the shower have black mold in the corners.

Posted Mar 1, 2016
Pros: The breakfast
Cons: the shower claning
Location: A great grocery store is close and the bus stop is 2 blocks away. It's far from the tourist attraction
the service is great. the breakfast is included, is the best breakfast far a way the I had. You can request FREE cappuccino. The staff does not understand English that well.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Long walk

Posted Oct 22, 2015
The hotel was a little hike up the hill from the bus stop. You had to hike up hill with your luggage and it was not easy finding in the dark.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Quiet and Secure Hotel

Posted Oct 18, 2015
Pros: Out of the way from the bustle of regular Roman life. Secure area and very tranquile. Free parking and excellent included breakfast.
Location: Nothing of note. Vatican and downtown Rome a 15 minute Taxi drive.
Very pleasant stay. Restaurant has decent food and reasonably priced. Far from anything and everything by foot. Require either personal vehicle or taxi to get to anywhere. Hotel is funky boutique where indeed everything is black in colour.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A good hotel to relax

Posted Jul 24, 2015
The hotel is clean and the staff are friendly. The only problem is with the public transportation. The hotel far from the attraction and the closest subway station is cornelia. There is a hotel shuttle to the subway station but only three times 8:30, 9:30 and 10:30 am. Once I checked in I asked for a late check out and the receptionist agreed and put a note in my room account, they changed their mind at the same day of checking out and asked me to leave the room 12:00 pm. This was annoying and won't happen in any other respectable hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with good links into Rome city centre.

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Black Hotel is in a nice peaceful part of Rome not far from the city centre. It is both clean and comfortable and has a great restaurant. It makes for the perfect base to visit Rome.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Style At All Costs

Posted Apr 11, 2015
The Black Hotel is well named, being almost totally black inside and out . This made negotiating stairs somewhat hazardous. We didn't sample the lift as we were only one floor up. We booked it as a bargain for a 4-star hotel, apparently not far from the Vatican. I would rate it 3-star at most, though it was too cold just before Easter for the pool to be open. The hotel is actually quite a long way out, though they did run a courtesy bus in the mornings to the nearest metro station, which was one stop from the terminus. Otherwise, buses ran every half hour. Breakfast was included, but for half our stay it included cold scrambled eggs and cold coffee. Otherwise we ate only a starter there, due to the price. If we went again I would look for somewhere more central..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Too far from the centre.

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: .
Cons: .
Location: There was nothing to do near by
The online blurb was misleading. It was not "close" to St Peter`s. The hotel shuttle was useful, and appreciated, in the mornings, but it was still a trek into the city. Reception staff were sometimes surly. The morning I left, for example, having checked out and said thank you, I was met with a stoney silence and mute response. The room was ok, but an insistent burr from the building`s ventilation system, or other source, disturbed a good night`s sleep. The breakfast was excellent staff in the dining room were most attentive and helpful. Overall it the hotel did not deserve a 4* rating
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hereford

Good location :)

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Pros: convenient location, 15 mins from airport and 10 mins from metro.
Shuttle bus from hotel to metro station and on bus route back. Close to supermarket. Nice restaurant in hotel.