Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic location and views

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: everything but location is key all attractions including the Vatican are within 30 mins walk or there is ample public transport should you prefer
Cons: All good for me
Location: Via Cavour one of the main streets of Rome , has plenty of reasonably priced restaurants, head up the road away from the Coloseum for better value
We were given rooms on the 5th floor which is the Colosseo In also part of Caeser House which is based along with reception on the second floor. Lift is not huge but is adequate and works well. Rooms are plenty big enough very well equipped with good size bathrooms again well equipped and all spotlessly clean There are 5 rooms on this floor and have the use of a kitchenette and breakfast room coffee machine etc along with a fridge and kettle etc in each room, Off the kitchen was a outside terrace with wonderful views of the Coloseum and Palatine hill, both within a few minutes walk. A varied continental breakfast is brought to your room at your requested time. staff were all very polite and helpful. We have been to Rome on a number of occasions and this in all aspects the best hotel we have stayed in.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 3, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

location,location,vacation

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
They didn't build Rome in a day but if you only have a day or so to see it, you should stay at Caesar House. The location was the best. The colosseum was just around the corner and everything else we wanted to see was within easy walking distance. The staff was very accommodating. I loved tea time and was even able to get tea later in my room when I missed the time. Breakfast was also very nice and probably the best selection from our whole trip. Great restaurant right across the street (Miscele E Fuoco's.) Would stay there again for sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pannawonica, Western Australia

Caesar House Residenze Rome

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Our room, location, the continental breakfast and continuous cups of tea and bikkies in the b/fast room. Sumi, the night manager was fantastic
Cons: Better signage for the accommodation. We were not sure what we were entering into - just confronted with a huge wooden door and a very old lift.
Location: Absolutely the best location for the Colosseum, Trevi Fountain, ancient ruins and restaurants. So much history just in Rome city itself loved it.
Fantastic location - just around the corner from the Colloseum and many of the ancient ruins, churches, Trevi fountain etc, all within walking distance. Our room was spacious and comfortable - a palace converted - our floor only had around 6 rooms. Was a little wary on arrival as there was no reception area on the ground floor and was directed to an old lift to the 2nd floor. Didnt realise the hotel only occupied the 2nd floor but once inside it was quaint and lovely. Sumi (who was in charge) couldnt have been more helpful - he was a gem. Cleaning staff were lovely and friendly - a lot of information pamphlets on the tables as you entered. No trouble at all for Sumi to print off our boarding passes on departure. Loved it and would recommend it to all our friends. Particularly loved the áll day'cups of tea provided in the small breakfast room and the bikkies and sweets - unusual to find and made it very homely. Continental breakfast was included with tasty pastries, toast, yoghurt, hard boiled eggs, cereal and fresh juices.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Hotel lost its charm

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Location in the midst of the historic district
Cons: There is no longer a friendly lounge, welcoming cup of coffee and local advice, and--for us--no air-conditioning during a very hot Rome day and night
Location: Location, in a not particularly good neighborhood, is perfectly positioned for visiting the Forum, Colisseum, and other ancient Roman ruins
Caesar House was owned and operated by a charming family, and our family stayed there for years--it has been sold and has lost its charm. It seemed more like a back-packer haven, less welcoming and more expensive than it should have been
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Perfect location

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Brilliant hotel in a great location, about 5-10 minute walk from colluseum and right opposite the Roman Forum. Helpful staff and the room itself was very clean and nice. Would definitely recommend!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Novi MI

Great location, but not what it seems

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: See above: location, location, and friendly staff.
Cons: Lots, see above: spotty wifi, loud rooms (especially in back -- the ones in front were fine), and being lied to about where I would actually stay.
Location: Location is about 300 yards from the Forum, so access to the Colosseum, Palatine, Capitoline museums, and the foot of the Via del Corso (shopping!).
The first comment is that this is more a B&B style establishment, in a 2nd floor of a renovated palazzo. The best thing is its location, to Forum & Colosseum, to the Monti and Celio neighborhoods, and with only a bit of walking, to Via del Corso, Piazza Navona etc, nearly every place of interest. Alas, although I booked my room 5 months ahead, I ended up being assigned a room in the Alanova, the annex hotel rooms on the same floor as the Caesar House. My objection to this was dismissed since the assignment was merely "administrative". Another strange detail: in a tourist city, where getting out early is often necessary (e.g. Vatican, queueing for Colosseum), breakfast starts at 7:30, and although it is ok, I have had better buffet spreads. Some other peculiarities: tv has no English language station at all, but nearly 300 or so Italian ones! The fridge in my room was replaced 3 times, from one that didn't cool, to one that did, then for no obvious reason, back to one that didn't! The WiFi is a joke: if you are close to the main desk of Alanova (hence close to Caesar House itself), the WiFi works, but otherwise, it cuts out and I just gave up. AC was spotty on the first day, but once it got adjusted, I was in a fridge, but the slight hum of the unit kept out some of the street noise. Oh yeh, noise: rooms are on the front, Via Cavour which can be loud, but the small street in the back has an Irish pub = loud. So with many option in the same area, I would opt for something else.
4 out of 5
by Rachel from Stamford

Great central location

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
Recommend for location, friendly service & those that don't like the usual chain hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Good small hotel near Roman Forum

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Pros: Convenience to sites we were visiting; large and comfortable room.
Cons: Nothing in particular.
Location: Perfect location for touring Rome: two blocks from the Forum and four from Piazza d'Italia. Walking distance to metro and many restaurants.
Hotel occupies the second floor of an office building, and is not evident from the street. The rooms are large and the bathrooms are updated. Staff is friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
by Richard from Freehold, New Jersey

A Pleasant Stay/ Good Value

Posted May 18, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed at Caesars House for 5 days. The location was very good for sights such as the Colleseum and Palentine Hill. Transportation to other sights was close by and the train terminal is in walking distance for those who enjoy walking. Roseanna, one of the main people at the front desk is a doll. She is so helpful and pleasant, will do most anything to please the customers. The included breakfast is adequate. Room and bathroom were spacious. We purchased the Roma Pass. Take a moment to research it, it is very worthwhile. All in all it was a very pleasant stay.