Ratings based on 231 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from GB

Beautiful setting, helpful staff, excellent food

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Don't be put off by this hotel's 'out of the way' position. It is the perfect sanctuary after experiencing the hustle and bustle of Rome. Fabulous friendly staff, beautiful setting, excellent food and SOOOO relaxing. This hotel is a must if you want to be spoiled. This hotel is full of history and is on the site of an ancient Roman Villa.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smart "get away from it all" hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: The pool was quiet & had plenty of sunbeds available & good poolside service.
Cons: The Wifi service was patchy across the hotel & didn't work for all our devices, we were told too many people were logged in
Location: It is an isolated hotel which apart from using the hotel shuttle bus to & from the local train station, ideally you need to have a car
We booked here as a rest from our city sightseeing. Nice hotel with nothing to do, except eat, drink & relax by the pool. Probably best accessed by car as otherwise Rome is 2 train journeys away.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Beautiful and Unique Stay

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: The view, the history, the pool, the restaurant, it's so beautiful there
Cons: The air conditioning and figuring out a way to keep away ants
Location: The location is pretty remote, but they can call you a cab to pick you up from the hotel or you can take their free shuttle to the metro station
The grounds of this hotel are beautiful and breathtaking. The food at the restaurant for dinner was delicious. They have cheap snacks at the pool like burgers, salads and sandwiches around lunchtime which was convenient. Breakfast was ok, if you like sweets it's perfect for you. The pool was perfect, never too crowded, and the life guard and attendants were friendly and helpful and would bring your food and drinks poolside to you. The room was nice, but the air conditioner was never cold enough. A lot of ants got into the room, although they were pretty much everywhere. The shower pressure was way too hard and spilled all over the floor, but overall we had a great stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norge

Historisk og sjarmerende.

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Flott, sjarmerende og historisk hotell med nydelig frokost og veldig bra basseng og uteområde.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Old Italian Charm

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: The hotel staff is exceptional! The castle is rustic, quiet and charming.
Location: There is really nothing near by which was exactly what we wanted. There is a hotel shuttle to a train station, but we used a taxi - 40 Euros.
We spent 2 weeks in Italy and our stay at Castello della Castelluccia was one of our favorite places. Upon arrival, I was slightly disappointed as it appeared the Castle grounds had not been as well maintained as I would have expected - the red entry carpet to hotel needs some care, golf cart parked in front was an eyesore and beautiful orange trees off the patio had fallen fruit that was rotting, such a shame. But after the first day there was a certain charm of being at an older Castle. I saw several workers every day sweeping leaves, cleaning and trying to keep up with the maintenance which I imagine is no small task for an older place of this size. Once you start exploring the Castle and grounds you see the lovely detail around every corner. Do not miss dinner on the patio, such amazing food, service, we could have sat there all evening. We did make a reservation every night, if in summer I'd sugget 8:30-9pm to enjoy the weather more, and every evening we were greeted with an excellent table waiting for us. The pool is a little walk below the Castle but wonderful poolside food, drinks and service. We rented the room with hydro massage, it took 45 minutes to fill but was very comfortable for 2 people and a fun room extra. The bed is hard and the A/C was just so-so but the room was rustic and beautiful. The hotel staff provided us with softer pillows upon request.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Beautiful Hotel with great facilities

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: the pool, the room and the food
Stayed with my two children of four and seven. We all loved this hotel, especially the pool. easy to find, great parking, sky TV to keep the little ones entertained (in english). lovely clean room and helpful staff
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Millthorpe NSW AU

Very up-market hotel!

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Pros: There is nothing to dislike about this place!
Location: I chose this hotel as I had stayed there before an early flight out of Rome. It is about 40 minutes to the airport.
I stayed in a little cabin down by the swimming pool and adored it! The only down-side was the very steep driveway leading to the main hotel where the restaurant is located. The air conditioning was superb and everything was immaculately presented.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Antwerpen

Goed hotel om tot rust te komen bij bezoek Rome

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: De rust, en de omgeving (veel groen) De shuttle naar het station
Cons: De welness. De badkamer op onze kamer had renovatie nodig
Location: de locatie is prachtig, maar afgelegen. In de onmiddellijke nabijheid zijn er geen restaurants.
Prachtig gelegen hotel, gevestigd in een oud kasteel. Het zwembad is mooi gelegen, maar spijtig genoeg waren de douches daar niet onderhouden. De welness is verouderd. In het hotel worden ook feesten gegeven, en dan worden de reguliere gasten een beetje opzij geschoven. De inrichting is prachtig, zowel de kamers als de publieke ruimtes zijn de moeite. Het ontbijt is uitgebreid. De kaart voor het diner is zeer goed, maar beperkt.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

A magical place to escape the mundane.

Posted May 25, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing!
Location: The location is the only turn off in that it's about 40 min outside of Rome, but it's defintely worth it and the front desk is very accommodating.
Amazing; the room, the service, the restaurant, the amenities, the staff(from bell hop to front desk to spa to kitchen; everyone excellent), I had a great time with my fiancé. We got in late around 9pm, check in was smooth, we had just enough time to get to dinner by 10:30pm. The food is delicious, well portioned and decently priced! The wine was perfect; I had 5 courses and I'm usually a light eater! Meats, cheeses, pasta, I had a pork dish that was to die for, dessert was equally amazing. On top of all that, there was a wedding outside with a full on fireworks show as we were eating :) The live music from the band outside made it's way to our tower room window overlooking the country side and I couldn't have been happier. I really felt like a Roman king staying at this hotel, they deserve the highest praise because they put effort into every single detail of your stay. I will be back!!!
4 out of 5
by Anthony

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels