Ratings based on 293 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 17, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice clean staff friendly

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Rooms were nice clean breakfast was very nice aswell as the staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by Peter, Hotel Management
Thank you very much, hope to see you again. Hotel Staff
4 out of 5
by robert k. from Chicago, USA

Posted Mar 6, 2016 on Hotels
We were there for 5 nights. The first night we were assigned room 102, on the first floor. This room is not 4*. Noisy, and depressing. We asked to change rooms the next morning and were put in room 111, on the second floor. Much nicer and much quieter. The breakfasts are nice, as is the view from the top floor breakfast area. The help at the front desk was first class. The location is wonderful. Our mattress was a bit too firm. Probably varies, room to room.
3 out of 5
by Laura

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 1, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by John from US

Bait and Switch again!!

Posted Jul 13, 2015 on Hotels
Horrible experience. They did not have our rooms and tried to move us to a "sister" property that was not in the center of Rome. We refused and rebooked another hotel on Hotels.com. Hotel Bolivar assured us we would not be charged as it was their mistake. The second place was great but now we are trying to get our refund back from Hotels.com for Bolivar since Bolivar charged for the rooms. I've read a few times this happens so obviously Bolivar, being centrally located, overbooks on purpose then tries to relocate you to one of their less desirable properties hoping you won't complain.
1 out of 5
by John from US

Bad experience!!!!!

Posted Jul 10, 2015 on Hotels
Horrible experience!!! Arrived at hotel 7pm after an 8 hr drive to find out that they did not have our 4 rooms bc A/C was broken. They wanted to move us to another property that was not near center of Rome. We refused and rebooked on Hotels.com at another hotel which was great but this hotel still charged Hotels.com for our rooms and now Hotels.com isn't giving us a refund even though we rebooked on Hotels.com for another hotel on same days!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Too many stars

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pros: The breakfast room is lovely with great views over Rome. The food was also good.
Cons: Staff could improve their interpersonal skills.
Location: The location is handy to all the main sights of Rome.
This is more like a 3 star hotel. For example, room service was not available and room inclusions were minimal. The bed was hard and bedspread dirty, and there were plumbing problems in the bathroom. Staff were generally abrupt and rude, with a couple of exceptions.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location!! Location!!

Posted May 14, 2015 on Hotels
This was my 4th stay at this hotel and it is just perfect for me. Close to everything that I enjoy in Rome. Walking distance from all except Vatican City, which is just a little too far for me to walk. It is located on a quiet street with a wonderful resturant just across from the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This is a quaint boutique hotel.

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Good location.
Cons: Would be nice to have a kettle or coffee maker in the room.
Location: Very centrally located, we walked to everything including the Forum, Colloseum, Trevi Fountain, Piazza Navona, The Vatican, San Angelo's Castle.
The hotel is centrally located and within walking distance to most popular attractions in central Rome. It is difficult to find so I recommend taking a taxi from the Termini or airport, much easier to handle luggage and finding your way than fighting with the bus traffic. The one thing I missed having was coffee in the room. There is a complimentary breakfast on the third floor, which was o.k. but not great. The front desk staff were very helpful and all-and-all I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
by leanne from Florida

Great trip

Posted Apr 25, 2015 on Hotels
Pleasant stay. Ideal location for touring the city.