Ratings based on 122 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice clean staff friendly

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Rooms were nice clean breakfast was very nice aswell as the staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by Peter, Hotel Management
Thank you very much, hope to see you again. Hotel Staff
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Too many stars

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pros: The breakfast room is lovely with great views over Rome. The food was also good.
Cons: Staff could improve their interpersonal skills.
Location: The location is handy to all the main sights of Rome.
This is more like a 3 star hotel. For example, room service was not available and room inclusions were minimal. The bed was hard and bedspread dirty, and there were plumbing problems in the bathroom. Staff were generally abrupt and rude, with a couple of exceptions.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This is a quaint boutique hotel.

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Good location.
Cons: Would be nice to have a kettle or coffee maker in the room.
Location: Very centrally located, we walked to everything including the Forum, Colloseum, Trevi Fountain, Piazza Navona, The Vatican, San Angelo's Castle.
The hotel is centrally located and within walking distance to most popular attractions in central Rome. It is difficult to find so I recommend taking a taxi from the Termini or airport, much easier to handle luggage and finding your way than fighting with the bus traffic. The one thing I missed having was coffee in the room. There is a complimentary breakfast on the third floor, which was o.k. but not great. The front desk staff were very helpful and all-and-all I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from J

Booked for convenience to work location

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Nice hotel, clean, helpful & friendly staff. Good location for visiting all the main tourist attractions. The only downside was (due to staying in a room that overlooked the steps beside the hotel) the noise from people that were at the pub at the bottom of the steps or who used the steps as a shortcut
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester UK

Nice weekend in Rome

Posted Feb 7, 2015
Stayed at the Comfort Bolivar Hotel for 3 nights. As previous guests have commented the rooms are on the small side but adequate, the pillows are very thin, but after reading others comments on the pillows we bought a pack of two pillows from Asda before we went for £3, perfect, didn't even have to bring them back lol The breakfast was excellent, really nice room on the top floor. The hotel was perfectly placed for getting out and about around Rome. Will certainly book this hotel again if we return to Rome. Well recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Bolivar

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: The staff were excellent
Cons: Personally I found the bed very hard.
Location: Excellent position in the city centre and just off the main roads so no traffic noise. Also many eating places within a short walk.
Hotel was comfortable and clean. It was in an ideal location to tour Rome. The staff were particularly friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bedfordshire, UK

Good hotel, very well-located for sight-seeing.

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Nice hotel in an excellent location, only minutes from Forum, Trajan's column etc. Clean and cool and calm. Breakfast buffet excellent, and the breakfast room on 3rd floor is very pretty with an intriguing view out over the city. Chose the hotel for its very central position so can't really complain that the room was not over-large - with 3 single beds it was quite crowded. But very clean, and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Surprisingly great.

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: One of the guys at the front desk was AWESOME. He was freindly, humorous and very helpful.
Cons: More fruit with breakfast. What was there was fresh, but there wasn't always enough, and maybe more variety.
Location: "Everything" was within walking distance, within 3 days we saw all the sites, we even walked back from the Vatican after a 4 hour tour.
When searching for a hotel, this one had some negative reviews that had me scared. The location looked great so I went for it. The hotel is located in an incredible location, within hours of our arrival we were able to walk to many desirable locations such as the Trevi fountain, the Pantheon, piazza Navona and the Spanish steps. The staff were very helpful when directing us around and giving us suggestions on where to eat/visit. The rooms were small, but that was expected, they were very clean, breakfast was a great continental, some fruit, pastries, eggs, bacon, prosciutto etc. In the end, I feel this was a great little hotel, quiet (35 rooms or so), clean, affordable. I say, go for it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, lovely staff - go stay there!

Posted Jul 10, 2012
Super little hotel, great staff and very friendly! Excellent location for getting to all the main attractions in the city. Nice and quite to sleep in and the breakfast was enough to keep us going for the day. Would absolutley recommend this hotel for anyone travelling to Rome! :-)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location but dated

Posted Mar 25, 2012
Pros: Location
Cons: Dated rooms
Fantastic location for a sightseeing visit to Rome, with a decent spread at breakfast. Unfortunately the hotel was very dated and noisy. The staff were friendly and helpful, however the bar never seemed to be open. On check-out we felt the lack of drink pricing clarity had left us with a 20euro bill for two drinks at the bar. The hotel is rated as 4star by expedia, however I would say that 2-3 is more accurate. Despite the hotel sign saying 3star outside, the rome city tax is priced as 3euro pppn not the 2euro it should be for 3 star hotels. Having said that, we did enjoy our stay in rome greatly, and the location of the hotel was perfect. The old style of the hotel was not to our taste (as a young couple).