Ratings based on 286 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by martin from Stockholm

Posted Oct 25, 2015 on Hotels
Ganska litet och slitet hotell med små rum. Frukosten var spartansk men man åt den högst upp med fin utsikt.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Laura

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 1, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by John from US

Bait and Switch again!!

Posted Jul 13, 2015 on Hotels
Horrible experience. They did not have our rooms and tried to move us to a "sister" property that was not in the center of Rome. We refused and rebooked another hotel on Hotels.com. Hotel Bolivar assured us we would not be charged as it was their mistake. The second place was great but now we are trying to get our refund back from Hotels.com for Bolivar since Bolivar charged for the rooms. I've read a few times this happens so obviously Bolivar, being centrally located, overbooks on purpose then tries to relocate you to one of their less desirable properties hoping you won't complain.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by John

Bad experience!!!!!

Posted Jul 10, 2015 on Hotels
Horrible experience!!! Arrived at hotel 7pm after an 8 hr drive to find out that they did not have our 4 rooms bc A/C was broken. They wanted to move us to another property that was not near center of Rome. We refused and rebooked on Hotels.com at another hotel which was great but this hotel still charged Hotels.com for our rooms and now Hotels.com isn't giving us a refund even though we rebooked on Hotels.com for another hotel on same days!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Too many stars

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pros: The breakfast room is lovely with great views over Rome. The food was also good.
Cons: Staff could improve their interpersonal skills.
Location: The location is handy to all the main sights of Rome.
This is more like a 3 star hotel. For example, room service was not available and room inclusions were minimal. The bed was hard and bedspread dirty, and there were plumbing problems in the bathroom. Staff were generally abrupt and rude, with a couple of exceptions.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Eva from Vinterbro

Helt greit for en langweekend

Posted Jun 4, 2015 on Hotels
Vi bodde som et par på Hotel Bolivar i en langweekend. For en weekend var hotellet ok, men skulle jeg vært der lengre ville jeg valgt et annet hotell. Det som trakk ned hotellopplevelsen var at vi fikk tildelt et veldig lite rom hvor det ikke var plass til stort mer enn den harde sengen og nattbordene. Vi kom opp til frokost mellom 0915 og 0930, og da var det tomt for brød og rundstykker (eneste som lå igjen var loff/toastskiver), og frokosten stengte kl.10, så det burde vært fylt på. Når det er sagt ligger hoteller utrolig sentralt til, gangavstand til alt. Rommet hadde fint og innbydende bad og det var deilig og enkel aircondition på rommet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Location!! Location!!

Posted May 14, 2015 on Hotels
This was my 4th stay at this hotel and it is just perfect for me. Close to everything that I enjoy in Rome. Walking distance from all except Vatican City, which is just a little too far for me to walk. It is located on a quiet street with a wonderful resturant just across from the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 11, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This is a quaint boutique hotel.

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Good location.
Cons: Would be nice to have a kettle or coffee maker in the room.
Location: Very centrally located, we walked to everything including the Forum, Colloseum, Trevi Fountain, Piazza Navona, The Vatican, San Angelo's Castle.
The hotel is centrally located and within walking distance to most popular attractions in central Rome. It is difficult to find so I recommend taking a taxi from the Termini or airport, much easier to handle luggage and finding your way than fighting with the bus traffic. The one thing I missed having was coffee in the room. There is a complimentary breakfast on the third floor, which was o.k. but not great. The front desk staff were very helpful and all-and-all I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by leanne from Florida

Great trip

Posted Apr 25, 2015 on Hotels
Pleasant stay. Ideal location for touring the city.