Ratings based on 638 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

chambre décevante

Posted Nov 4, 2016
Pros: petit déjeuner généreux et personnel aimable quartier pratique Les chambres, les lits et l’hôtel en général sont propres et bien soignés
Cons: la chambre
Location: proche de la gare la fontaine de Trévi est accessible à pied en marchant un peu.
Je pensais avoir réservé une chambre double "standard", mais j'ai l'impression d'avoir eu une chambre "éco". Petite chambre. 2 petits lits accolés alors qu'on avait spécifié un lit double. Chambre bruyante à cause d'un bruit de moteur quasi permanent (chaufferie dans la cour probablement). Bref, une chambre pas digne d'un 4 étoiles à mon avis.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: Breakfasts and very helpful staff.
Very pleasant and helpful staff. Nice location. Quiet yet easily accessible.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Adequate

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Clearly understaffed to handle customers when filled to capacity.
Location: Nearby all major attractions
Small and cramped; window overlooked a courtyard and noise from the downstairs bar echoed well into the night. Had an electrical problem at 2am one night; the breaker box in the room kept tripping and making a loud sound and lights were flickering on and off. The front desk Said people were checking out and I would need to wait. After 30 minutes I reminded them that it was the middle of the night and this was indicative of an electric problem; again I was told people were checking out. About 10 minutes later a porter came up, said maintenance would be in in the AM and they had no available rooms for us, so the remedy was to remove the key card and turn off the electric in the room, leaving us in jet black with just a small emergency light and no air circulation. We did not get much sleep that night and had to catch catch a taxi early the next morning to an event, and couldn't even wash our hair because we couldn't use the hair blower. As compensation for this inconvenience, the manager left us a note of apology and a 10 euro bottle of Proseco. Really? Breakfast each morning was very crowded. Scrambled eggs were cold or were gone and not replenished. Getting the attention of one of the hostesses to bring coffee was a challenge each morning, was room temperature when it arrived. Lastly, called at 5 am one morning because my internet was not working, again people were checking out and they said they would call in 5 min; I called again 45 min later and was give a new pswd
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

rude receptionist

Posted Sep 5, 2016
We arrived by car. In the central part of Rome, there is a zone into which one cannot drive without a resident permit (there are cameras and one gets a ticket in the mail). We are tourists, so we were worried that we might have accidentally driven into this zone on our way to the hotel. So, I asked the hotel receptionist about it. He was not helpful at all. Rude attitude, treated me like he could not care less about my problem.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great City Hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Friendly Staff, good location, larger than average rooms for Rome
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Great Hotel great location, good food, great staff, the Consorzio Airport Shuttle was a disgrace They were closed on Monday. Not even anyone to take calls, all though they requested on their Confirmation 112762808771 that we were to call to confirm departure and do not give a tele number. The hotel tried, we tried, the tourist office tried. We were left with no other choice Than to use the Hotel service. At more cost, I will be making a claim for refund and extra cost involved. David J. Martyn
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Österreich

Ruhiges Hotel in Gehreichweite zu Metro

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Location: Nähe Hauptbahnhof (ca. 10 Minuten zu Fuß), Trevi-Brunnen, spanische Treppe, Piazza Popolo etc. in Gehreichweite (ca. 20-30 Minuten zu Fuß)
Für einen Sightseeing-Trip in Rom sehr geeignet, da viele Sehenswürdigkeiten auch zu Fuß erreicht werden können, das Hotel in einer Nebenstraße aber dennoch vergleichsweise ruhig liegt. Die Zimmer sind klein, aber sauber und funktional. Das Team am Empfang war immer freundlich und bemüht - es war z.B. schon ein Early Checkin vor 10:00 ohne Aufpreis möglich. Das Frühstücks-Buffet ist ausreichend und auf spezielle Diätwünsche wird eingegangen.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet Neighborhood

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Pros: The location provided very quiet evenings and good restaurant choices within walking distance.
Cons: Perhaps a tea/coffee maker in-room.
Very nice and typical European hotel. Rooms are smaller than usual, but very clean and quiet.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Nice hotel relative to the cost

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: Clean and cost.
Cons: Decor and seating areas.
Location: Location 8 out of 10. With all the sites of Rome to go to.
9 out of10 for this hotel. Little bits like the nylon stretch seat covers on the chairs and settee's were not quite good enough for the star rating. Otherwise pleasant, with a good breakfast included.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

4 Stars does not get any better!

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Cons: Offer a second pillow and room key to guests in single rooms.
Location: Come il Latte around the corner has the BEST gelato in the city!
A 4 Star hotel does not get any better than this! A friend and I just returned from Rome and stayed at The Empire. The rooms were extremely clean. The hotel staff were kind and helpful. The breakfast buffet was delicious with many choices. The hotel is close enough to most sites to be within walking distance and the surrounding buildings are interesting and more representative of Rome than say the busier touristy areas like Trevi where it is too crowded. There are great restaurants in the area and shopping. We highly recommend this hotel...and that is coming from 2 very picky Canadians!