Ratings based on 2,482 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rusty Hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2017
The only good thing about this hotel is their location. Everything is near by and by a decent walking distance. The first thing we noticed after we checked in was that the hotel was either still under renovation or they had just never finished it in the first place. Within the first five minutes of getting into our room, our closet door broke and fell on the bed. It smelled like sewage in the whole room and whole hotel, we tried to open the hotel room window to get some fresh air but that was stuck as well. There fore within those first 5 minutes we already had to call the front desk twice. Also not to mention that we came in during the winter in January and the heater was barely working. I do not recommend this hotel until they completely renovate and fix all of their flaws. Like again their location and the history of the building is excellent but the hotel itself is not a place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, Ohio

Location, Location, Location....

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: LOCATION - as stated above, this location allowed us to do everything planned for the trip.
Cons: Special arrangements for early arrivals - temporary room to clean up and store our stuff when our scheduled room was not available.
Location: The location was the best aspect of this hotel. It was very convenient to the train station, underground, gelato store, shopping and restaurants.
The room we booked was for three people. Based upon other European hotel rooms it was a little bigger than what I have experienced in the past. More space would have been appreciated but we basically only slept in the room and didn't need to spend a lot of time there. The hotel staff were accommodating but don't expect to check in early. Our flight landed in Rome at 9:15 am and we basically got to the hotel around 11:00 am. We had to check in our luggage and find something to do until around 1:30 pm. I know this is usually hit or miss but I truly do not think that the hotel was ever totally booked and arrangements could have been made to get us into our room sooner. I don't want to take away from the service we received but this would have made our arrival much better. The location was the best aspect of this hotel. It was very convenient to the train station, underground, gelato store (right across the street), shopping, restaurants, and walking distance to the Coliseum. The breakfast in the morning was nice. As previous reviews have stated, it WAS the same each morning. Needless to say I did not go hungry and of the days we ate there. We even took a day trip to Venice and getting to and on the speed train was so easy. I would recommend and stay at this hotel again if I ever go back to Rome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great overall - shame about noisy airconditioning.

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Location. The single room was quite spacious and the bathroom appeared newly refurbished. All very clean.
Cons: The noise of the air conditioning unit needs to be sorted out.
Location: Hand for Termini station. Many buses too. Forum, Colisseum, Quirinale, Spanish Steps, Piazza Barberini (and much more) within easy walking distance.
Excellent location, staff very friendly. Reassuring that reception open 24/7. It was extremely hot during my stay. Unfortunately it was impossible to sleep with the aircon on, as it was too noisy, but difficult and uncomfortable to sleep without aircon. Consequently I had zero sleep on two of my four nights there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PORTSMOUTH UK

nice hotel close to all Romes attractions

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: the location
Cons: tea or coffee in the room
I have stayed at this hotel before its in a great location ,we walked to all the attractions in Rome with one exception the Vatican which if you are a good walker , walk back and take in all the back street life thats so wonderful in Rome , a gentle stroll would take you 1 hour but why rush it took us 7 hours with stops at bars and sites food stop , wonderful, the position is 15 min from the terminal 10 min from the metro , the hotel in places look a bit tired but can not fault the cleanliness , a good selection that would suit all diets for breakfast , only the lack of drink making facilities in the bedroom was annoying a tea or a coffee of an evening out would have finished of the day , the
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Staff very friendly and helpful, breakfast excellent and good value. Very close to all of the major sights within walking distance for the reasonably fit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane australia

Near bus and tour office

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Suited us price good for what you get, staff friendly, double beds are ridiculously small for two adults.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SC, USA

Great location, working ac, all you need

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Clean room with working ac. Great location in Rome right by the metro stations. Lots of food options nearby and possibly hotel pick up for activities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Poole UK

Good location for seeing major attractions.

Posted Jun 11, 2017
I was apprehensive about my stay at this hotel as some of the reviews were quite negative regarding the size of the rooms and the general condition of the hotel. Yes the room we were given was extremely small, requested a move as we wanted a room with twin beds not a standard double, the staff were very efficient and helpful, no problem moving us to a larger room that was also quieter at the back of the hotel. Yes there were a couple of other small issues which were quickly dealt with, I can't fault the staff at all, you have to appreciate that old buildings have a certain charm that modern ones don't, I would stay again but only in a larger room, the small rooms are really the only thing that would be an issue for me. The location is good, walking distance to the metro and a few minutes more to Termini main train station. The Colosseum, Forum etc.. all about 10 to 15 minutes walk.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 6, 2017
This hotel is not a 4 star, apart from location it has nothing else going for it. The double bed is nor double, just a big single and left both my husband and I itchy and uncomfortable so I can only assume there were bed mites. The rooms were small and dingy and I wouldn't recommend at all.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Central bed and breakfast.

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: Breakfast good. Room cold and Blue rather like a canteen.
Cons: Quite a lot.
Location: Good location
The hotel was usefully positioned for sight seeing. No tea and coffee making facilities. No lounge or extra comfort. Room very small as was the double bed. Looked out onto brick walls