Ratings based on 920 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Not sure how it attained a 4 star rating, more like a three
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, convenient location to all sights.

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Its location and the helpful staff.
Cons: It was very warm when we were there and often the room was stuffy. There was no air conditioning that week despite the high temperatures in Rome.
Location: It was walking distance to the Forum and Coliseum. There were a number of good restaurants nearby and the Metro was right across the street.
We found the staff very helpful. The breakfasts were large with lots of choices and very good coffee. We would have liked a better kind of croissant that was not sweetened but other bread choices were very good. My only negative experience was that my wife's raincoat and black jersey jacket disappeared from the closet. This is a mystery since cleaning staff is not allowed to go into the closets. The front desk staff said they would look into it but we came home with it still a mystery.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Nice hotel with great location

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: We loved the location, nice, helpful staff
Cons: Temperature control in rooms, and wifi
Location: Great location! Very close to the Colesseum, The Forum, Palatine Hill, Old Rome, lots of restaurants nearby, walk to train station and metro
We enjoyed a weeks stay here, from 04/05/17 - 04/12/17. Our room was nice and clean, and the bed was very comfortable. While the bathroom is very small, it was clean, and we made do. We were on the front side of the hotel, and while there is quite a bit of traffic, when the window was closed, it did not disturb our sleep. Our only problem was that the heat had not yet been changed over to A/C, and it was hot! We opened the window until bedtime to cool the room. We inquired about the A/C the day we checked in, but when a different desk clerk asked about our stay, we told him that our room was hot, and on the street where the sun made it warmer, and he said that they would have moved us ... too late, lol. Wifi is available, but I could never connect in our room, and had to go into the hall or to the lobby to get online. Large breakfast buffet, and a very nice, helpful staff. Even with the hiccups, we would definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Well located, staff friendly and helpful.

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Warm welcome on arrival, only a 10 min walk from train station. Hotel looked after our bags until our room was ready. Room big and clean, comfy bed, tea and coffee facilities. Breakfast was lovely lots of choice. Hotel location just a 5 min walk to Colloseum, lots of shops and cafes nearby too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Excellent location

Posted Mar 22, 2017
This hotel is in a excellent location 5 minutes walk to the coliseum and all the main attractions. The hotel staff made me feel welcome and helped with the tourist map that they give for free. I liked my room was spacious only negative was no tea/coffee making facility also the wifi was weak in room. Breakfast was good with lots of people even at 6:30am when it opens. It had all you needed but they should do more fruit as its only melon and pineapple. I would stay here again definiatley for its locations best gelato place called graze is a short walk away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and friendly staff!

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Great location-only 20mins from termini station and close to get into the centre to see everything. Friendly and informative staff who were always happy to help. Lots of small family run restaurants in the surrounding streets to give a real taste of Rome!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

standard hotel

Posted Mar 11, 2017
The hotel is in a good location, staff are friendly and speak English. The downside would be the lack of comfort in the room, not enough plug sockets, no iron available which meant I had to wear creased clothes throughout my trip. Breakfast was not nice either.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

FH Grand

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Great location right next to the Coliseum! Staff friendly and helpful. Enjoyed our stay! Would defo use this hotel again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Worst Hotel

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: BURN THE PLACE AND FIRE THE STAFF
Location: Great location, in the heart of the city. BETTER HOTELS NEAR BY
At this hotel the service at the front desk, (males only) did not care a bit you as a guest. 1st: Group of 15 and we all got sick one by one starting the 2nd day until the last day. We also found out that there were a group of 30 people who checked in after us and they started getting sick. They checked out of the hotel right away. 2nd: Smell in the room is horrible, mold around the tube shower, towel holders broken, door does not close properly. If you complain about anything, no need, because nothing will get done. (ex. my blow dryer didn't work, never fix) Sheets were not changed daily! Again, you let the desk know......and nothing gets done. It makes me sick to think about all that happened, but PLEASE don't use the hotel at all. Oh, I forgot.....breakfast is horrible!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by Paola - Brand & Social Media Dept. , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I am sorry for replying so late but we really care about Guests comments and, in order to improve our service, we take our time to investigate and better understand the reason behind this complaint. As far as the bathroom is concerned I would like to inform you that we are solving the problem through the renovation program, already started on last December. According to this, all the bathroom with the same problem mentioned in your review, will be replaced. Unfortunately during your visit in our Hotel, many Guests got sick because of a virus disease. We apologise for the inconvenience regarding the accommodation but I am sorry we can't accept the expressions used for our Staff who daily work very hard to keep and enhance our standard of service. We are proud of the number of positive comments that the web communities have shared over the years, and I am sorry that you did not feel the same way. We all have done the best possible to ensure you a pleasant stay, but in your specific case, we did not succeed. Best regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but not a 4 star hotel

Posted Jan 13, 2017
When we first walked in, we stood there for 15 mins with the staff just standing around. Eventually somebody helped us. Then when we got to our room, there was dirt all over the desk and our bathroom floor had water all over it. When we would take a shower, water would leak all over the floor from the tub. Also, the room was too hot. We tried to control the heat with the thermostat but nothing would work.