Ratings based on 126 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Perfect for walking Rome!

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Location, Quality of room
Location: You can walk to a lot of sites from here
I had a very positive experience at the Golden Rooms. I booked 1 room for just me so it had a little twin bed. I am a 27 year old woman from the US and I felt very safe here as a solo traveler. The person who let me in (I believe Nino) was very helpful. He gave me a map and pointed out and circled all of the points of interest in the area before I got settled in. You must pay in CASH fyi. That was not a problem for me. I literally walked to the Coliseum which took about 20 minutes and was a beautiful walk on a nice day. From there I took a tour and walked the entire tour and then I went to the Trevi Fountain on my own and then The Spanish Steps which ended my exploration of Rome and the Spanish Steps were literally up the block from the hotel!! So in the nutshell the location is very central and walkable. I would stay here again!
4 out of 5
by Laura from Tamworth

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
Great stay. Brilliant location for trevi fountain, Soanish steps and bars and restaurants. Breakfast wasn't much, a croissant and a coffee. Biggest negative was the lack of a bathroom door! This made things very awkward when showering!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One of the worst five hotels I have ever stayed in

Posted Apr 15, 2016 on Hotels
Thanks to hopelessly inadequate and positively misleading directions on the hotel's website, I spent two hours walking round and round carrying my luggage in sweltering heat trying to find this place. I rang the hotel over and over again, yet not once did anybody bother to answer the phone to help me. Having left Dublin at 6.30am, I finally - having given up on anybody answering the phone - reached my room after 4pm exhausted and soaked in sweat after two hours of trying to locate it. The best part of the day was gone, the city break was ruined. The shower had to be run for several minutes before it became even tepid. Breakfast consisted of being given a voucher for a croissant and coffee at a cafe in the neighbourhood. That's it. I asked if I could leave my luggage for a few hours. It transpired that my luggage would be left at an unattended reception area and that other guests would therefore have unhindered access to it. So I had no choice other than to spend the second and final day of a totally ruined city break yet again carrying my luggage around all day in the Rome heat. The staff member was pretty hopeless, with a very limited understanding of English. I have been a regular traveller for over 30 years and must have stayed at hundreds of hotels. If I had to compose a list of the worst five, Golden Rooms would easily be in the top five and probably in the top three. Just an absolutely awful experience that completely ruined my holiday. Avoid like the plague.
3 out of 5
by Not Provided

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cary NC

Hidden fees and disappointing room

Posted Oct 21, 2015
Pros: Location, cleanliness and helpfulness of some of the staff.
Cons: Update the decor including painting the walls as they are peeling and dirty.
Location: Near the Borghese Gardens.
We checked into Golden Rooms this past Sunday Oct. 20th. There were 5 of us (self, hubby, 2 sons and mom). We booked 2 rooms and when we checked in they had us on different sides of the building each of which requires separate keys. Also the walls were paper thin, the rooms were clean but outdated and well worn. It rained the night we were there and the rain flowed into one of the rooms soaking my mother's suitcase. Also, they don't tell you about hidden fees per person in Rome or Italy. We were hit with that as well. The breakfast is a roll and coffee down the street. I suggest looking elsewhere. You can find better for that price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location, no lobby

Posted Oct 8, 2015
Pros: See above
Cons: Credit cards should be accepted. Also, a small sign at the door "Golden Rooms" would be nice.
Location: Good location, but note that it is at the upper level of the Spanish steps, and there is a lift near the subway. I made the steps with my luggage..
This facility is at good location, the staff was fine and the room was clean. The thing is that the visitor should know that there is no Lobby. You should ring or call at the door. Also there is no sign of the hotel (just the address), and credit cards are not accepted.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2015
The B&B is in a great location... Will definitely stay here again when I return to Rome.
4 out of 5
by Yolanda from Miami

Room with a view

Posted Sep 24, 2015 on Hotels
Loved it, excellent location, walking distance from everything, fair price, nice room, nice view... checked in with Nino...very helpful...thank you. Of course, will return if I go back to Rome
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location, basic accomodation

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Excellent location for walking to the majority of monuments, sites and restaurants! 2 minute walk to the nearest metro station. Room was cleaned regularly, basic Italian breakfast. Only downfalls were lack of furniture in the room, and the very thin walls meaning we could hear our neighbours when they were in their room. Would still recommend to those visiting Rome due to the location and reasonable price!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from aus

Only good thing was the location

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Staff disconcerting and not very informative. COULD ONLY PAY IN CASH. So should this place be called a b and b although you have to walk up the street for stale pasteries. Only good thing was the location to the spanish steps