Ratings based on 454 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Very nice hotel close to the centre of Rome

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: The location; staff.
Cons: Greater variety on the menus and closer attention to the general maintenance of fitments in the rooms.
Location: From this hotel it is possible to walk to all the major places of interest.
The hotel is very nice and set in lovely grounds. The staff are excellent and always made you feel welcome. The rooms are very well appointed however we found a shortage of seating for a 5 day stay and some of the fitments were loose and needed maintenance, but it didn't stop us enjoying the stay. Be warned however that the cost of drinks and food is very high, given what you get.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berko

Nice hotel really close to all main attractions .

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Hotel in a great location right next to Vatican,clean and tidy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whitinsville,MA

Great hotel

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Gran Melia was clean, comfortable and in a great location. The staff was friendly and spoke English very well. The lobby was a great place for a glass of wine or cappuccino after a long day of touring the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Nice hotel close to the Vatican

Posted Feb 25, 2017
This hotel screams luxurious in every way. From the staff to the rooms, everyone treats you like you're special and you feel that way. I honestly have no real complaints besides I wish there were more power plugs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Birthday stay

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Staff,rooms,food all excellent!
Cons: Only complaint water wasn't very hot but that's being picky!
Location: Right near Vatican and free shuttle bus into Rome but can easily be walked just wear comfy shoes.
Can't recommend this place enough,had complimentary wine and cake in our room for my boyfriends birthday,staff went above and beyond,nothing was to much trouble! Room was lovely massive round bath maids came twice a day! Probably even better in the summer as other restaurant is open,outside terrace and pool. Was close to Vatican and we walked in to Rome centre no worries! Lovely hotel,magical place,wonderful people!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent service ! Very friendly staff

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Impecable service, red level treatment was amazing, very friendly staff
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 1, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from illinois

Close to the Vatican .

Posted Dec 26, 2016
i was disappointed by the cleanliness of the room I am not sure if they clean or sweep the floor but I see a lot of dust under the chairs . The most disappointing aspect was the breakfast. The staff were Indifferent. They don't ask you if you need anything . It takes a while to get your coffee ( coffee is served by request ) The scrambled eggs awful.They seemed raw and tasteless.It seemed like they dumped thiese raw eggs in the schafing dish to be cooked. They don't refill fast.The room service staff were good and courteous but the menu is limited . Location is good if you want to be close to the Vatican.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Luxury hotel adjacent to the Vatican

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: Understated luxury, outstanding service, great food.
Location: Vatican, central Rome, dozens of museums and churches, fantastic shopping.
This was our second stay in Gran Melia, and honestly we normally aim for a less highly ranked option. But our plane ticket offered a package and when I saw that Gran Melia was an option, I couldn't resist. Stunning hotel in a perfect location for experiencing everything Rome has to offer. We walked, and distances are short, but they also have a shuttle to the fancier shopping area and you can get a taxi in seconds. The restaurant and lounge are absolutely wonderful, and really my only reproach is that the rooms I've been assigned were both a little cramped.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham,UK

Excellent hotel 10 minute stroll from town.

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: The facilities & the staff are excellent.
Cons: The breakfast buffet was a little expensive
Location: The location is good, although its situated at the top of a hill, so if you're not physically fit this one might not be for you.
The staff are excellent and very very helpful, The hotel itself is at the top of a small hill so that might put some people off. The Sistine Chapel & St Peters basilica are a 10-15 minute stroll away. The Colosseum is a 40 minute walk away you can walk through town and take in some of the sites or get a cab that may cost about 15 Euros. It takes about 10-15 minutes to stroll into town (get a handy map from reception) and there are quite a few places to see that are no more than 20 minutes away such as Fontana Di Trevi-roma & the Pantheon. There are more but you can find those on the handy map. There are a lot of things to see but be prepared to do a lot of walking if you want to make the most of it.