Ratings based on 297 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent service ! Very friendly staff

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Impecable service, red level treatment was amazing, very friendly staff
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from illinois

Close to the Vatican .

Posted Dec 26, 2016
i was disappointed by the cleanliness of the room I am not sure if they clean or sweep the floor but I see a lot of dust under the chairs . The most disappointing aspect was the breakfast. The staff were Indifferent. They don't ask you if you need anything . It takes a while to get your coffee ( coffee is served by request ) The scrambled eggs awful.They seemed raw and tasteless.It seemed like they dumped thiese raw eggs in the schafing dish to be cooked. They don't refill fast.The room service staff were good and courteous but the menu is limited . Location is good if you want to be close to the Vatican.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Luxury hotel adjacent to the Vatican

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: Understated luxury, outstanding service, great food.
Location: Vatican, central Rome, dozens of museums and churches, fantastic shopping.
This was our second stay in Gran Melia, and honestly we normally aim for a less highly ranked option. But our plane ticket offered a package and when I saw that Gran Melia was an option, I couldn't resist. Stunning hotel in a perfect location for experiencing everything Rome has to offer. We walked, and distances are short, but they also have a shuttle to the fancier shopping area and you can get a taxi in seconds. The restaurant and lounge are absolutely wonderful, and really my only reproach is that the rooms I've been assigned were both a little cramped.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham,UK

Excellent hotel 10 minute stroll from town.

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: The facilities & the staff are excellent.
Cons: The breakfast buffet was a little expensive
Location: The location is good, although its situated at the top of a hill, so if you're not physically fit this one might not be for you.
The staff are excellent and very very helpful, The hotel itself is at the top of a small hill so that might put some people off. The Sistine Chapel & St Peters basilica are a 10-15 minute stroll away. The Colosseum is a 40 minute walk away you can walk through town and take in some of the sites or get a cab that may cost about 15 Euros. It takes about 10-15 minutes to stroll into town (get a handy map from reception) and there are quite a few places to see that are no more than 20 minutes away such as Fontana Di Trevi-roma & the Pantheon. There are more but you can find those on the handy map. There are a lot of things to see but be prepared to do a lot of walking if you want to make the most of it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

fantastic location

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: beautiful in side and close to city centre
it is amazing so close to all the great sites of Rome
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Potentially a fantastic hotel but disappointing

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: The view, the grounds and setting, the cleanliness and the big image (albeit a bit superficial) of luxury. Very comfy bed and pillows.
Cons: The feeling of being a second class guest (not red level) and the prices which seemed exorbitant - 3 to 4 times a nice restaurant in town.
Location: Rome is a fantastic city with so many things to do and see, this wouldn't put me off going back - although a less pretentious hotel would be better.
The main problem is staff seemed more concerned with the image of the hotel (which is stunning) and with those who paid for their red level service. (we were quotes another 350 Euros per night if we wanted to upgrade to the lowest red level room). Twice I had to argue with staff about their hotel rules - i.e. not allowing tea to be served in the lobby seating area and being allowed to open a bottle of Prosecco (their gift for our anniversary) by the pool - due to it being a "service" area. I got what I requested in the end but had to get quite angry. They were visibly shocked when I discovered a real live caterpillar in the lettuce they served with a 24 Euro sandwich, but could only muster a free ice cream to excuse this shock. Finally I do appreciate the saying when in Rome do as the Romans do, but as an Englishman I still enjoy a cup of tea, and with no tea making facilities in the room (which is full of every gadget you can imagine - so many they were hardly any electric sockets left for guests to use themselves), having to pay 8 Euros for a small pot of hot water, one tea bag and a small jug of milk seemed astoundingly expensive even for the 5 star luxury. As a result my wife an I spent over £100 on cups of tea in 6 days!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Santiago, Chile

No respect for Expedia and the customer

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: The location. Two blocks from the Vatican.
Cons: Assign the room one has reserved with Expedia respecting the Expedia rate.
Location: Very good location. Walking distance to San Pedro and the Vatican.
The check in was terrible. They asigned us a room absolutely dark, no view at all, with a wall in front of the window and 50% more expensive than the Expedia quotation. As I rejected it they showed me another room even worst. It took us an hour to talk to the Public Relations Manager who told us to wait half an hour for another room. I was going to stay two days an it took me three hours to obtain a decent room. At check out they said that the rate given by Expedia was in Euros not in dollars. So Expedia had given me a rate of 364 per day dollars and I had to pay them 445 Euros plus tax. Absolutely no respect for Expedia an the customer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Oasis

Posted Sep 30, 2016
This resort is a must-stay in Rome. After traveling 9 days throughout Italy our party of 8 spent our last night at the Gran Melia and it did not disappoint. From the welcoming check-in (we were upgraded to a Superior Room) to last minute assistance by the concierge with our dinner reservation, the customer service was excellent. The room was wonderfully appointed, very clean and the turn down service was gratefully appreciated. Our only regret was that we didn't stay here during our first 3 days in Rome, but we will return. My sister has a vacation share with the Melia resorts and after our stay at the Rome property, I would love to become a member.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beautiful position but rooms are very small

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: very near to Vatican and has a swimming pool. stay at gran melia a lot
Cons: the rooms are very small by gran melia standards so be prepared to pay the extra to get a room with light
Location: too may too mention
beautiful position. the staff try to be helpful but you have to be prepared to ask more than once for things. unless you are prepared to significantly upgrade the rooms are very small . they went out of thier way to help us upgrade to bigger and much more expensive room . it was a convent so the rooms are small
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A hype

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: The location is very nice. Swimming pool area also is very cozy.
Cons: Rooms must be sound proofed and internet connection/wifi signal must improved ASAP
Location: You are very closet to Vatican City. Nice area.
Super location but unfortunately our small room was in a very noisy environment (near the stairs) plus we could hear everything was happening in the corridor. There is no bell so people have to knock on doors, creating even more noise. But worst of the worst was the Wi-Fi connection that was a total joke. I could expect that kind of slow connection/bad signal 10 years ago, but not now in a 5 star hotel. Plus I work online so this was very stressing for me.