Ratings based on 402 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A hype

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: The location is very nice. Swimming pool area also is very cozy.
Cons: Rooms must be sound proofed and internet connection/wifi signal must improved ASAP
Location: You are very closet to Vatican City. Nice area.
Super location but unfortunately our small room was in a very noisy environment (near the stairs) plus we could hear everything was happening in the corridor. There is no bell so people have to knock on doors, creating even more noise. But worst of the worst was the Wi-Fi connection that was a total joke. I could expect that kind of slow connection/bad signal 10 years ago, but not now in a 5 star hotel. Plus I work online so this was very stressing for me.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Close to the Vatican.

Posted Jul 24, 2016
The Gran Melia was recommended by a friend and it was close to the Vatican where we wanted to be. The hotel was beautifully decorated but it was high on a hill and you really did not feel like a part of the city and it was a walk to almost everywhere. The prices for everything were high and while I am happy to pay a high price for things if they are worth it, the focaccia sandwich for lunch was not very good and the selection was limited. The staff were condescending and we were made to feel like we didn't quite belong there. At breakfast, we sat for too long waiting for our coffee and once again, felt like we did not belong. The room was clean and nicely decorated but the towels were postage size. I would not stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Napa

Treated like family.

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Pros: The staff which I refer to as my Italian family.
Location: The hotel is on the Tiber River close to the Vatican.
I wanted to thank you and your resort staff for the sincere welcome and hospitality that was afforded to us during our stay at your resort. We had the fabulous and elegantly laid out room 202. We had the pleasure of your excellent Red Glove Service. We arrived on Wednesday, June 29. As we entered the Gran Melia residence, we were welcomed by your Red Glove representative, Sylvia Farano. Sylvia was the first person we interacted with in Rome. For me, first impressions are everything in the hospitality business. Sylvia treated us with kindness, attentiveness and most importantly respect. The airline had misplaced my luggage. Sylvia was able to assist us in retrieving my luggage by the next day. Right then and there, we knew we were in excellent hands. Sylvia helped us with our tours, offered plenty of suggestions and directions. What was most impressive was that she had always asked us how our day of sightseeing was or how our dinners in central Rome was. She always remembered. There was a couple of days that she was not working and needless to say we missed her. The rest of your staff was equally helpful. When she returned to work, it was like seeing a family member. My family and I met you Ana in the lounge. You had asked us how we were and if there was anything you can do for us. You have no idea how that makes a traveler feel when you are so welcoming. We came to Rome to sight see, eat the food and learn your history. But, what I will remember forever are the wonderful
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely setting

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: Staff
Cons: Larger rooms
Location: Next to the Vatican
Beautiful grounds and pool area. A great place to return and relax after the heat of the day sightseeing. Staff could not be more accommodating
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from T

Perfecto!

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Truly a five star hotel. Highly recommend paying for Red Level. Pool was a perfect break in the afternoon in the hot summer.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bruxelles

Superbe Hotel - bien situé

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: Tout
Séjour fantastique dans cet hotel, très bien situé mais néanmoins calme. Le personnel est charmant, la piscine très agréable et les chambres très comfortables. A recommander!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from c

Chambre petite et matériaux bas de gamme

Posted Jun 17, 2016
Nous imaginions un Hotel charmant avec une belle patine puisqu'il s'agit d'un ancien couvent. Mais l'hôtel a été rénové en effaçant toute trace de charme et de goût. La décoration est affreuse. Les matériaux ne sont pas nobles. Salle de bain ouverte séparée du reste de la petite chambre par un store bas de gamme et des tentures en nylon, pas de baignoire, petite fenêtre. Le tout à un prix très élevé absolument pas justifié.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Westchester, NY

Outstanding!!!!!!

Posted May 29, 2016
Pros: The staff, every single person is friendly and helpful. A very personal atmosphere. The greeters at the front driveway are outstanding.
Cons: No improvements needed.
Location: The hotel is located walking distance to the Vatican. Walk along the Gianicolo, the views of Rome are spectacular! Great for picture taking.
This is our second time staying at the Gran Melia and it won't be the last! From the moment you arrive every member of the staff greets you and treats you with the best customer service. The staff actually remembered us from 2 years ago. There is a personal touch to all they do. The lobby area has a spacious sitting area, great place to relax after a long touring day. The rooms are beautifully decorated, with high quality amenities. They dining area is enclosed with glass so you always have beautiful views of the property. The breakfast buffet is plenty and always fresh. The cappuccino is delicious! The pool is beautiful, a very relaxing atmosphere. The property itself is well maintained, the grounds are beautiful for walking and picture taking. The staff is above outstanding, extremely helpful, friendly and very professional. Staying at the Gran Melia is the best of both worlds, you have the busy city atmosphere during the day and a peaceful resort to relax at night. We will return!
4 out of 5
by Mats

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ROME

Rome

Posted May 18, 2016
Pros: La situation, l'environnement, l'atmosphère, le cadre
Séjour très réussi au sein de cet hôtel même si un peu d'attente à l'arrivée