Ratings based on 469 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Warning: Do Not Let Them Put You on the 6th Floor!

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Customer Service is severely lacking. Rooms on the 6th floor are atrocious and unacceptable for a 5 star hotel. Breakfast for 35 Euros? Seriously?
Location: Close to Pantheon - that's really the only decent things about this hotel.
My wife and I were excited to stay at the Grand Hotel Minerve for a couple of nights in Rome. Unfortunately this hotel was the worst experience of my life They put us on the 6th floor - right below their restaurant. And with the paper-thin walls you can hear EVERYTHING. Every 3 minutes the door to the restaurant would slam and reverberate through our room. And we could literally hear the people in the restaurant talking, and laughing. At 11 pm we called down to the night manager to ask if we could move - With the noise we knew we would not sleep. The night manager said he couldn't move us as the hotel was full. He said he'd call the restaurant and ask them to keep it down - and that the restaurant closed around 11:30. Well, he must have called and told them that our room was the one that complained because at 11:30, the people came out of the restaurant and walked right up to our door (nobody else's) and banged on it loudly, scaring my wife half to death. Yes, that's what I want - drunks banging on our door and swearing at us in Italian. Great - this is how a 5 star hotel treats their guests. And while the restaurant closed at 11:30 the staff - almost as loud as the guests - were there until 1 am. They were back at 6 am. We got about 4 hours sleep. While they did move us the next day, they never offered us anything to compensate for the awful experience - they really just don't care. Save your money and skip this hotel - definitely not a 5 star, 3 Stars at best if that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great Hotel!!

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: The size of the rooms and how helpful everyone was and the location.
It is the second time we stayed at this hotel and will stay here any time we go to Rome. The staff was amazing and very accommodating and the room was beautiful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire, England

Fantastic location BUT not a 5*

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Facilities, Buffet breakfast
The hotel is in a fantastic location for sure and the staff are helpful enough. We booked a superior room and after reading the reviews were looking forward to a relaxing stay in quality surroundings. Room 423 in my humble opinion is no more than a standard 3/4* room definetely not SUPERIOR! The bathroom was very cramped old fashioned and poorly decorated. The TV channels were limited with only news channels available in English. No fold down service or chocolates as noted by other reviewers. in general very disappointing thankfully Rome was not and we spent very little time in the room. The buffet breakfast on the Roof terrace @ 35 euros per head was expensive for the food on offer. In conclusion the prices charged were 5* but were not supported by the facilities on offer. Maybe we have been spoilt by our trips to 5* hotels in London, USA & Dubai
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 6, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad hotel

Posted Jul 28, 2016 on Orbitz
We took our children to the rooftop brunch and after two slices of salami one espresso and one piece of bread served. We received a bill of 140 euro.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel, in the perfect location

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Location: Every major attraction and museum is within walking distance. And every walk is a delight in Rome. So much to see!
Great hotel. Centrally located and close to the Parthenon, so even when you get lost (which is easy to do in Rome) you can always find your way back quite easily. Great rooftop bar with spectacular views. Staff are wonderful, really wonderful. Bathroom floors and outside of tub could have used a better scrubbing.. And the floor in the room could have used a mop. The only things disappointing about the hotel .... The room wasn't dirty, but as this is a five star, just expected a little more care in the housekeeping. Fantastic location, especially for my first visit to Rome. All the major attractions were within a 5 to 20 minute walk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Jul 7, 2016 on CheapTickets
Very helpful staff in reception. Instant availability of taxis. The most perfect location possible! Room is well appointed and air conditioning works great.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LaPaz, Mexico/Boise, Idaho

Very overpriced 5 Star Hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: Nice lobby is all I can say.
Cons: There are so many to list. Booking rooms is big problem. Many of the rooms are small, no view, no terraces. Stupidly expensive.
Location: Location is excellent but there are dozens and dozens of hotels within the same area. Would not ever return to theis terrible hotel.
Very disappointing 6 day stay in this "5 Star" Hotel. Everything about this hotel is charging you ridiculous prices and delaying endlessly if you have a problem. I would never recommend this hotel. Booking rooms is a huge problem .. you have no idea what you will get but the rooms are all expensive. Many rooms are small, no view unless you consider looking at a wall a view, no terraces. If you complain you are told the hotel is full? But if you push they suddenly have a big room with a view but charge you another 80 EUR per night when you already thought you'd booked a top room. We traveled through France and Italy, every hotel offered a free delightful breakfast buffet... not this 5 Star hotel. They charge you 35 EUR per person for breakfast .... ridiculous for the price they charge for the rooms. There are so many disappointments with this hotel I can not list them all. Do not go to the rooftop restaurant! We went up just for a drink. 2 people 1 drink each ... simple bar scotch and water. 39 EUR for 2 drinks??? That is the most I have ever paid for a bar drink anywhere and I have traveled extensively and have stayed in many 5 Star Hotels.
4 out of 5
by Petra

Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was good but Air Condition did not work properly and the Room overnight was to warm
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A hotel which could be outstanding if ...

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: Located behind the Pantheon. Beautiful lobby Good bedding Nice view from the hotel room Roof terrace
Cons: Very noisy room, 6th floor, below roof terrace. Extremely small bathroom Polite reception staff but not friendly Largely overpriced breakfast 35€
Location: Perfect location in the heart of Rome: Pantheon, Piazza Navona, Campo dei Fiori, Trastevere, Fontana di Trevi, Spanish steps in walking distance
The hotel in itself is beautiful and well furbished but, sadly, it doesn't have a soul. It's impersonal, empty and cold, people do not spend time in it. All nicely designed quality furniture used by nobody. Strangely, the personnel in this hotel is just as cold and impersonal and not very friendly, you talk to them in fluent Italian and they reply to you in bad English, unlike the very friendly personnel in other hotels in Rome and Italian people in general. Otherwise, it could be a great place to stay, especially if they made an effort concerning the price for breakfast, which is ridiculously high for what it is, compared to other hotels of the same category. Yes, the view is breathtaking, but you have breathtaking views on most of the piazzas where we took lovely breakfasts after a first experience at the hotel. If the staff had some training on how to behave in a balanced way with clients instead of trying to more arrogant than most customers, this could be a perfect place to stay. Being polite starts with saying Buongiorno and in this hotel, only the porters and doormen seem to have learnt this word and how to smile.