Ratings based on 266 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LaPaz, Mexico/Boise, Idaho

Very overpriced 5 Star Hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: Nice lobby is all I can say.
Cons: There are so many to list. Booking rooms is big problem. Many of the rooms are small, no view, no terraces. Stupidly expensive.
Location: Location is excellent but there are dozens and dozens of hotels within the same area. Would not ever return to theis terrible hotel.
Very disappointing 6 day stay in this "5 Star" Hotel. Everything about this hotel is charging you ridiculous prices and delaying endlessly if you have a problem. I would never recommend this hotel. Booking rooms is a huge problem .. you have no idea what you will get but the rooms are all expensive. Many rooms are small, no view unless you consider looking at a wall a view, no terraces. If you complain you are told the hotel is full? But if you push they suddenly have a big room with a view but charge you another 80 EUR per night when you already thought you'd booked a top room. We traveled through France and Italy, every hotel offered a free delightful breakfast buffet... not this 5 Star hotel. They charge you 35 EUR per person for breakfast .... ridiculous for the price they charge for the rooms. There are so many disappointments with this hotel I can not list them all. Do not go to the rooftop restaurant! We went up just for a drink. 2 people 1 drink each ... simple bar scotch and water. 39 EUR for 2 drinks??? That is the most I have ever paid for a bar drink anywhere and I have traveled extensively and have stayed in many 5 Star Hotels.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A hotel which could be outstanding if ...

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: Located behind the Pantheon. Beautiful lobby Good bedding Nice view from the hotel room Roof terrace
Cons: Very noisy room, 6th floor, below roof terrace. Extremely small bathroom Polite reception staff but not friendly Largely overpriced breakfast 35€
Location: Perfect location in the heart of Rome: Pantheon, Piazza Navona, Campo dei Fiori, Trastevere, Fontana di Trevi, Spanish steps in walking distance
The hotel in itself is beautiful and well furbished but, sadly, it doesn't have a soul. It's impersonal, empty and cold, people do not spend time in it. All nicely designed quality furniture used by nobody. Strangely, the personnel in this hotel is just as cold and impersonal and not very friendly, you talk to them in fluent Italian and they reply to you in bad English, unlike the very friendly personnel in other hotels in Rome and Italian people in general. Otherwise, it could be a great place to stay, especially if they made an effort concerning the price for breakfast, which is ridiculously high for what it is, compared to other hotels of the same category. Yes, the view is breathtaking, but you have breathtaking views on most of the piazzas where we took lovely breakfasts after a first experience at the hotel. If the staff had some training on how to behave in a balanced way with clients instead of trying to more arrogant than most customers, this could be a perfect place to stay. Being polite starts with saying Buongiorno and in this hotel, only the porters and doormen seem to have learnt this word and how to smile.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kleinburg, on

Amazing!!!

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Great location, very safe. Been there many times and that is the only hotel we stay at in Rome. Love the location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale

Wowed in Rome!

Posted May 9, 2016
Pros: Location is terrific.
Cons: Coffee pots in the room for us early risers.
Location: I listed this above.
We arrived early and lucky for us our room was ready. The front desk staff was very nice and very helpful, with maps, directions and some recommendations. The room was facing the courtyard, so very very quiet. The beds were super comfortable and the room was spotless, also a great mini bar. Only downfall was no coffee pot in the room. We had an early departure but didn't want to pay 30 Euro per person when we only wanted coffee. (If they had an option for just coffee, we didn't see it, and we didn't ask) So could be my mistake. The property is across the street from the Pantheon, walking distance to Trevi Fountain, the Colosseum, Piazza Navona, to name a few. Also a lot of nice boutiques, restaurants and shops in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Nor.Cal.

Upscale classy

Posted May 5, 2016
Pros: Almost everything.
Cons: 110V outlets.
Location: Shopping, the Vatican, historical sights.
Always accommodating staff, great location close to all. Our second time here, this hotel does not disappoint.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel with friendly and very helpful staff.

Posted Apr 15, 2016
Location: Great location with easy walking to all attractions and sites.
We spent 3 nights at the Minerve Hotel. We chose the hotel due to its central location around the corner from the Pantheon. From the time we arrived, the staff could not have been more accommodating and helpful. Our room was clean and well stocked with the added bonus of our own private balcony. While we didn't eat in the hotel as we wanted to experience Rome, the restaurant and roof terrace looked amazing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2016
Location is perfect, but cleanliness needs improvement - we found insects in our beds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oklahoma city

Location, location, location on vacation !

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Pros: People Rooms Location
Cons: The elevator on the far side of the lobby on the right hand side had a slight rattle as the ceiling panel was loose.
Location: All of Ancient Rome is at your doorstep
It would be hard to argue that a hotel could be better situated that the Minerva while in Ancient Rome ! The people at this hotel made it all the better. From the doorman, to the front desk people the service was top notch. Barbara, who was at the front desk was exceptionally helpful, and I could not be more grateful for her help. The rooftop is amazing. The rooms were spotless. Very happy. I am so glad that sunshine travel in Oklahoma City chose this hotel for our Roman Holiday !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Well worth the extra money, all round superb hotel

Posted Mar 4, 2016
This is the second time I have stayed here with a group of friends and both experiences were superb for the general ambience of the hotel to the service of drinks in the lobby. You pay a bit extra but it is well worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Right next to the Pantheon

Posted Feb 22, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Plumbing
First let me say that this hotel is pretty old, so you should expect things that go with that. If it weren't for the wonderful staff, I would have given this hotel a lower rating. The location is fantastic! The hotel sits right next to the Pantheon, so it is just minutes to walk to the Trevi fountain, Piazza Navona, Largo De Argentina, etc. The breakfast on the rooftop is too pricey for me, but was very disappointed to learn that the rooftop is gated off any other time. So there was no way to have a glass of wine or night cap with a view. Although I'm sure a room with the view of the Pantheon is an upgrade, I wouldn't recommend it as it gets quite load at night with all of the party-ers. So if you're a light sleeper, you won't sleep much. The 1st morning, I went to take a shower and when I turned on the water it came out brown. In about 2 minutes it ran clear, so I took a shower. Then my husband went to take a shower and ALL of the water had been shut off. I have no idea how long, but there was water when we returned from sightseeing. However, most of our stay the hotel had a sewer smell that was very potent on the last day. Again, the staff was superb, so it was easy to overlook some of these things. You are paying for the area, so I would suggest another 5 star or even a 4 star in another area.