Ratings based on 448 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Location says it all

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Location and beautiful lobby area
Cons: small and slow elevators need an updating, room doors are old and noisy when closed.
A fine hotel in a perfect location....behind the Pantheon and near Navona, this is a great choice. It is pricey, but worth it. Avoid the breakfast--35 euro pp...and head out for a coffee and sweet like everyone else.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 18, 2016
very noisy airhandler, affected most of the floor and maybe a few other floors too.. even if AC off it was super loud.. main complaint
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale, Florida

Great Hotel on a Lovely Piazza

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: The staff even arranged transportation from the airport to the hotel for our daughter, who arrived on a later flight from Japan to meet us in Rome.
Cons: Everything was wonderful!
The hotel is beautiful with friendly and helpful staff and an absolutely perfect location! Walk to the Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, the Colloseum, Roman Forum and incredible historic churches. The neighborhood restaurants and cafes are delightful!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Warning: Do Not Let Them Put You on the 6th Floor!

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Customer Service is severely lacking. Rooms on the 6th floor are atrocious and unacceptable for a 5 star hotel. Breakfast for 35 Euros? Seriously?
Location: Close to Pantheon - that's really the only decent things about this hotel.
My wife and I were excited to stay at the Grand Hotel Minerve for a couple of nights in Rome. Unfortunately this hotel was the worst experience of my life They put us on the 6th floor - right below their restaurant. And with the paper-thin walls you can hear EVERYTHING. Every 3 minutes the door to the restaurant would slam and reverberate through our room. And we could literally hear the people in the restaurant talking, and laughing. At 11 pm we called down to the night manager to ask if we could move - With the noise we knew we would not sleep. The night manager said he couldn't move us as the hotel was full. He said he'd call the restaurant and ask them to keep it down - and that the restaurant closed around 11:30. Well, he must have called and told them that our room was the one that complained because at 11:30, the people came out of the restaurant and walked right up to our door (nobody else's) and banged on it loudly, scaring my wife half to death. Yes, that's what I want - drunks banging on our door and swearing at us in Italian. Great - this is how a 5 star hotel treats their guests. And while the restaurant closed at 11:30 the staff - almost as loud as the guests - were there until 1 am. They were back at 6 am. We got about 4 hours sleep. While they did move us the next day, they never offered us anything to compensate for the awful experience - they really just don't care. Save your money and skip this hotel - definitely not a 5 star, 3 Stars at best if that.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Great Hotel!!

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: The size of the rooms and how helpful everyone was and the location.
It is the second time we stayed at this hotel and will stay here any time we go to Rome. The staff was amazing and very accommodating and the room was beautiful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lage perfekt

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Hotel ist ein 5-Sterne-Haus, etwas in die Jahre gekommen. Personal extrem freundlich und zuvorkommend. Dachterasse wunderschön, groß und mit fantastischer Aussicht. Getränke circa doppelter Preis wie in den Straßencafes. Wir hatten ein Doppelzimmer Superior gebucht, das war uns zu klein. Man gab uns aber ( weil frei) kostenlos ein upgrade. Das Zimmer hatte die gleiche Ausstattung, war aber viel größer. Wer ein Zimmer wie auf den Hotelbildern möchte, muss eine Suite oder Junior-Suite buchen. Alles in Allem besticht das Hotel durch seine hervorragende Lage und das freundliche Personal. Wir würden wieder dort buchen.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire, England

Fantastic location BUT not a 5*

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Facilities, Buffet breakfast
The hotel is in a fantastic location for sure and the staff are helpful enough. We booked a superior room and after reading the reviews were looking forward to a relaxing stay in quality surroundings. Room 423 in my humble opinion is no more than a standard 3/4* room definetely not SUPERIOR! The bathroom was very cramped old fashioned and poorly decorated. The TV channels were limited with only news channels available in English. No fold down service or chocolates as noted by other reviewers. in general very disappointing thankfully Rome was not and we spent very little time in the room. The buffet breakfast on the Roof terrace @ 35 euros per head was expensive for the food on offer. In conclusion the prices charged were 5* but were not supported by the facilities on offer. Maybe we have been spoilt by our trips to 5* hotels in London, USA & Dubai
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel, in the perfect location

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Location: Every major attraction and museum is within walking distance. And every walk is a delight in Rome. So much to see!
Great hotel. Centrally located and close to the Parthenon, so even when you get lost (which is easy to do in Rome) you can always find your way back quite easily. Great rooftop bar with spectacular views. Staff are wonderful, really wonderful. Bathroom floors and outside of tub could have used a better scrubbing.. And the floor in the room could have used a mop. The only things disappointing about the hotel .... The room wasn't dirty, but as this is a five star, just expected a little more care in the housekeeping. Fantastic location, especially for my first visit to Rome. All the major attractions were within a 5 to 20 minute walk.
4 out of 5
by Sergio

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 13, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Anne-Mette from København

Man betaler for beliggenhed - ikke meget luksus...

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
**Læs dette før du booker ** Vi boede på et "Classic Room" med 2 overnatninger i juli 2016. Værelset levede ikke op til de 5* som hotellet pryder sig med. Vi oplevede følgende: -Der var lydt, man kunne høre tale osv fra gangen om natten samt fra andre nærtliggende værelser. Blev vækket om natten da dem der boede på værelset overfor kom hjem kl 2 om natten. - Når dem der bor i værelset går i bad benytter de sig af det samme afløb som en selv. Dette betyder høje lyde fra afløbet / døren til badeværelset skulle holdes lukket. - Minibaren havde et meget lille udbud og var ikke kold (Temp lå på 8-10 grader) - Værelset var meget lille og levede ikke op til de 5* i form af størrelse - det samme galt for badeværelset. Man fik fornemmelsen af hotellet er ved at være "slidt". - ved check-ud blev vi præsenteret for en "extra" turistafgift på EUR 26, selvom alt var betalt via hotels.com. Det bedste ved hotellet er placeringen - hotellet ligger meget centralt lige ved Pantheon, hvorfra der er gå afstand til det meste af Rom.